• Curse Sites
Help
Regional FlagGW2 vs. WoW - a comparisonSource
Shardik.4029
Target Source
#1 -

Before you start complaining „Oh no, not another WoW comparison!”, I want to let you know that the main reason of this post is to start a discussion. I spent a lot of time playing WoW, and I foresee that I’m going to do the same with GW2. I did a comparison to WoW since it is the only MMORPG I played besides GW2. I know that they are two different games, one could say for different type of people, but bear with me. I am not suggesting to change everything that I didn’t like or bothers me about GW2. I am merely putting it out there. Well, here

My opinions are based on my short game-time of 76 hours in the past two months. I only played my Elementalist, which is level 60.
You can skip the first part, it’s about my experience in WoW and why I quit.

A short introduction
I started playing WoW several years ago, during Vanilla, on an US server to play together with a friend (I am from Europe). I quit for 6-7 months during BC (first WoW expansion), then started again on an EU server just before WotLK (second WoW expansion). I quit for good in February, this year. WoW was fun because I played it with some RL friends, and I got to make some new friends while playing. When you spend 12 hours raiding each week with the same people, you get to know them. Not to mention all the time outside the raiding schedule. I quit because all my friends stopped playing, and there wasn’t anything left to do. Playing WoW alone was boring, and being stuck on a low population server was the end of WoW for me.

Graphics
This is what actually made me write this comparison. I used to play WoW on medium-high settings, and I’m playing GW2 on medium-low settings right now. Considering highest quality settings, both games have great graphics (no, I don’t mind the cartoon-ish graphic in WoW), and some background-worthy scenery and art, but GW2 has the advantage on beauty from my point of view.