• Curse Sites
Help
Regional FlagOh no, zooming...they made it worse for me :(Source
notebene.3190
Target Source
#1 -

Now, I tried that beta thingy for the people complaining about FoV, and I didn’t like it mostly because of the zoom in and zoom out settings, which I didn’t care much for before, but it was livable.

Now it’s working like I have the enabled. Is there a way to set it back?

It used to be when I was zoomed all the way in, it’s where it is now. When I’d zoom out one click (shortest human), I’d be just under my feet, roughly. Now It’s a bit further.

I really hate stuff like this.

ArenaNet Poster
Target Source
#7 -

You can use the toggle -useOldFov to use the old FoV.

ArenaNet Poster
Target Source
#9 -

I can pass that suggestion on.

ArenaNet Poster
Target Source
#18 -

Hey all, I am a gameplay programmer here at ArenaNet; I just wanted to take a moment to address some stuff about FOV. A while back, reddit user Boojum started this thread (http://redd.it/118t3a) about FOV. He (she?) did some cool math to reverse engineer information about how our FOV is set up. Seriously, check it out, it is really cool!

What Boojum concluded is that at 16:10 apect ratio, our horizontal FOV came out to be about 65deg. We here at ArenaNet have stated that our FOV is fixed at 75degs. Pretty naturally, the conclusion was that our math must be bugged. So what gives? What is going on with all this FOV junk anyways?

This is my attempt to summarize what we have found and what we did about it. I am a programmer and so this might get more technical than most are comfortable with, but I hope that in the end it shows how everything works and why we made changes.