• Curse Sites
Help
Regional Flag15 years, never been hacked, until...Source
Bolthar.4172
Target Source
#1 -

I have to say I think this is insane. I have been playing MMOs for the last 15 years. I use strong passwords and I do not use the same userids and passwords on all mmorpgs. I never share account information and I always pretty much stay as a loaner in games.

Along comes GW2. I play it, I get a character to level 80 and then I make about 3 others to kind of test the waters of all the different “flavors” that are out there. I then participate in the Halloween festivities and once the big Halloween event on the 31rst is over with I do not log in at all. In fact I have been so busy home life wise I have not had a chance to do much of anything.

This last weekend (11/18) I go to log in and I can not get in. It indicates my account information is not valid. I go through all my anet e-mails ,the purchase ones, the account creation ones, and finally I look at the new stuff. There I notice that someone had attempted to change the e-mails address on the account. I promptly contacted Anet support.

This is where the waiting began. I had a small glimmer off hope when Anet sent me an e-mail saying my account had been restored and that I had a new password. I logged in and this is when my heart dropped.

1) All my new flavors of characters are now gone.
2) All my items I saved up karma to buy are now gone.
3) All my items had been put up on the Black Lion market and converted to gold.
4) All gold was stripped off my character.
5) They even went as far as stripping off my bags and deleting things that would not make them any money.

I was also restored in the middle of Frostgorge Sound (which I had not visited since I was in my 70’s) where since I had no gear I immediately died and don’t even have enough money to even resurrect as I have a total of 86 copper to my character.