- 2013/02/12 02:58:55 PM
You can delete all the characters on the account and then change servers for free. The transfer costs only kick in for accounts with characters on them.
(Deleting the characters would not provide a free world transfer.)
Now I am really confused. I read Martin’s post and was really excited and pleased that ANet was being considerate of players… But now I’m confused. Who is correct? If Martin’s wrong, I can see people deleting their characters by ANet’s recommendation, getting screwed out of their characters, and then not being able to transfer. But, Gaile, if you’re right then that means players are stuck forever. Martin’s post makes the most sense and “should be” what is implemented in my opinion, but some clarification is definitely in order.
I am so sorry! I asked three team members and they told me that I was mistaken and that deleting characters would not make it possible to change servers without a fee. * grumble *
Live and learn. Like, next time I shall ask four team members.
Sorry that I erred, and legobottom, I guess your friend can address his situation by deleting all characters! However, before we take that as 100% certain, I’m going to ask QA, because they tested this and they’ll know for certain (although I feel sure Martin was correct).