Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
* * * * * 2 votes

Grand Royal Unified GW2 Requirements Discussion Thread


  • Please log in to reply
1397 replies to this topic

#1351 thrive

thrive

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 04:08 AM

What can I run on with:
AMD Phenom II x4 910 processor ~2.6 ghz
8 Gb Ram
Windows Vista Home Premium
Nvidia Geforce GTX 560 SE
Thanks, if anyone can help me.

#1352 Sonrangeri

Sonrangeri

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 90 posts
  • Location:Finland
  • Guild Tag:[TUS]
  • Server:Ruins of Surmia

Posted 23 August 2012 - 12:19 PM

Updated my graphic card for ASUS HD 7770 Ghz edition with 1020Mhz over-clock from HD 6670. Rest of specs:

Phenom II X4 B55@3,2Ghz (no overclocks)
ASUS HD 7770 Ghz edition at 1020Mhz overclock.
4GB (2+2) DDR3 1333Mhz
Windows Vista 32bit

and other stuff.

Hopingly game runs on high / medium mixed for now at 1080p with decent fps. Anyone idea which drivers I should use? I installed beta 12.7 alongside card, but should go with 12.8?

#1353 zilvis1978

zilvis1978

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 25 August 2012 - 06:27 PM

Anyone know a workaround for a laptop with a Microsoft windows chipset graphics card? My wife would like to play but her client goes to character creation fine then the loading screen and upon about to load crashes. Didn't know if this graphics card was impossible or something could be done, appreciate any info!

#1354 Dilbon

Dilbon

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 506 posts

Posted 25 August 2012 - 11:16 PM

CPU really makes a huge difference. I literally doubled my fps from 20-40 (medium settings) to 40-80 (high settings) when I upgraded my Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz to FX-6100. Same graphics card on both systems, GTS 450.

Edited by Dilbon, 25 August 2012 - 11:17 PM.


#1355 krythorian

krythorian

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 05:35 PM

AMD athlon II X3 440 3.00 ghz
4.00 GB ram
64 bit W7 home premium
Nvidia GTS 450

Will I be able to run it on atleast lowest without huge FPS drops and without too much lag? Just so I know if I can use this comp for GW2 until I get myself a new comp. Fast answer pretty please!

#1356 Kormir

Kormir

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 444 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 05:40 PM

View Postkrythorian, on 27 August 2012 - 05:35 PM, said:

AMD athlon II X3 440 3.00 ghz
4.00 GB ram
64 bit W7 home premium
Nvidia GTS 450

Will I be able to run it on atleast lowest without huge FPS drops and without too much lag? Just so I know if I can use this comp for GW2 until I get myself a new comp. Fast answer pretty please!

it will run

#1357 krythorian

krythorian

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 05:52 PM

View PostKormir, on 27 August 2012 - 05:40 PM, said:

it will run
Do you know how well it will run? :I

#1358 Skiazo

Skiazo

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 August 2012 - 06:06 PM

Acer Aspire 5750Z-4835

Intel Pentium B940 Processor (2.0ghz 2mb L3 cache)
Intel HD graphics
4gb DDR3

How does it look for me? Possible to play?

#1359 Sonrangeri

Sonrangeri

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 90 posts
  • Location:Finland
  • Guild Tag:[TUS]
  • Server:Ruins of Surmia

Posted 30 August 2012 - 08:18 PM

View PostSkiazo, on 30 August 2012 - 06:06 PM, said:

Acer Aspire 5750Z-4835

Intel Pentium B940 Processor (2.0ghz 2mb L3 cache)
Intel HD graphics
4gb DDR3

How does it look for me? Possible to play?

Most likely low, but if i was you, I'd have rather chosen AMD Trinity-based quad-core or LIano Quad-core with HD 7670M, which can run game medium pretty much no issues. If it have to be Intel, then i3 at least and about same graphics (GT 630M / HD 7670M)

#1360 Skiazo

Skiazo

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 August 2012 - 08:33 PM

I recieved it as a present. Unfortunately, being a broke college student, I won't be able to upgrade for now! Thanks for the help.

#1361 phoenix83339

phoenix83339

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 02 September 2012 - 01:32 PM

Acer Aspire 5560-7414
AMD Radeon HD6520G - 512 MB
500g hdd
4gb DDR3
Turbo Core Tech (up tp 2.4 ghz?), otherwise 1.5ghz. Idk what it mean by "up to"


If I can run it, at what settings? thanks!

#1362 JustAskingHere

JustAskingHere

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:31 PM

I just bought GW 2 and I get 5 FPS, making game completly unplayable. Earlier my friend said that I should be able to run it smootly at low settings. Was he wrong or is there another reason?

Windows XP Professional SP 3
Intel Pentium Dual CPU E2180 2.00 Ghz
Nvidia GeForce 9500 GT with newest drivers
2 Gb RAM
Old 17 inch Siemens monitor (those with big "butt")

I don't care about graphics, only performance, something around 25 FPS. Tried with new Beta drivers, no change.

#1363 Pete1Rfc

Pete1Rfc

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 11 September 2012 - 01:14 AM

Hi guys . was wondering if you could help me . im not really sure if i can run GW2 iv checked a few things and they said it will run on low settings which is fine as long as i can play it lol if you could tell me asap it would be much appreciated :) .


CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz

RAM 8.1 GB

VIDEO CARD : Radeon HD 6630m


Thanx :)

Edited by Pete1Rfc, 11 September 2012 - 01:36 AM.


#1364 Silvergt

Silvergt

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 September 2012 - 09:31 AM

Hello.

I want to buy the game, because seems to be fun and a interesting MMO. I think I can play on minimum nice, but want to know if my computer can handle medium or nice textures.

This is my specs:

windows 7 32bits
Core Quad Q6600 2.4ghz
Geforce 9800GT
3gb ram
max resolution 1440x900

#1365 kirrasbank

kirrasbank

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 10:36 PM

Desktop Use Everyday Desktop Processor AMD A4-3420 Accelerated Desktop Weight 15.83 lbs Desktop Video Memory up to 2GB Desktop CPU Cache 1MB L2 Desktop Processor Speed 2.8GHz Desktop Power N/A Desktop Audio High Definition Audio with up to 5.1 surround sound capabilities Desktop Media Card Reader Front panel 6-in-1 memory card reader: supports Secure Digital (SD,SDHC), xD, MultiMedia Card (MMC), MultiMedia Card Plus (MMC Plus), Memory Stick (MS) Desktop LAN Data Transfer Rate 10/100/1000 Base-T Network Desktop Network Card None Desktop Optical Drive SuperMulti DVD Burner Desktop Hard Drive Speed 7200RPM Desktop Hard Drive Size 500GB Desktop Hard Drive Type SATA Desktop Memory Type PC3-12800 DDR3-1600 SDRAM memory Desktop Memory Expandable 8GB Desktop Memory RAM 4GB Desktop Refurbished No Desktop Warranty 1 year limited Desktop Dimensions (L x W x H) 14.80" x 6.50" x 14.49" Desktop Video Graphics AMD Radeon HD 6410D Graphics Desktop Special Feature AMD A55 FCH Chipset Desktop Other Ports 1 VGA, 1 DVI - out, 1 RJ-45, 1 headphone, 1 microphone Desktop USB Ports 6 USB ports (2 x 2.0 , 4 x 2.0 rear) All in One Desktop No Desktop Includes Monitor No Desktop Operating System
Genuine Windows 8
   Thing is it dont say homuch memory the graphic card is.
399$
Can this run gw2 mid settings? with 20+frame rates?

Or

http://www.walmart.c...cluded/21984277

or

http://www.staples.c.../product_989660
Desktop Warranty 1 year limited Desktop Video Memory Up to 4GB Desktop CPU Cache 4MB L2 Desktop Processor Speed 3.4GHz Desktop Power N/A Desktop Audio Beats Audio Desktop Media Card Reader Front panel 15-in-1 memory card reader: supports SmartMedia, xD, MultiMedia Card, Secure Digital (SD), Mini Secure Digital, Compact Flash I, Compact Flash II, IBM Microdrive, Memory Stick, Memory Stick Pro, Memory Stick Duo, Memory Stick Pro Duo, RSMMC, Desktop Optical Drive SuperMulti DVD Burner Desktop Hard Drive Speed 7200RPM Desktop Hard Drive Size 1TB Desktop Hard Drive Type SATA Desktop Memory Type PC3-12800 DDR3-1600 SDRAM memory Desktop Memory Expandable 32GB Desktop Memory RAM 8GB Desktop Special Feature AMD A75 FCH Chipset Desktop Other Ports 1 D-sub, 1 DVI-D, 1 headphone, 1 microphone, 1 RJ-45, 1 optical audio out Desktop Processor Next Gen AMD Quad-Core A10-5700 Accelerated Desktop Weight 21.2 lbs Desktop Dimensions (L x W x H) 16.14" x 6.89" x 15.28" Desktop Video Graphics AMD Radeon HD 7660D Graphics Desktop Network Card Integrated Bluetooth 4.0 and Wireless LAN 802.11a/b/g/n Desktop USB Ports 4 USB 2.0 and 4 USB 3.0 ports (2 Back, 2 front) Desktop Operating System Genuine Windows 8 Desktop LAN Data Transfer Rate 10/100/1000 Base-T Network Desktop Refurbished No All in One Desktop No Desktop Includes Monitor No Desktop Use Professional

or

http://www.walmart.c...Option/15374646

thanks

#1366 majtenyim

majtenyim

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 12:15 PM

Hi everyone.

I'd like to try GW2 Mac Beta, but I cannot decide to buy the game or not, because my hardware specs just meet the requirements. I have 13" MBP mid-2010, with 4Gb ram, ssd, and the crappy Nvidia 320m graphic card.

If anyone tried the game with this type of mac please inform me. Thanks.

#1367 GUN4HIRE

GUN4HIRE

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 18 December 2012 - 10:40 PM

Hello, I have a quick question if any one could help me it would be much appreciated.

I believe my system is capable of running GW2.

It has Intel Core 2 Duo CPU, 3.00 GHz, E8400, 4GB of Ram and 64 bit OS running on windows 7.
If anybody knows if I am correct and my system can run it please confirm.

Also, my main question is, on another note, I run this programme http://www.systemreq...ntslab.com/cyri
and it says my system and graphic card are capable, however my card is slightly old, ATI Radeon HD 3450, as I mentioned I ran the test from the web page linked above and it said I could run the game, could somebody please confirm that I am able to run it and how playable will it be, this is more or less the question I need answering. WILL IT BE PLAYABLE?

I plan on getting a new Graphics Card (Sapphire 7750) but it won't be until next year but my Girlfriend is hinting at it being here for Christmas.

I must say thank you in advance to anyone who can help me.

#1368 Mr.Kotte

Mr.Kotte

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 179 posts
  • Location:Magnus.3907
  • Guild Tag:[Soap]
  • Server:Desolation

Posted 18 December 2012 - 10:54 PM

View PostGUN4HIRE, on 18 December 2012 - 10:40 PM, said:

Hello, I have a quick question if any one could help me it would be much appreciated.

I believe my system is capable of running GW2.

It has Intel Core 2 Duo CPU, 3.00 GHz, E8400, 4GB of Ram and 64 bit OS running on windows 7.
If anybody knows if I am correct and my system can run it please confirm.

Also, my main question is, on another note, I run this programme http://www.systemreq...ntslab.com/cyri
and it says my system and graphic card are capable, however my card is slightly old, ATI Radeon HD 3450, as I mentioned I ran the test from the web page linked above and it said I could run the game, could somebody please confirm that I am able to run it and how playable will it be, this is more or less the question I need answering. WILL IT BE PLAYABLE?

I plan on getting a new Graphics Card (Sapphire 7750) but it won't be until next year but my Girlfriend is hinting at it being here for Christmas.

I must say thank you in advance to anyone who can help me.
Hi!
You will be more limited by your CPU then your GPU I think.

To answer your question: You will be able to play it on low settings. How can I be sure? I can play it on a laptop with 1GHz dual core and integrated graphics. Seriously. The game runs on a brick. How high graphics and what FPS? Thats a whole other question. For the highly populated areas, my laptop gets about 8fps. In closed, non-crowded areas, I go up to about 18 fps. This is with the lowest possible settings.

#1369 GroverA 125

GroverA 125

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 12:42 AM

Hey,

I'm thinking of getting the game, and I need to get myself a proper desktop to get it running. Only problem is, I have absolutely no intelligence when it comes to "what to buy for my PC" and "Will it actually work in the end". I decided to get one custom made to run GW2 and other games coming/already out, but I need to be sure that what I'm going to get is going to suffice to play the game. Can you tell me IF this setup will run the game, and if so, what quality are we looking at and will there be any limitations to play (eg. no Server vs. Server or massive raidy dungeon thingymabobs)

Here's what I'm thinking of getting:
CPU: Intel Pentium G630 (windows 8)
Motherboard: Asus P8B75-M LX
RAM: 4GB DDR3 1333mHz
Hard Drive: 500GB S-ATIII 6.0Gb/s
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 7750 1GB (if that's overkill over the rest, will an NVIDIA GeForce GT 630 1GB work well enough?)
Audio: Onboard 7.1 Audio
Monitor: LG 18.5" E1942C-BN LED
PSU: 500W PSU

Any ideas? (PS: Sorry if I put a bunch of unnecessary info down, I have absolutely no clue what you'd definitely need to know)

Thanks in advance.

#1370 Elder III

Elder III

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 4424 posts
  • Location:OH
  • Guild Tag:[ION]
  • Server:Jade Quarry

Posted 19 December 2012 - 02:34 AM

View PostGroverA 125, on 19 December 2012 - 12:42 AM, said:

Hey,

I'm thinking of getting the game, and I need to get myself a proper desktop to get it running. Only problem is, I have absolutely no intelligence when it comes to "what to buy for my PC" and "Will it actually work in the end". I decided to get one custom made to run GW2 and other games coming/already out, but I need to be sure that what I'm going to get is going to suffice to play the game. Can you tell me IF this setup will run the game, and if so, what quality are we looking at and will there be any limitations to play (eg. no Server vs. Server or massive raidy dungeon thingymabobs)

Here's what I'm thinking of getting:
CPU: Intel Pentium G630 (windows 8)
Motherboard: Asus P8B75-M LX
RAM: 4GB DDR3 1333mHz
Hard Drive: 500GB S-ATIII 6.0Gb/s
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 7750 1GB (if that's overkill over the rest, will an NVIDIA GeForce GT 630 1GB work well enough?)
Audio: Onboard 7.1 Audio
Monitor: LG 18.5" E1942C-BN LED
PSU: 500W PSU

Any ideas? (PS: Sorry if I put a bunch of unnecessary info down, I have absolutely no clue what you'd definitely need to know)

Thanks in advance.

That's actually quite under powered for playing Guild Wars 2, both the Processor and the Video Card will need a significant upgrade if you wish to play at Max or even "High" settings at 1080p.  What resolution did you have in mind and what's your budget?

#1371 GroverA 125

GroverA 125

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 08:05 AM

View PostElder III, on 19 December 2012 - 02:34 AM, said:

That's actually quite under powered for playing Guild Wars 2, both the Processor and the Video Card will need a significant upgrade if you wish to play at Max or even "High" settings at 1080p.  What resolution did you have in mind and what's your budget?

The computer I just mentioned is putting me back £420, including internet security, keyboard and monitor (forgot to mention, it's 1366 x 768, 18.5''). That's pretty much my entire budget for a PC. If you can make suggestions on where to change it to get better performance without going any higher over budget, that would be really nice (as in "the Graphics card is overkill on the rest, spend less on that and more on a CPU").

I'm not looking to run it on highest quality, I'm just looking to be able to play the game without malfunction due to computer quality (I don't want to be unable to enter world vs world PvP or dungeony-raidy things because of a low quality PC. If I were to use the previously-mentioned items, would I be capable of running the game on low-medium and still be able to access all areas of the game unhindered?

Thanks.

#1372 Elder III

Elder III

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 4424 posts
  • Location:OH
  • Guild Tag:[ION]
  • Server:Jade Quarry

Posted 19 December 2012 - 07:32 PM

The video card is actually sufficient for that resolution, but the Processor is weak, the current Pentium lineup isn't intended for gaming, particularly in a game like GW2 that is CPU Intensive.  

I'm not up to date on GB prices, but where were you buying from and I presume that you want to buy a pre-built?

#1373 tijo

tijo

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3176 posts
  • Guild Tag:[RISE]
  • Server:Stormbluff Isle

Posted 19 December 2012 - 07:53 PM

Indeed, GW2 is a bit of an odd ball at the moment when it comes to CPU usage. If you look at comparisons between dual and quad cores, the difference can be seen pretty easily. Ideally, you'd want a core i5 for GW2, but even an i3 will be a tad better thanks to hyperthreading.

#1374 GroverA 125

GroverA 125

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 12:30 AM

View PostElder III, on 19 December 2012 - 07:32 PM, said:

The video card is actually sufficient for that resolution, but the Processor is weak, the current Pentium lineup isn't intended for gaming, particularly in a game like GW2 that is CPU Intensive.  

I'm not up to date on GB prices, but where were you buying from and I presume that you want to buy a pre-built?

Buying from Dinopc.com, my brother got one there very recently, and he's very happy with what he got. Buying it pre-built, because as I said before, I am the technological equivalent of a caveman with a club when it comes to putting things together with more than 8 parts with fancy names.

Can you recommend anywhere where I can get a better deal for what I'm after? It looks like they don't want to supply me with a good CPU for the model I'm after.

#1375 Mayul

Mayul

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 5 posts
  • Profession:Elementalist
  • Guild Tag:[PvE]
  • Server:Dragonbrand

Posted 21 January 2013 - 07:55 AM

System Specs:

OS: Windows 7
MOBO: GA-970A-D3
CPU: AMD FX-6300
MEM: 8 GBs
GPU: AMD R. 7770

Can anyone tell me why I only get 18-25 FPS on every resolution on LOW-HIGH Detail?

#1376 Elder III

Elder III

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 4424 posts
  • Location:OH
  • Guild Tag:[ION]
  • Server:Jade Quarry

Posted 21 January 2013 - 06:30 PM

View PostMayul, on 21 January 2013 - 07:55 AM, said:

System Specs:

OS: Windows 7
MOBO: GA-970A-D3
CPU: AMD FX-6300
MEM: 8 GBs
GPU: AMD R. 7770

Can anyone tell me why I only get 18-25 FPS on every resolution on LOW-HIGH Detail?

Are you saying that your FPS only changes by 7 no matter what resolution and graphics settings you have selected?  A little more detail would help here; as in the specific settings and resolution. :)

#1377 tijo

tijo

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3176 posts
  • Guild Tag:[RISE]
  • Server:Stormbluff Isle

Posted 21 January 2013 - 06:52 PM

View PostElder III, on 21 January 2013 - 06:30 PM, said:



Are you saying that your FPS only changes by 7 no matter what resolution and graphics settings you have selected?  A little more detail would help here; as in the specific settings and resolution. :)

As well as are you getting those framerates everywhere or only in certain instances like WvW?

#1378 Mayul

Mayul

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 5 posts
  • Profession:Elementalist
  • Guild Tag:[PvE]
  • Server:Dragonbrand

Posted 21 January 2013 - 10:43 PM

View PostElder III, on 21 January 2013 - 06:30 PM, said:

Are you saying that your FPS only changes by 7 no matter what resolution and graphics settings you have selected?  A little more detail would help here; as in the specific settings and resolution. :)

View Posttijo, on 21 January 2013 - 06:52 PM, said:

As well as are you getting those framerates everywhere or only in certain instances like WvW?

I currently play on Best appearance since changing it to best performance does nothing for me
I get them roaming the area. I don't plan to play WvW but the lowest  I've dropped to was 10 in one area a friend and I passed through.

I currently play on 1920x1080 since changing the resolution does nothing for me. Though I will state that oddly enough when I look directly above my character and at the ground my frames jump to 60+ but i doubt thats helpful

Edited by Mayul, 21 January 2013 - 10:44 PM.


#1379 kojotslv

kojotslv

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 22 January 2013 - 08:32 AM

Reading how people play on core2duo CPUs with 9600 GT graphics cards, i have a question risen up.  HOOOOW, WHAT IS YOU FPS (in action)?
I`m playing GW2 on i3-2125 CPU, HD6870, 8GB HyperX RAM all this runnin on intel SSD 330.
And what i see in game, mostly in free area FPS are okay, at high settings there are 60, BUT the most important is to have max fps or atleast 50 when  you are in action of PVP/PVE/anything else.
So what should be the PC to run GW good enough so you dont have to get raged when you get ~30 fps when you need game to run smooth.
For now i`m planning to get i5 ivy bride CPU, but not sure that it will fix this issue. Maybe this game is not optimized enough for now.

Or maybe someone can post how to set up the gpu setting for more performance?

#1380 dhatcher1

dhatcher1

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3786 posts
  • Guild Tag:[SAnD]
  • Server:Maguuma

Posted 23 January 2013 - 08:20 AM

View Postkojotslv, on 22 January 2013 - 08:32 AM, said:

Or maybe someone can post how to set up the gpu setting for more performance?
The game is still very CPU dependent.  Upgrading your i3-2125 to an i5 2500 or i5 3570 will make a difference in minimum frame rate.  I dont think there is a system that can guarantee 50+FPS at max settings yet.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users