Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
- - - - -

Engineer dual wield pistols, shoots only out of one?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 Moritsuna

Moritsuna

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 05:32 PM

Uh did anyone notice this? Is there a way for engineer to fire both his pistols?

#2 HawkofStorms

HawkofStorms

    Guru's Source of Witty Banter

  • Members
  • 3101 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 05:33 PM

The offhand engineer pistol skills shots a glue shot and a fire shot.

8TyxuHLvQAQ

See, the glue shot comes from his left pistol.
There is no auto attack in this game.  All shots are done by using skills.  And all weapon skills are tied to a specific weapon.

Edited by HawkofStorms, 14 April 2012 - 05:36 PM.


#3 Cloudpiercer

Cloudpiercer

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1521 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 05:50 PM

I've seen this asked about every offhand weapon, they are all only used for skills 4-5, in the case of the thief they use both weapons for skill 3. There is no real auto attack so there is no point where the character is firing/swinging both weapons they are holding unless its part of a skill made to do so.

#4 Gridram Coaltooth

Gridram Coaltooth

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 272 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 06:00 PM

HawkofStorms said:

The offhand engineer pistol skills shots a glue shot and a fire shot.

8TyxuHLvQAQ

See, the glue shot comes from his left pistol.
There is no auto attack in this game.  All shots are done by using skills.  And all weapon skills are tied to a specific weapon.

Well, you actually can set up a way that it's like auto-attack by making any skill you want be used whenever it's available (but I'd worry about that because it might make you use the wrong skill when you're in a tight bind, i.e. using hip shot with a rifle when you should be healing instead).

On a side note, two professions with dual-wield pistols that can shoot with both, that I know of, are Mesmers and Thieves.

#5 Vahkris

Vahkris

    Vigil Crusader

  • Community Contributors
  • 3696 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 07:09 PM

In short, no.  The engineer cannot use both pistols in a single attack.

GW2 does not have a traditional basic auto-attack where your character will attack with both weapons and the skills are the special attacks.  All attacks you perform are linked to your skills.

Essentially, skills 1/2/3 will only use animations involving the mainhand, and skills 4/5 will only use animations involving the offhand.  There are a few exceptions to this rule (Thieves' skill 3 always uses both weapons, and is a special skill based on the weapons chosen, and Warrior skill 4 on axe attacks with both weapons, for example), but in general you only use the weapon associated with the skill.

#6 Maarius

Maarius

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 983 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 09:08 PM

warriors with 2 swords use both with the skill 1 attack... as far as I can remember