Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
- - - - -

Client download stops at 99%


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 teddylingus

teddylingus

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 24 posts
  • Server:Whiteside Ridge

Posted 25 April 2012 - 06:30 PM

Hi,

I'm been trying to download the client all day. Every time it gets to 99% to download rate slows right down to 0.00KB/SEC and stops.

This is extremely annoying. Has anyone experienced similar issues or know what I can do?

Thanks in advance.


(EDIT)SOLUTION:

Ok so there's been a lot of people saying that the same thing happened to them, but when the restarted it picked up where it left off. This didn't happen for me and the download would stop at various percentages.

One thing that seems to have stopped all downloaded issues has been to uninstall free anti-virus software (AVG/Avast). Since I've done that I've had no issues

Edited by teddylingus, 26 April 2012 - 08:10 AM.


#2 Nature

Nature

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 291 posts

Posted 25 April 2012 - 07:08 PM

I haven't experienced that, but try this:

- Right click on Gw2.exe and click Run as Administrator.

- Go the the folder you stored Gw2.exe
- Right click Gw2.dat.
- Left click properties.
- If Read-only has a check by it, uncheck it.
- Click OK.


- Make a shortcut to the Gw2.exe on your desktop.
- Right click on it.
- Left click properties.
- Where it says Target: At the end, put

Quote

-image
It should look something like

Quote

"C:\Games\Guild Wars 2\Gw2.exe" -image
- Click OK.
- Right click on Gw2.exe(Or the shortcut) and click Run as Administrator.

After it finishes patching(The download screen should go away) remove

Quote

-image
from Target in the shortcut's properties then try launching the game again and see if it gets to the log-in screen.

#3 teddylingus

teddylingus

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 24 posts
  • Server:Whiteside Ridge

Posted 25 April 2012 - 08:08 PM

Had a go at that.

This time it got to a whopping 17% before the download speed whittled down to 0.00KB/SEC

Thanks anyway

#4 Silvernis

Silvernis

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1358 posts
  • Location:Under a rock.

Posted 25 April 2012 - 08:23 PM

Happened to me. I just closed the loader, and the login screen abruptly popped up. I'm not sure what happened with that last 1%, but everything seems to be working regardless.

#5 Baailey

Baailey

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 25 April 2012 - 08:42 PM

I've got the same buddy! you fixed it?

#6 teddylingus

teddylingus

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 24 posts
  • Server:Whiteside Ridge

Posted 25 April 2012 - 09:02 PM

Baailey said:

I've got the same buddy! you fixed it?

Nope not at all. Every time I try to load the client it gets to a certain percentage and just stops.

I literally have no idea what to do!

#7 maideth

maideth

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 25 April 2012 - 09:28 PM

i don't get the error but it still crash, i downloaded the game like 5 times now
win 7 64 bit ,admin rights andd files are not read only! damn

#8 Baailey

Baailey

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 25 April 2012 - 09:43 PM

I think I know my problem, but I cannot fix it.
- are any of the files set to 'read only'?
- is the folder in which the files are saved set to 'read only'? (my problem)
if yes, undo.
My f**king computer will not let me undo them, but here is the solution:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/326549

If this is your problem and you manage to undo the folder, please tell me what you put into the code, as I keep getting the message 'bla,bla,bla is incorrect'!

#9 cinder43

cinder43

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 26 April 2012 - 01:20 AM

I have the same problemo, any solutions yet?

#10 ZCKS

ZCKS

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1348 posts
  • Location:The ass end of nowhere... AKA Kansas
  • Guild Tag:[TG]
  • Server:Isle of Janthir

Posted 26 April 2012 - 01:39 AM

teddylingus said:

Nope not at all. Every time I try to load the client it gets to a certain percentage and just stops.

I literally have no idea what to do!

I've been having the same problem.

Each time it gets to a different  point then just stops.

#11 vanguard435

vanguard435

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 April 2012 - 01:50 AM

So... the gw client isn't really working well with my com ._.
I've tried numerous times to fix this problem, (4 redownloads, using different directories ), using administrator, offing firewall, using compatibility mode. Nothing seems to work.

It might also be helpful to note that the files in my computer are always read only ._. i can't seem to change this as everytime i do so, it silently reverts back to read only, despite using take ownership scripts, turning UAC down to the bottom, etc.

Also, the game seemed to have run fine just one time, out of sheer luck, and countless tries to launch the game. I thought i'd fixed the problem, but... on another relaunch the same 0% bug happened again ._. i've not been able to run the game since.

I'm out of my mind. Help please >_<:qq:

#12 The Comfy Chair

The Comfy Chair

    The best at space

  • Members
  • 5330 posts
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Profession:Elementalist
  • Guild Tag:[TKOT]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 26 April 2012 - 01:58 AM

I've merged your thread with the existing one vanguard. Unforutnately i don't think anyone has solved the issue yet :(

If you want to check if your computer will run GW2, check here.

If you find out you can't and need to think about upgrading or building another, check here.


#13 vanguard435

vanguard435

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 April 2012 - 02:08 AM

i realised >_< i'm sorry i made a new thread. i presumed since i'm the only one who's ran the game at least once... it'd be a different problem haha! >_< my bad >_<.

#14 kluugw2

kluugw2

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 263 posts

Posted 26 April 2012 - 02:09 AM

teddylingus said:

Hi,

I'm been trying to download the client all day. Every time it gets to 99% to download rate slows right down to 0.00KB/SEC and stops.

This is extremely annoying. Has anyone experienced similar issues or know what I can do?

Thanks in advance.

This happened to me too, it also showed 4 file remaining to download.  I waited it out for a while then decided to close and open and see what would happen.  It instantly downloaded the 4 files and opened the client

#15 cinder43

cinder43

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 26 April 2012 - 02:12 AM

kluugw2 said:

This happened to me too, it also showed 4 file remaining to download.  I waited it out for a while then decided to close and open and see what would happen.  It instantly downloaded the 4 files and opened the client

By close and open do you mean literally click the X and then double click on gw2.exe again?

#16 Melody

Melody

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 205 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Server:Desolation

Posted 26 April 2012 - 02:15 AM

not sure if you tried this, but make sure the folder you put Gw2.exe into isn't in Program Files. just a suggestion.

#17 kluugw2

kluugw2

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 263 posts

Posted 26 April 2012 - 02:15 AM

cinder43 said:

By close and open do you mean literally click the X and then double click on gw2.exe again?

Ya literally hit the X to close.  opened the folder I kept the files.  Opened gw2.exe.  The downloader scans the files to see how much I have downloaded.  Then the downloader closes and the game opened up.  (I swear I unchecked the auto-play button haha)

#18 Ramei Arashi

Ramei Arashi

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2597 posts
  • Location:Lincoln, Nebraska
  • Server:Ehmry Bay

Posted 26 April 2012 - 02:31 AM

Happened to me. I closed it and when I reran it, picked up where it left off and finished quickly.

#19 rodarin

rodarin

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 173 posts
  • Server:Stormbluff Isle

Posted 26 April 2012 - 03:05 AM

I am fairly confident that it is a firewall issue.

For those guys freezing I suggest keeping your task manager open and seeing if the GW2 exe stops responding. I had this trouble all day, it was hit or miss on whether it would connect or stop responding.

I tried several things. I updated my dirvers, that worked for awhile (I connected everytime I opened the client). Then I shut off my computer for a few hours, then had video issues which I am sure were unrelated to GW. But got it to where I could get on and get video.

I opened GW2.exe and got a small download. But each time (probably 30) I would get the same not responding issue I had gotten earlier.

I had AVG and heard the issues it was causing. I simply uninstalled AVG, and now I can connect without any issues whatsoever.

not saying that is everyone's issue but I would suggest that it would account for most of them.

I would say uninstalling AVG and seeing how that works would be a good first step, if it fixes the issue then get a different virus protection. Or just use the AVG browser/link scanner.

#20 Bunxii

Bunxii

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 137 posts
  • Guild Tag:[AGGR]
  • Server:Crystal Desert

Posted 26 April 2012 - 07:55 AM

I had this happen at 99%. All I did was exit out completely. Re clicked the exe file to start up and it finished downloading.

#21 teddylingus

teddylingus

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 24 posts
  • Server:Whiteside Ridge

Posted 26 April 2012 - 07:59 AM

UPDATE

So I left the download on overnight to see if it would work.

Woke up at 3 and had a look, it had stopped again. So I uninstalled my free antivirus (avast) and tried again - it worked without any problems at all.

I think Rodarin is right - AVG/avast seem to cause issues.

#22 dondarrion

dondarrion

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 292 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Profession:Guardian
  • Guild Tag:[EXT]
  • Server:Seafarer’s Rest

Posted 26 April 2012 - 08:03 AM

Bunxii said:

I had this happen at 99%. All I did was exit out completely. Re clicked the exe file to start up and it finished downloading.

Yep, that happened here too. Showed as having 2 files remaining to download. I quit client completely, restarted and it finished and booted up the login screen.

#23 vanguard435

vanguard435

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 April 2012 - 09:25 AM

well i've tried all the stated solutions and none of them seem to work for me :qq:
the real issue for me now is gw2 stops responding after quitting the client at 99% and relaunching it. it stops responding at 0% so........... anyone got any ideas? >_< ( I don't actually have a firewall ._. )

#24 tristania

tristania

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 235 posts

Posted 26 April 2012 - 09:36 AM

Still having issues, ... What didn't came into mind was my Avast. Now I just toggled off everything ... but the problem remains. Do I really need to uninstall it? I mean, isn't that the same as  turning every single shield of? + Trying all those solutions made the client like really unresponsive. Guess downloading for the third time then.

#25 SNIEVES

SNIEVES

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 142 posts
  • Location:VIRGINIA
  • Profession:Ranger
  • Guild Tag:[TSYM]
  • Server:Sanctum of Rall

Posted 26 April 2012 - 09:39 AM

I have avg and i have to disable firewall just to gowload the client and when i hit the  the exe file everytime i want tto try to log to test, i have to lower firewall just so it will updates itself, im assuming i mighrt have to change the settings on my avg firewall, to be able to play the game normally with out intruption

#26 teddylingus

teddylingus

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 24 posts
  • Server:Whiteside Ridge

Posted 26 April 2012 - 11:20 AM

tristania said:

Still having issues, ... What didn't came into mind was my Avast. Now I just toggled off everything ... but the problem remains. Do I really need to uninstall it? I mean, isn't that the same as  turning every single shield of? + Trying all those solutions made the client like really unresponsive. Guess downloading for the third time then.

Sorry mate, I can only tell you what happened to me.

I tried downloading 7 times with the following results (in which the client ran down to 0.00KB/SEC and stopped):

1) 99%
2) 17%
3) 27%
4) 0%
5) 1%
6) 29%
7) complete

The only thing I did differently the last time was to uninstall Avast.

Do you have the exe. and dat. files saved in a seperate folder on the desktop??

#27 dondarrion

dondarrion

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 292 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Profession:Guardian
  • Guild Tag:[EXT]
  • Server:Seafarer’s Rest

Posted 26 April 2012 - 11:32 AM

teddylingus said:

Do you have the exe. and dat. files saved in a separate folder on the desktop??

Put them both in the same folder. Both of those and that gw2.temp file it may have created. And to avoid any issues with write-permissions on desktop folders, try creating a directory under c:\, e.g. c:\games\guild wars 2 beta\

If d/l speed drops to 0.00, try clicking 'X' to close client, then re-start again to see if it resumes.

#28 Dream Catcher

Dream Catcher

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2358 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Server:Desolation

Posted 26 April 2012 - 11:47 AM

The same thing happened to me I simply closed the client and re-opened it and it completed.

#29 Mayam7881

Mayam7881

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 11:08 PM

What the F#$%ing F@#$%!!!!

Nope, I can't get any it to work.  Having same issue.

I have disabled, then uninstalled AVG (would Windows Defender pose any issue as well?).
I have moved the GW2 folder out of the Program Files folder.
I have added '-image'
I am running it in Admin.

Nadda, it will DL about 1 - 3k files (about 125 - 300 MB) at a decent rate around 1MB + / - for a minute or two.  Dwindle to zero and sit idle, mocking me.  At this rate I will only have to close and reopen the launcher roughly 60 - 100 times to maybe get this done and then pray it works.

Am I missing something?!?!  You know, I understand there is always some kind of launch related chaos with every MMO but not a single one can launch with out some kind of serious impediment to actually functioning acceptibly if at all?

I don't suppose there is any sort of mirror for this is there?

If there is anything I can try in addition I would very much appreciate any advice.  Every MMO that comes out now I swear to myself I'm gonna give it a couple weeks for them to un-f&*@$ it before I even attempt to play but I've yet failed to maintain that self discipline so far.  Every one that comes out I can count on at least 24 hours of frustration, typically more.

#30 Mayam7881

Mayam7881

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 05:48 AM

Meh.  After literally dozens of cycles of closing and relaunching and managing to snatch a few more files I've whittled it down to just under 100k files left... yay -_-...

At this point my physical copy will LITERALLY arrive before I DL this marvel of file transferance.  I mean literally, it will be here in a matter of hours at this point.  Honestly it seems to me the simple act of DLing the program should be the easiest step in the process.  The technology was there from pretty much the beginning of the internet age and you'd think it'd be about perfected by now.  Get enough servers hosting and well, that's about it for mastering that first hurdle, dingy virus riddled porn sites manage this much.  Issues clearly remain though.

Dumpster fire, train wreck, or full on fuster cluck.  I'm about 99% sure it is literally impossible for a company to release a functioning game.  I think they take the method of "just turn the damn water on and look for leaks, we'll run around trying to patch it up from there".  The concept of beta testing is lost on me now.  Numerous practice shots and every company seems to completely miss the target when the shot finally does count.  To be fair though, from most reports I'm hearing from friends and guildies, despite packed to capacity U.S servers and general chaos for the WvW PvP features the game appears to be less hosed up than most for a launch.

Gonna be hard to beat D3's magnificent stellar apocalypse of a reveal, however I could at least download the client for it without a dozen + hours of constant attention...  just couldn't play the damn thing for about 3 days lol.

This does not bode well for GW2 but it's way to early to judge still.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users