Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
* - - - - 1 votes

Skill points reset


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 kgptzac

kgptzac

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 94 posts
  • Server:Crystal Desert

Posted 29 April 2012 - 10:02 PM

Unless I missed something huge, there needs to be a way to reset skill points.  They are a scarce resource in the beginning, and new players should not be penalized for allocating points to "wrong" skills for 10 levels until they can travel out to other maps for skill points challenges.

A common practice is to give players a free skill points respec at around lv10 or 15, and make the respec either cause gold or gems.  I think this is really needed for lower levels characters, and higher level characters have little reasons to respec skills since they'll have most what they want already.

#2 Sito

Sito

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 69 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 29 April 2012 - 10:08 PM

Do you mean skill points or trait points? If you want another skill just go farm some skill points. Trait points can be resetted at your profession's trainer.

#3 Arys

Arys

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • Server:Darkhaven

Posted 29 April 2012 - 10:09 PM

You should definitely not be allowed to reset skill points. :P

#4 kgptzac

kgptzac

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 94 posts
  • Server:Crystal Desert

Posted 29 April 2012 - 11:29 PM

I know trait points can be reset.  I am talking about points that actually unlocks profession skills.

#5 The Mountain

The Mountain

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 91 posts

Posted 30 April 2012 - 12:43 AM

For Beta only? yes, I agree.

For final game? Nope.

Here is why, the player will not have to search for skill points anymore because all they need to do is get a set amount of skill points, reset and go. There is no point in going to get skill points anymore unless you are OCD or something.

#6 dss_live

dss_live

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 3323 posts
  • Location:Belgium
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 30 April 2012 - 09:06 AM

Not being able ot reset your skill points makes it mor important for you to choose teh one you wish to have. If they are refundable then why go for more ? There needs to be some incentive to chase after them.

#7 kgptzac

kgptzac

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 94 posts
  • Server:Crystal Desert

Posted 30 April 2012 - 09:52 PM

The problem I was having is: the skill description is insufficient, they behave differently in pvp (example: turrets), and most often than not, there is no way of knowing if a skill is worth unlocking other than unlocking it first, which doesn't seem very logical for me.  Especially gw2's slot skills are not restricted in a tree structure, and new players have little clues on how to spend their skill points that both fits their play style and being efficient in combat.

Many games give players a single chance to reset skill/attribute points at a fixed, early level, such as job advancement.  As I said before, allocating skill points to "bad" skills (Med Kit, Flame Turret, I'm looking at you) is only a problem for new players, as natural leveling and collecting skill point challenges by exploring seem to yield a lot more points, so I don't see there's any effective discouragement here.

#8 Grit

Grit

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1457 posts
  • Guild Tag:[LION]

Posted 30 April 2012 - 10:24 PM

Allowing a free skill point reset at specific levels wouldn't be such a bad thing. Especially because the skill descriptions are so lacking.

Obviously we shouldn't be allowed to reset them whenever we please

#9 Sir Bertrand

Sir Bertrand

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 231 posts

Posted 30 April 2012 - 10:42 PM

View Postkgptzac, on 30 April 2012 - 09:52 PM, said:

The problem I was having is: the skill description is insufficient, they behave differently in pvp (example: turrets), and most often than not, there is no way of knowing if a skill is worth unlocking other than unlocking it first, which doesn't seem very logical for me.  Especially gw2's slot skills are not restricted in a tree structure, and new players have little clues on how to spend their skill points that both fits their play style and being efficient in combat.

Out of curiosity, what was different about the turrets in PvP? Last thing I heard, they stepped away from skill splits.

I think the skill descriptions will be better at launch. GW1 always had very clear skill descriptions, and GW2's descriptions get better and better with each beta. I don't think a free respec within the first few levels would hurt, though.

#10 kgptzac

kgptzac

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 94 posts
  • Server:Crystal Desert

Posted 01 May 2012 - 04:35 AM

I noticed that I can specify the location to place turrets in pvp lobby, where in pve I've experienced, turrets can only be place on spot of skill activation.  I'm not entirely sure if it's the skills are pvp split, or some other skill/trait/whatever allowed turret skills to behave that way.

#11 viper11025

viper11025

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 165 posts

Posted 11 June 2012 - 03:12 AM

I find this increasingly silly, I'm in BW2 and so far I can't stand catacombs. If you dont tier for stability forget it, go home and cry youll prob. never beat catacombs as a warrior without anyone who can prevent the knockbacks and knockdowns.

If I cant reset my skills, why punish us by forcing me to skill tree? Makes no sense.

Thanks for buying my game, go grind for skills! It's fun!

#12 Dominique de Lombre

Dominique de Lombre

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 529 posts
  • Location:I've gone to find myself. If I should return before I get back, keep me here!
  • Guild Tag:[Love]
  • Server:Blackgate

Posted 11 June 2012 - 06:24 PM

I don't think I like the refund skill points for three reasons:

1. There are more skill challenges in the world than there are needed to unlock all your skills.

2. The new tier system "should" help new players with skill choices. Instead of having a big group of skills to pick from, you start from a group of 5 (or w/e it is).

3. Lastly, you can try out skills (before you buy them) in the PvP lobby (or in a match if you dare). (Can you go back to the "PvP tutorial zone" where you can attack those npcs? If so, that's even better).

Those are my thoughts. Feel free to fire back if they need correcting :P

#13 Killyox

Killyox

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 3117 posts
  • Location:Poland
  • Profession:Engineer
  • Guild Tag:[InVi]
  • Server:Piken Square

Posted 12 June 2012 - 11:34 AM

View Postkgptzac, on 01 May 2012 - 04:35 AM, said:

I noticed that I can specify the location to place turrets in pvp lobby, where in pve I've experienced, turrets can only be place on spot of skill activation.  I'm not entirely sure if it's the skills are pvp split, or some other skill/trait/whatever allowed turret skills to behave that way.

Your lack of information shows in this post.

The only reason you could place them at selected spot was because by default engineer has trait making it possible to do so which you simply didn't have opportunity to take at low lvl.

View Postviper11025, on 11 June 2012 - 03:12 AM, said:

I find this increasingly silly, I'm in BW2 and so far I can't stand catacombs. If you dont tier for stability forget it, go home and cry youll prob. never beat catacombs as a warrior without anyone who can prevent the knockbacks and knockdowns.

If I cant reset my skills, why punish us by forcing me to skill tree? Makes no sense.

Thanks for buying my game, go grind for skills! It's fun!

anyone preventing KBs? Why wont you take elite standard??? I mean, you and your party gets ~23 second long stability and other VERY strong buffs. BTW you can move it around.

#14 Gilles VI

Gilles VI

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 3311 posts
  • Location:Belgium
  • Profession:Guardian
  • Guild Tag:[ICE]
  • Server:Far Shiverpeaks

Posted 12 June 2012 - 08:17 PM

There are enough skill points in the game to be able to buy every skill possible.
So I really don't see why they should add that. :)

#15 viper11025

viper11025

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 165 posts

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:50 AM

Standards pointless, If you get knocked back in those valuable seconds between buffs your useless. I know a few 'archers' that would love to teach people what stability means. X3

#16 Zkarlet

Zkarlet

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 96 posts
  • Location:Göteborg
  • Guild Tag:[FRI]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 04 August 2012 - 06:02 PM

Isn't Skill Points needed to craft Legendaries? In that case optimizing your spending will significantly help your way towards a Legendary item if you're never ever able to respec?

#17 Fatalis

Fatalis

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2708 posts
  • Guild Tag:[TL]

Posted 04 August 2012 - 06:08 PM

By the time you reach level 80, you'll probably have all your skills unlocked.

Furthermore, you can test out all the skills in the game just by going to sPvP, there shouldn't be a reason why you did not know what a skill does.

#18 Thyss

Thyss

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 04 August 2012 - 06:08 PM

Considering that you will get a skillpoint each time you get to lvl 81, i think you will have quite a lot of skillpoints after a while.
While leveling you can just go with whatever really, if you did a bad choice of a skill, you can always go to one of the other starting areas and farm some skillpoints to get others.

But you can't really * up so badly that you can't keep leveling just by choosing a bad skill.
So i think this system is fine, it just gives people a reson to go farm some other areas that they otherwise wouldn't.

#19 tallanx

tallanx

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 866 posts

Posted 04 August 2012 - 06:15 PM

I vote no, because skills points can be used to buy stuff. And since getting skill points are not really restricted to level, somebody could in theory go around doing absolutely nothing but skill point challenges (with help from higher level friends) and then have like 60 skill points while still be under level 15. They'd use the skill point to buy stuff, then reset, rinse and repeat.

#20 Tenicord

Tenicord

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1334 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO

Posted 04 August 2012 - 08:01 PM

They can't do this. Skill points are used to buy legendary weapons and so on. I think the main complaint is, tooltips should tell you how they work better before you decide on a skill, which is fair to say. However you can go over to the mists and try out all the skills, so there is no reason for that really..

#21 Astral Projections

Astral Projections

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 446 posts
  • Guild Tag:[MIND]
  • Server:Henge of Denravi

Posted 04 August 2012 - 08:07 PM

You will continue to get skill points, even after you hit level 80. My level 20 Ritualist in Guild Wars 1 has over 900 skill points, and I spent an additional 300 buying elite skills and consumables. Getting skill points is easy. There isn't any reason to reset them.

Edited by Astralprojections, 04 August 2012 - 08:07 PM.


#22 gobberpooper

gobberpooper

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 602 posts
  • Server:Crystal Desert

Posted 05 August 2012 - 12:04 AM

Why the hell is this topic back? Resetting skill points allows for an obvious exploit of only needing like 50 skill points to fill up your skill bar and you could just reset your skill points and access every skill, removing a need to level up.

#23 Dolkar

Dolkar

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 118 posts

Posted 06 August 2012 - 02:32 PM

Or they could implement a feature that allows you to refund a skill you bought recently if you don't like it...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users