Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
- - - - -

NEW Fraps - NO MORE Split Files!

Video Recording Fraps

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Nuu

Nuu

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 421 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario
  • Guild Tag:[DKR]
  • Server:Desolation

Posted 21 May 2012 - 04:29 PM

Just letting everyone know there's a new Fraps, 3.5.2 & it allows UNLIMITED file sizes. No more irritating splits. So be sure to get it!

http://www.fraps.com/download.php

#2 Gilles VI

Gilles VI

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 3271 posts
  • Location:Belgium
  • Profession:Guardian
  • Guild Tag:[ICE]
  • Server:Far Shiverpeaks

Posted 21 May 2012 - 04:30 PM

Is capture time still limited for free users?

#3 Nuu

Nuu

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 421 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario
  • Guild Tag:[DKR]
  • Server:Desolation

Posted 22 May 2012 - 12:52 AM

View PostGilles VI, on 21 May 2012 - 04:30 PM, said:

Is capture time still limited for free users?

I'm not quite sure, still assuming it is.

#4 Raijak

Raijak

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 112 posts
  • Server:Sorrow’s Furnace

Posted 28 May 2012 - 11:41 PM

I'd love Fraps if it didn't lag so many peoples computers.

#5 Hecate

Hecate

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 55 posts
  • Guild Tag:[ReP]

Posted 29 May 2012 - 02:51 AM

Id recommend MSI afterburner then. Its an OC tool, but it has a video capture feature. Better then fraps, imo the best one out there, and its free.

No need to use the OC, just use it for video capture. Better quality, files are smaller, and less fps drop in games.

#6 Milennin

Milennin

    Vigil Crusader

  • Members
  • 3670 posts
  • Location:Europe
  • Guild Tag:[TB]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 29 May 2012 - 09:37 AM

Split wasn't that annoying, but I guess it depends on what you're recording. For a several hours of GW2 footage the split made it easy to pick out the footage to use for my Youtube videos without having to keep cutting one huge video file into pieces.
For making shorter videos of certain things (only character customisation / a single dynamic event etc) the no-split is nice.

#7 MikeFish

MikeFish

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 928 posts
  • Location:England
  • Server:Underworld

Posted 29 May 2012 - 09:48 AM

View PostHecate, on 29 May 2012 - 02:51 AM, said:

Id recommend MSI afterburner then. Its an OC tool, but it has a video capture feature. Better then fraps, imo the best one out there, and its free.

No need to use the OC, just use it for video capture. Better quality, files are smaller, and less fps drop in games.

Don't forget that it's also free! That was the tipping point for me.

#8 Milennin

Milennin

    Vigil Crusader

  • Members
  • 3670 posts
  • Location:Europe
  • Guild Tag:[TB]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 29 May 2012 - 10:58 AM

I tried MSI Afterburner but it was a hell of a lot laggier than Fraps was for me.

#9 Skeliv

Skeliv

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 127 posts
  • Location:SWAG.

Posted 29 May 2012 - 11:24 AM

Ever tried Xfire video recording? It's pretty handy and it lets you pick the video quality that you want to record in. www.xfire.com . If anyone is not familiar with xfire, it's a program like aim or msn but for gamers. It keeps track of the games and hours you have played and it lets you to take screenshots, videos, broadcast, and talk to your xfire friends while playing the game.

#10 orcish

orcish

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 329 posts
  • Location:Running from the guards

Posted 29 May 2012 - 12:03 PM

View PostSkeliv, on 29 May 2012 - 11:24 AM, said:

Ever tried Xfire video recording? It's pretty handy and it lets you pick the video quality that you want to record in. www.xfire.com . If anyone is not familiar with xfire, it's a program like aim or msn but for gamers. It keeps track of the games and hours you have played and it lets you to take screenshots, videos, broadcast, and talk to your xfire friends while playing the game.

i'm going to check it out thank you :)

btw, have you compared it with MSI? I now recommend MSI to ppl as a better free alternative to FRAPS, so I'd like to know if Xfire is better.

(All i want is a free, simple, low memory app that records video without a time limit and maybe also has an FPS display)

#11 Skeliv

Skeliv

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 127 posts
  • Location:SWAG.

Posted 29 May 2012 - 12:27 PM

View Postorcish, on 29 May 2012 - 12:03 PM, said:

i'm going to check it out thank you :)

btw, have you compared it with MSI? I now recommend MSI to ppl as a better free alternative to FRAPS, so I'd like to know if Xfire is better.

(All i want is a free, simple, low memory app that records video without a time limit and maybe also has an FPS display)

Once you download and register don't forget to add me :) ( Username - elfixx ) . Honestly i never used MSI only Frams and xfire, xfire worked a lot better and its free :)

#12 orcish

orcish

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 329 posts
  • Location:Running from the guards

Posted 29 May 2012 - 12:32 PM

View PostSkeliv, on 29 May 2012 - 12:27 PM, said:

Once you download and register don't forget to add me :) ( Username - elfixx ) . Honestly i never used MSI only Frams and xfire, xfire worked a lot better and its free :)
if i dl it i'll add you!
Have you noticed any reduction in FPS while using Xfire in game as opposed to not having it? (with MSI there is no noticable reduction)
Is there a time limit or a file size limit with recording vids on Xfire?
I'm assuming it gives you the option to display a small fps meter on screen (that's pretty standard)

#13 Skeliv

Skeliv

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 127 posts
  • Location:SWAG.

Posted 29 May 2012 - 12:40 PM

View Postorcish, on 29 May 2012 - 12:32 PM, said:

if i dl it i'll add you!
Have you noticed any reduction in FPS while using Xfire in game as opposed to not having it? (with MSI there is no noticable reduction)
Is there a time limit or a file size limit with recording vids on Xfire?
I'm assuming it gives you the option to display a small fps meter on screen (that's pretty standard)

While recording a video no but when starting up a broadcast that's when the FPS comes down, i have no idea why. Theres no recording limit but if you want to put the video on your xfire profile the limit is 200 mb. Yes it shows fps, you can turn it off if you like. You should mess around with it and give it a go :)

http://www.xfire.com...re.com/video/   Go threw a few videos that people recorded and put up. Don't get put off if you see some bad quality videos, xfire gives you the option to record in low or high quality.

Edited by Skeliv, 29 May 2012 - 12:42 PM.


#14 Neato

Neato

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 777 posts
  • Location:neat-o
  • Guild Tag:[iM]
  • Server:Gate of Madness

Posted 29 May 2012 - 03:13 PM

Still records completely uncompressed with huge files. I'd much prefer something like Bandicam (which records compressed, less laggy, and has much better screenshot capabilities) if it weren't so damn expensive.

#15 Ivarr_Ironfist

Ivarr_Ironfist

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 465 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Server:Desolation

Posted 31 May 2012 - 02:25 PM

View PostNeato, on 29 May 2012 - 03:13 PM, said:

Still records completely uncompressed with huge files. I'd much prefer something like Bandicam (which records compressed, less laggy, and has much better screenshot capabilities) if it weren't so damn expensive.

As a lot of people have said already, give MSI Afterburner a go. It's free, doesn't split files, doesn't cause as much lag as fraps and offers two compression options, as well as offering a lot of other options like graphics card control and a customizable on-screen display of time and FPS.

#16 CatMountainKing

CatMountainKing

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 88 posts

Posted 01 June 2012 - 06:33 AM

View PostMilennin, on 29 May 2012 - 10:58 AM, said:

I tried MSI Afterburner but it was a hell of a lot laggier than Fraps was for me.

How much lag you get is highly dependent on the settings and your computer.

If your computer is CPU bottlenecked, you can set it to record uncompressed, and it should be no different from Fraps.

If your computer is HD bottlenecked (most cases it is), you can adjust the compression level to put more load onto your CPU and reduce the number of bytes written to the disk.  I generally have it compress at 95% quality, which gives me no lag in game when recording 1080p at 30fps.

Fraps, on the other hand, gives you no such options and most people will lag at common framerates when recording 1080p.

Edited by CatMountainKing, 01 June 2012 - 06:37 AM.


#17 Milennin

Milennin

    Vigil Crusader

  • Members
  • 3670 posts
  • Location:Europe
  • Guild Tag:[TB]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 01 June 2012 - 08:21 AM

View PostCatMountainKing, on 01 June 2012 - 06:33 AM, said:

How much lag you get is highly dependent on the settings and your computer.

If your computer is CPU bottlenecked, you can set it to record uncompressed, and it should be no different from Fraps.

If your computer is HD bottlenecked (most cases it is), you can adjust the compression level to put more load onto your CPU and reduce the number of bytes written to the disk.  I generally have it compress at 95% quality, which gives me no lag in game when recording 1080p at 30fps.

Fraps, on the other hand, gives you no such options and most people will lag at common framerates when recording 1080p.

I tried both options, uncompressed was really laggy.
Other option worked better, slightly more laggy than Fraps, but the footage was all choppy for some reason...

#18 orcish

orcish

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 329 posts
  • Location:Running from the guards

Posted 01 June 2012 - 11:18 AM

View PostMilennin, on 01 June 2012 - 08:21 AM, said:

I tried both options, uncompressed was really laggy.
Other option worked better, slightly more laggy than Fraps, but the footage was all choppy for some reason...

Mil, you've thrown a seed of doubt into my (expected) use of MSI. :P

Do you think that the issue could be on your pc's end since several other posters are saying that MSI seems to work better? I know that I have used MSI and noticed no choppiness or (visible) reduction in FPS.

I have not tried Fraps at all so I can't compare.

#19 Milennin

Milennin

    Vigil Crusader

  • Members
  • 3670 posts
  • Location:Europe
  • Guild Tag:[TB]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 01 June 2012 - 11:24 AM

View Postorcish, on 01 June 2012 - 11:18 AM, said:

Mil, you've thrown a seed of doubt into my (expected) use of MSI. :P

Do you think that the issue could be on your pc's end since several other posters are saying that MSI seems to work better? I know that I have used MSI and noticed no choppiness or (visible) reduction in FPS.

I have not tried Fraps at all so I can't compare.

No idea, I've got a fairly good PC (guessing something between mid to high), so I doubt it's my PC. But if MSI works for you, then that's good.=p For me Fraps works perfectly, so for now I'm sticking to that until I find something better.

#20 orcish

orcish

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 329 posts
  • Location:Running from the guards

Posted 01 June 2012 - 11:32 AM

View PostMilennin, on 01 June 2012 - 11:24 AM, said:

No idea, I've got a fairly good PC (guessing something between mid to high), so I doubt it's my PC. But if MSI works for you, then that's good.=p For me Fraps works perfectly, so for now I'm sticking to that until I find something better.

I've got a midrange pc myself.

One thing that MIGHT be making a difference is the free version of FRAPS vs the paid version.
Perhaps the free version that most people use provides a shittier experience, and you are probably using the paid version where those restrictions are lifted (not just recording size/time but some sort of quality settings on the back end)

#21 Milennin

Milennin

    Vigil Crusader

  • Members
  • 3670 posts
  • Location:Europe
  • Guild Tag:[TB]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 01 June 2012 - 11:43 AM

Yeah, I think I tried the free version just to check how the video quality would be. I found the quality to be perfect (HD 1080) so I purchased the full version. The free version is not suitable to record any serious footage with due to the limits.

#22 Elezen

Elezen

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 31 August 2012 - 01:33 PM

Im using msi afterburner but with the new version i cant take screenshot pretty weird....someone know how to fix that..?





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Video, Recording, Fraps

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users