Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
- - - - -

How to reduce Lag/ Increase FPS?


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 MAlandM

MAlandM

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 126 posts
  • Location:London, UK.

Posted 08 June 2012 - 08:32 PM

Hello,

I currently have an i5, 4GB RAM laptop and I was surprised at how badly the game lagged. My graphics are set to the lowest, enabling for the best performance, yet its like 2 fps (frames per second).

Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to improve gameplay? I chose a server that's in my home region.

Thanks.

#2 CCTim2012

CCTim2012

    Vanguard Scout

  • Banned
  • 269 posts

Posted 08 June 2012 - 08:35 PM

1. Laptops are terrible.

2. What is your processor? an "i5" has no valid meaning at all. What is your graphics card?

#3 Dilbon

Dilbon

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 506 posts

Posted 08 June 2012 - 08:38 PM

Any i5 is enough, but if you have a crappy graphics card nothing helps.

#4 MAlandM

MAlandM

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 126 posts
  • Location:London, UK.

Posted 08 June 2012 - 10:03 PM

I'll check my graphics card as soon as I can. But t was the one that came with my HP Pavillion G6 laptop i5 and 500GB hard drive. It should be easy to find on the Internet, so I'll appreciate it if you can find out.

If its not a good one, what options do I have to solve the issue? Can I buy a graphics card? Will that fix it?

Thanks

My graphics card is Intel® Graphics Card. 1696 MB memory. Is that good?

#5 Reiyhn

Reiyhn

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Mandurah
  • Server:Sea of Sorrows

Posted 08 June 2012 - 10:03 PM

View PostMAlandM, on 08 June 2012 - 09:50 PM, said:

I'll check my graphics card as soon as I can. But t was the one that came with my HP Pavillion G6 laptop i5 and 500GB hard drive. It should be easy to find on the Internet, so I'll appreciate it if you can find out.

If its not a good one, what options do I have to solve the issue? Can I buy a graphics card? Will that fix it?

Thanks

Updating hardware other than RAM in laptops isnt often done.. or done at all because its all squeezed in so tight there is no room for change.

Best bet is to sell your laptop and invest the money into a half decent desktop PC - can get one that would comfortably run gw2 (on final release mind you) for approx $900 AUD (Australian Dollars) Unsure about Euro cost.

#6 Dilbon

Dilbon

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 506 posts

Posted 08 June 2012 - 10:08 PM

View PostMAlandM, on 08 June 2012 - 10:03 PM, said:

My graphics card is Intel® Graphics Card. 1696 MB memory. Is that good?

Sorry but no. Intel HD 3000 would be the absolute minimum, but yours seems to be below that.

#7 shillo

shillo

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 173 posts

Posted 08 June 2012 - 10:13 PM

Just googled. There's a bunch of completely different configurations, all sold as Pavillion G6. Protip: there's supposed to be another set of number and letters that specify the model, although those sometimes get customised in some respects between sellers, too.

Aparently a number of models have ATI6470 GPU in them, which is below minimal requirement. And then there are those with ATI6480G which are even worse.

You can't upgrade a laptop GPU, unfortunately.

Edit: Just saw your post update. "My graphics card is Intel® Graphics Card. 1696 MB memory. Is that good?" No. It's also not real GPU memory, it's stealing memory from your CPU. It can't run the game acceptably; I'm actually surprised you managed to start it at all.

#8 MAlandM

MAlandM

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 126 posts
  • Location:London, UK.

Posted 08 June 2012 - 10:13 PM

These are my laptop's specs:

i5
Intel® Graphics Card.
1696 MB memory.
4GB RAM
500GB Hard drive.

This is a picture of my specs:

Posted Image

All help is very, very appreciated.
With all the lag right now, I'm actually thinking of leaving GW2.

This is my laptop: http://www.amazon.co...s/dp/B005SEY0OU

Is there anything I can do to fix the horrible graphics card? I don't know how to put in new graphics cards, by the way.

#9 Guldur

Guldur

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 634 posts

Posted 08 June 2012 - 10:37 PM

Task manager -> right click on gw2 process -> set priority high

Should greatly improve performance

#10 MAlandM

MAlandM

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 126 posts
  • Location:London, UK.

Posted 08 June 2012 - 11:12 PM

View PostGuldur, on 08 June 2012 - 10:37 PM, said:

Task manager -> right click on gw2 process -> set priority high

Should greatly improve performance

I'll try that, thanks! :D

Meanwhile, can anyone recommend a graphics card under £100 please?

#11 Rytlock Bigpaw

Rytlock Bigpaw

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 613 posts
  • Location:Portugal/Almada
  • Server:Desolation

Posted 08 June 2012 - 11:18 PM

for a laptop? you cant, buy a new one or a desktop

#12 Dilbon

Dilbon

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 506 posts

Posted 08 June 2012 - 11:20 PM

There's really nothing you can do, that laptop is not suitable for games.

#13 Murderer

Murderer

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 121 posts
  • Location:SoCal
  • Profession:Warrior

Posted 08 June 2012 - 11:26 PM

View PostCCTim2012, on 08 June 2012 - 08:35 PM, said:

1. Laptops are terrible.

2. What is your processor? an "i5" has no valid meaning at all. What is your graphics card?

1. Do you mean most peoples laptops are terrible? Mine seems fine.
-Intel Core i7 3820qm @2.70ghz
-16 gigs ram
-256gb SSD
-SLI Dual GeForce GTX 675m

Edited by Murderer, 08 June 2012 - 11:27 PM.


#14 Deklin

Deklin

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 08 June 2012 - 11:35 PM

This game is just very poorly optimized right now for graphics. I have a top of the line system. GTX 680, dual quad core and it still runs like crap. Skyrim + high-rez textures works wonderfully.

#15 MAlandM

MAlandM

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 126 posts
  • Location:London, UK.

Posted 08 June 2012 - 11:42 PM

I'm getting mixed opinions here. What should I do?

Buy a new PC?
Buy a new graphics card for my laptop?
Buy a new laptop?
Buy new components for my laptop?

Thanks for the answers so far.

View PostGuldur, on 08 June 2012 - 10:37 PM, said:

Task manager -> right click on gw2 process -> set priority high

Should greatly improve performance

Placebo effect. Didnt make difference.

Edited by MAlandM, 09 June 2012 - 01:12 PM.


#16 theuprising

theuprising

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1063 posts

Posted 08 June 2012 - 11:50 PM

View PostGuldur, on 08 June 2012 - 10:37 PM, said:

Task manager -> right click on gw2 process -> set priority high

Should greatly improve performance
This doesn't do ne thing, the game sets itself back to "very low" for what reason I don't know.

#17 Guldur

Guldur

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 634 posts

Posted 09 June 2012 - 12:26 AM

View PostMAlandM, on 08 June 2012 - 11:42 PM, said:


OMG. This is brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!

Works perfectly now!!!! Thank you thank you thank you, sir!!!

Glad I could help :D

Help spreading the word!

View Posttheuprising, on 08 June 2012 - 11:50 PM, said:

This doesn't do ne thing, the game sets itself back to "very low" for what reason I don't know.

Don´t know why it does that for you, maybe you do not have administrator privileges. For me and a few others it has worked great.

#18 bhavv

bhavv

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1675 posts

Posted 09 June 2012 - 02:54 AM

Well im running the game on a stock speed I7 980, 12 Gb 1866 ram, and a GTX 670 with a stock overclock of 1200 Mhz and I get 20 fps lag spikes in this beta, so good luck with finding a way to reduce your lag, you'll need it. Oh and the game is running off a Crucial M4 SSD too, no bottlenecks anywhere.

So maybe I buy 2 moar GTX 670s for Tri SLI .... Erm no, not really. It should run flawlessly when the game is finished.I gave up overclocking for games now, just have everything at stock speeds and pre overclocked GPU and ram.

Edited by bhavv, 09 June 2012 - 02:58 AM.


#19 typographie

typographie

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1940 posts
  • Guild Tag:[LAW]

Posted 09 June 2012 - 04:41 AM

View PostGuldur, on 09 June 2012 - 12:26 AM, said:

Don´t know why it does that for you, maybe you do not have administrator privileges. For me and a few others it has worked great.

View Posttheuprising, on 08 June 2012 - 11:50 PM, said:

This doesn't do ne thing, the game sets itself back to "very low" for what reason I don't know.

This is a really, really widespread myth. Anytime you alt-tab out to Task Manager, GW2 (and any other 3D application in Windows) will be set to Low Priority. As soon as its back in the foreground, its back to high. Gw2.exe will be set to Low just by virtue of having Task Manager in UI focus. This is completely normal behavior, and was confirmed as such by ArenaNet during the last BWE.

If you did it and are convinced it helped, you are experiencing a combination of normal FPS variations depending on your surroundings and a placebo effect.

To the OP, Intel's HD 3000 graphics hardware is the bare minimum Anet says will run the game, and even that wouldn't provide a very pleasant gaming experience. Your Dxdiag isn't specifying, which I believe means its just the generic, baseline Intel graphics which are not adequate for this or any game. :(

#20 theuprising

theuprising

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1063 posts

Posted 09 June 2012 - 05:43 AM

View Posttypographie, on 09 June 2012 - 04:41 AM, said:

This is a really, really widespread myth. Anytime you alt-tab out to Task Manager, GW2 (and any other 3D application in Windows) will be set to Low Priority. As soon as its back in the foreground, its back to high. Gw2.exe will be set to Low just by virtue of having Task Manager in UI focus. This is completely normal behavior, and was confirmed as such by ArenaNet during the last BWE.

If you did it and are convinced it helped, you are experiencing a combination of normal FPS variations depending on your surroundings and a placebo effect.

To the OP, Intel's HD 3000 graphics hardware is the bare minimum Anet says will run the game, and even that wouldn't provide a very pleasant gaming experience. Your Dxdiag isn't specifying, which I believe means its just the generic, baseline Intel graphics which are not adequate for this or any game. :(
I have a Mobility Radeon HD 5730, i7 1.3ish ghz but it overclocks itself up to like 2.6+, 4GB RAM and the game is barely playable for me..

Edited by theuprising, 09 June 2012 - 05:44 AM.


#21 typographie

typographie

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1940 posts
  • Guild Tag:[LAW]

Posted 09 June 2012 - 10:03 AM

View Posttheuprising, on 09 June 2012 - 05:43 AM, said:

I have a Mobility Radeon HD 5730, i7 1.3ish ghz but it overclocks itself up to like 2.6+, 4GB RAM and the game is barely playable for me..

If you look at really chaotic situations, the game is barely playable even on most high-end systems right now. They're still working on improving performance, and probably will be for some time. Meanwhile, Anet has apparently not changed their mind on the minimum requirements, so we have to assume that's still their goal by the time the game launches.

#22 MAlandM

MAlandM

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 126 posts
  • Location:London, UK.

Posted 09 June 2012 - 01:17 PM

View PostGuldur, on 09 June 2012 - 12:26 AM, said:

Glad I could help :D

Help spreading the word!



Don´t know why it does that for you, maybe you do not have administrator privileges. For me and a few others it has worked great.

Nope, its back to its normal laggy self.

Thanks for the tip though, useless as it was.

What do you guys think is best for me to do?

This is a video of how the game plays for me



it was 8 fps at most, 3 fps at its worst.

Would this PC be ok? http://www.pcworld.c...ay~RR~~11875804

#23 Aleta

Aleta

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 49 posts
  • Location:California

Posted 09 June 2012 - 01:18 PM

that's what mine is doing to.  Lag is so bad I can't move hardly.  My computer is barely a year old and it was fine last beta.

#24 aurora2

aurora2

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2215 posts

Posted 09 June 2012 - 04:28 PM

It's the same for me like on that video... At least in crowded areas and cities :( It's impossible to stay in a city like that :/

#25 typographie

typographie

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1940 posts
  • Guild Tag:[LAW]

Posted 09 June 2012 - 07:51 PM

View PostMAlandM, on 09 June 2012 - 01:17 PM, said:

What do you guys think is best for me to do?

Your laptop's integrated video is too weak; we can all expect better performance by the time of release, but without even meeting minimum requirements its never going to be very enjoyable. Unfortunately since its a laptop, upgrades are probably impossible and your only recourse may be a new PC.

View PostMAlandM, on 09 June 2012 - 01:17 PM, said:


We need to know what resolution at which you plan to play the game before we can recommend appropriate hardware.
Is building your own system an option, whether you do it yourself or have someone else (some computer places will do it for a small fee) do it for you?
What's your budget?

Going solely off of its vitals, that machine should actually do okay at low screen resolutions, such as 1280x1024 or 1440x900. But I'm a bit nervous about its warranty, quality of its power supply, etc. I feel like we could probably do better for you, one way or another.

#26 MAlandM

MAlandM

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 126 posts
  • Location:London, UK.

Posted 09 June 2012 - 08:30 PM

View Posttypographie, on 09 June 2012 - 07:51 PM, said:



Your laptop's integrated video is too weak; we can all expect better performance by the time of release, but without even meeting minimum requirements its never going to be very enjoyable. Unfortunately since its a laptop, upgrades are probably impossible and your only recourse may be a new PC.



We need to know what resolution at which you plan to play the game before we can recommend appropriate hardware.
Is building your own system an option, whether you do it yourself or have someone else (some computer places will do it for a small fee) do it for you?
What's your budget?

Going solely off of its vitals, that machine should actually do okay at low screen resolutions, such as 1280x1024 or 1440x900. But I'm a bit nervous about its warranty, quality of its power supply, etc. I feel like we could probably do better for you, one way or another.

How about this one: http://www.ebuyer.co...ng-pc-7873-0407

#27 SuperNova

SuperNova

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 820 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 10 June 2012 - 01:29 AM

View PostMAlandM, on 09 June 2012 - 08:30 PM, said:


http://cgi.ebay.co.u...me=STRK:MESE:IT is my PC and it runs great.  I upgraded from an AMD Phenom II and my fps is more than doubled under most conditions.

#28 typographie

typographie

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1940 posts
  • Guild Tag:[LAW]

Posted 11 June 2012 - 12:36 AM

View PostMAlandM, on 09 June 2012 - 08:30 PM, said:


Still need to know more about your monitor, or the one you have in mind. A GTX 550 Ti is probably going to struggle badly gaming at 1080p.

The system Supernova posted is a bit faster in every way, I don't know about buying a PC on eBay, but as long as the seller is reputable and provides all of the warranty information with the products I guess its okay.

#29 Tarun

Tarun

    Technician

  • Site Contributors
  • 93 posts

Posted 17 June 2012 - 06:47 PM

Right now graphic settings don't matter, see the quote below. As others have said, laptops are not meant for gaming. Desktops are always superior to laptops for gaming. Ease of use, upgradable, better keyboard, etc etc.

Quote

  • We are currently optimizing Guild Wars 2, making ongoing improvements to the game’s frame rate. Presently, the game is CPU-bound on most high-end systems, so lowering graphics settings or upgrading your video card may not have a large impact on performance.
    • On older or lower-end machines, it is recommended that you try disabling reflections to improve frame rate.



#30 Xious

Xious

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 61 posts
  • Location:Marshmallow Land

Posted 18 June 2012 - 07:01 AM

I would recommend NOT buying a PC designed for gaming from any shop on the high street (PCWorld, Currys etc) as these PC's usually contain poor quality parts, and even if the parts are up the scratch, the PSU is not. There is now two options for you:

1. Build your own! The best way in my opinion, choose all the parts off a website such as eBuyer, make sure they're all compatible and build it yourself! Don't worry if you're not that much 'Tech Savvy' because there is plenty of Youtube guides.

2. Get a website/store to build it for you! This is the option I personally went with, and it has turned out great! It is exactly like option 1, but someone builds it for you saving you all the hard work. The price usually comes in a tad bit higher than Option 1, but you're paying for Labour and all that jazz. The website I used is called Cougar Extreme, and YES, it's not a very well known website, but don't let that put you off as it worked wonders for me.

I hope this solves any of your questions about what PC's to buy etc.

- Xious :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users