Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
* - - - - 2 votes

Guild Wars 2/3 on Consoles and at Gamescom?!

Guild Wars Guild Wars EOTN Eye Of The North Dragons Gamescom 2012

  • Please log in to reply
199 replies to this topic

#181 Mallow

Mallow

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 97 posts
  • Location:South Wales
  • Server:Gunnar’s Hold

Posted 12 August 2012 - 03:01 PM

I am curious though, when the next generation consoles come (such as the PlayStation 4) will they be backwards compatible? I think it's a great idea myself. Say for example I am going away somewhere for the weekend, and I still wanted to play Guild Wars 2, I could take my console with me because it would be more portable than my PC :). I could perhaps even take the game to a friends console?

#182 Treble

Treble

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2239 posts
  • Server:Stormbluff Isle

Posted 12 August 2012 - 05:53 PM

View PostHaterx732, on 11 July 2012 - 05:52 PM, said:

I imagine they will design it around the keyboard and mouse...?

I mean my engineer has 14 abilities on his bar

I'm not a fan of consoles, but it's doable.

4 buttons = 4 abilities

Left Trigger + 4 buttons = 4 more abilities

Right Trigger + 4 buttons = 4 more abilities

That's 12 already. There are 2 more trigger buttons and then the joystick buttons. It's doable.

View Postrukia, on 10 August 2012 - 03:00 AM, said:

Because my 50 inch TV with GW2 on it would be amazing... but yea, any serious play would have to be on PC.

Lol my trusty ol' 24" monitor crapped out on me, so I had to move my 40" 1080p TV in front of my desk to use as a monitor. It's pretty awesome. I don't even know if I should bother buying that 27" 3D LED I always wanted. :D

Edited by Treble, 12 August 2012 - 05:55 PM.


#183 Drokk

Drokk

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1117 posts

Posted 12 August 2012 - 08:57 PM

View Postkrone6, on 12 August 2012 - 10:59 AM, said:

A post on the official gw2 site? There's been many of these rumors and a lot of them were false. Who would you believe more? The publisher or the DEVELOPER of the game? The publisher might want it on consoles but it doesn't mean it can be done. I might want a lot of money but it probably won't happen. Until arenanet themselves put up an official post saying THEY (the developers of the actual game) will put it on console then nothing's confirmed, even if some are more believable then others.

It's also called making sure your sources are 100% valid. I'd love to believe the publisher, but the developer comes first. They made the game, they have a lot more experience in porting the game they made to a console then a publisher.
You're right. I'm sure there's a strong likelihood NCSoft thought it would be a good idea to lie to their shareholders.

By the way, ANet answers to NCSoft..not the other way around. NCSoft wants a console version, there will be a console version. And it's been confirmed there will be one.

Edited by Drokk, 12 August 2012 - 08:59 PM.


#184 krone6

krone6

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 919 posts

Posted 12 August 2012 - 09:23 PM

View PostDrokk, on 12 August 2012 - 08:57 PM, said:

You're right. I'm sure there's a strong likelihood NCSoft thought it would be a good idea to lie to their shareholders.

By the way, ANet answers to NCSoft..not the other way around. NCSoft wants a console version, there will be a console version. And it's been confirmed there will be one.

Then show me the post by arenanet, the makers of the game. Does the CEO run every aspect of a company? He doesn't. He might tell a person what to do, but in the end it's the person doing the job that's getting it done, not the ceo.

It's also like saying because I told my exployee to go make a time travel device that i'm going to get a time travel device. Doesn't matter how much I want that device, if the person making the device just can't do it then I guess I'm not getting that device. Same in this situation. If for some reason arenanet can't put gw2 on the consoles then they can't put gw2 on the console. They're making the game, not ncsoft. Hopefully you're getting this theme I'm putting into these posts; the theme of the developer > the publisher in terms of the technical side of things.

#185 krone6

krone6

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 919 posts

Posted 12 August 2012 - 09:25 PM

EDIT: No auto double post merg? --.-!!!

View PostTreble, on 12 August 2012 - 05:53 PM, said:

I'm not a fan of consoles, but it's doable.

4 buttons = 4 abilities

Left Trigger + 4 buttons = 4 more abilities

Right Trigger + 4 buttons = 4 more abilities

That's 12 already. There are 2 more trigger buttons and then the joystick buttons. It's doable.



Lol my trusty ol' 24" monitor crapped out on me, so I had to move my 40" 1080p TV in front of my desk to use as a monitor. It's pretty awesome. I don't even know if I should bother buying that 27" 3D LED I always wanted. :D

And then you also need to dodge and move at the same time along with turning fluidly without taking many breaks in between all at the same time with aiming ground aoes, and targeting specific people. That's a lot of things going on at once that'll be hard with a controller. It can be done, sure, but can it be done fluidly without needing to rest every second because it's hard or long to aim a ground aoe or dodge/turn while moving? That, and the controller can't turn very fast. Games use mouse acceleration on consoles often because of that limitation whereas mice can turn very, very fast all the way down to very, very, very slow.

Edited by krone6, 12 August 2012 - 09:26 PM.


#186 Drokk

Drokk

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1117 posts

Posted 12 August 2012 - 09:26 PM

View Postkrone6, on 12 August 2012 - 09:23 PM, said:

Hopefully you're getting this theme I'm putting into these posts; the theme of the developer > the publisher in terms of the technical side of things.
NCSoft is more than the publisher; they own ANet. And they're not going to tell their shareholders there will be a console version unless they know for certain.

But whatever. At this point I just shake my head and chuckle at the denial.

#187 krone6

krone6

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 919 posts

Posted 12 August 2012 - 09:37 PM

View PostDrokk, on 12 August 2012 - 09:26 PM, said:

NCSoft is more than the publisher; they own ANet. And they're not going to tell their shareholders there will be a console version unless they know for certain.

But whatever. At this point I just shake my head and chuckle at the denial.

So ignore my part where I asked for an official post by the developers on this and just be concerned with the publisher. I never denied anything by asking for a source by the developers, I only stated that the makers of the game are just that, they make the game, not publish. Ncsoft could tell tehm to port it over but in the end ncsoft isn't making the game, arenanet is. If arenanet is officially porting it and it's a 100% thing then there should also be a post by then saying this.

#188 krone6

krone6

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 919 posts

Posted 12 August 2012 - 09:39 PM

View PostMallow, on 12 August 2012 - 03:01 PM, said:

I am curious though, when the next generation consoles come (such as the PlayStation 4) will they be backwards compatible? I think it's a great idea myself. Say for example I am going away somewhere for the weekend, and I still wanted to play Guild Wars 2, I could take my console with me because it would be more portable than my PC :). I could perhaps even take the game to a friends console?

Doubt it. When the ps3 came out many ps2 games didn't work. I think it was similar for the other consoles too. That, and I'm sure there were copyright laws getting in the way too or compatibility issues across certain games making it impossible to do or very hard to do.

#189 refer

refer

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 311 posts

Posted 12 August 2012 - 09:43 PM

View Postkrone6, on 12 August 2012 - 09:39 PM, said:

Doubt it. When the ps3 came out many ps2 games didn't work. I think it was similar for the other consoles too. That, and I'm sure there were copyright laws getting in the way too or compatibility issues across certain games making it impossible to do or very hard to do.
When the first PS3 came out, it had a FULL PS2 in it, hardware and all, so there would be the most compatibility. Then they removed that and replace it with emulation, then they removed that, the SACD player and a bunch of other features. There was nothing in the way, just Sony being inept.

#190 krone6

krone6

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 919 posts

Posted 12 August 2012 - 09:48 PM

View Postrefer, on 12 August 2012 - 09:43 PM, said:

When the first PS3 came out, it had a FULL PS2 in it, hardware and all, so there would be the most compatibility. Then they removed that and replace it with emulation, then they removed that, the SACD player and a bunch of other features. There was nothing in the way, just Sony being inept.

I guess I came into the picture late. When the ps3 was new (in the first year kind of new) all I heard was the emulation and how it couldn't play many games. Did they remove that backwards stuff on purpose to sell more ps2 copies in their store?

#191 frags

frags

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 783 posts
  • Location:Punta del Este

Posted 12 August 2012 - 09:50 PM

View PostDream Catcher, on 11 July 2012 - 05:48 PM, said:

Seems legit, curious to see how they manage to do GW2's art style justice on console hardware that is very long in the tooth already.

Perhaps on the new PS4.

#192 refer

refer

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 311 posts

Posted 12 August 2012 - 09:54 PM

View Postkrone6, on 12 August 2012 - 09:48 PM, said:

I guess I came into the picture late. When the ps3 was new (in the first year kind of new) all I heard was the emulation and how it couldn't play many games. Did they remove that backwards stuff on purpose to sell more ps2 copies in their store?
I thought they removed it to lower the cost. Then they kept removing things take it lower and lower. It was one of the most expensive consoles released.

#193 The Comfy Chair

The Comfy Chair

    The best at space

  • Members
  • 5331 posts
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Profession:Elementalist
  • Guild Tag:[TKOT]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 12 August 2012 - 10:14 PM

If consoles had GW2, they wouldn't have WvW and the population of the maps would have to be tiny.

If you've ever seen a 360 try to do any real calculation, you know that it simply wouldn't handle anything like that. It's the reason why RTS games have always had population caps on console.

Current gen consoles will never see GW2 unless it was a heavily watered down version. We know Arenanet don't want to water down their game (from a recent interview in a question about a console version), so no console version. At least not this generation.

Edited by The Comfy Chair, 12 August 2012 - 10:16 PM.

If you want to check if your computer will run GW2, check here.

If you find out you can't and need to think about upgrading or building another, check here.


#194 Metaditon Orions

Metaditon Orions

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Validating
  • 535 posts

Posted 12 August 2012 - 10:24 PM

Well with the next-gen Xbox up for sale on Ebay it is interesting.
next gen xbox is in full testing with kinect 2 and it is working.

I have a feeling next gen systems may have it

we should see next gen systems at CES 2013, GamesCom 2013 may have Guild Wars, not 2012.

#195 SerDrak

SerDrak

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 220 posts
  • Location:Sifhalla
  • Profession:Guardian
  • Guild Tag:[DD]
  • Server:Yak’s Bend

Posted 13 August 2012 - 12:36 AM

View PostTzantza, on 12 August 2012 - 08:35 AM, said:

PC's arrent exactly expensive anymore, unless all you'll settle for is a monster with 2 cpu's ect ect.

So yes, Third World Countries :), Get off the camels back and work for a change,

Oh, look...another dumb post.

There's a sale on reading comprehension at your local shop, you should definitely stop by, pick some up, and try to tackle my post again with your newfound knowledge.

I've got a great PC. Just built it, as a matter of fact. I was referring to a couple of buddies that I know. And guess what? You don't know their situations, you don't know how hard they work, and you don't know how they were brought up financially. Both have part time jobs as both are seniors in high school. They have to pay for their own gas, their own food, and their own entertainment. Their families aren't the wealthiest either. Building a $300-$500 beginner's rig isn't exactly in their budget at the moment.

Boy, oh, boy...people on the internet and their ignorance. Sometimes it's astounding. :surprised:

#196 Sirius

Sirius

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1889 posts
  • Location:Bellevue, WA
  • Guild Tag:[XoO]
  • Server:Stormbluff Isle

Posted 13 August 2012 - 05:10 PM

View PostAristio, on 12 August 2012 - 09:00 AM, said:

PS3s are actually beyond what PCs can do currently and for that reason, there aren't any PS3 emulators available.
Eh... only by a very narrow definition of what a PC can do, and even using that definition, not any more; higher-end Sandy Bridge/Ivy Bridge CPUs will beat a PS3 Cell processor in raw GFLOPS now. Not only that, they don't have to fight the PS3's bottlenecks to do it, and are general-purpose (which means that for problems that can't be massively parallelized, they're a lot faster). Then, once you bring GPU offloading (DirectCompute etc) into the picture, PCs become an order of magnitude faster even for massively parallelized problems - DX11 GPUs are now in the 1-2 TFLOPS range as opposed to the 0.1 that the Cell processor was capable of.

PS3 can still do quite a lot if you use it well, but it has other significant shortcomings for games; no memory capacity to speak of, and the graphics processor is comparable to a GF 7600 GT if I recall, which is a notch below the minimum system requirements for GW2. For that reason I don't expect GW2 to show up on current-gen consoles because too many corners would have to be cut; next-gen is definitely a possibility though, if they follow through with what NCSoft said they'd do.

The emulator issue has a different cause; emulating a different CPU architecture is a very difficult exercise and requires several times the performance of the original CPU itself. We're probably there with PowerPC chips from 2000-2002, but the 360 and PS3 aren't going to be feasible for some time yet. If any of the consoles were x86-based, you could pretty much just run them under a GPU-enabled hypervisor - but they aren't.

Edited by Sirius, 13 August 2012 - 05:11 PM.


#197 Lun

Lun

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 686 posts

Posted 13 August 2012 - 05:16 PM

We shouldn't talk about wether a PC or a PS3 is more powerful.

We should talk about: could Guild Wars 2 work on consoles? And the answer is yes, it could. No issues about gameplay, and definitely no issues about the graphics (GW2's graphics are ok for a mmorpg, but besides that they're average).

Edited by Lun, 13 August 2012 - 05:16 PM.


#198 rukia

rukia

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 601 posts
  • Location:Oregon
  • Profession:Thief
  • Server:Kaineng

Posted 14 August 2012 - 12:39 AM

View PostRandolfRa, on 12 August 2012 - 11:41 AM, said:

And what keeps you from connecting your computer to that screen?

Anyway, I hope this isn't true. It wouldn't bring anything to the game, only take from it as everything would have to be designed the outdated console tech in mind. If it is true, I can still hope it flops.

Putting my desktop out in the living room would be pretty funny. A console simply fits a LOT better.

#199 Red_Falcon

Red_Falcon

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2417 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 01:01 AM

Doubt GW2 will ever come to console, it's mere marketing imo.
Reasons just off the top of my head:

1) PS3's GPU doesn't meet the minimum requirements of GW2. Also, not enough vram. Not doable unless severely, terribly cut.
2) 500v500 WvW on consoles? No.
3) All PC games maker "talk" about console release. Every single one. Most of them don't do it.

#200 krone6

krone6

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 919 posts

Posted 14 August 2012 - 09:11 PM

View Postrukia, on 14 August 2012 - 12:39 AM, said:

Putting my desktop out in the living room would be pretty funny. A console simply fits a LOT better.
Not always true. If you take your time you can hide your computer well and make it blend in. That's assuming you're using a full tower. If you're using an itx computer for htpc use then it's even easier to hide.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users