Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
* * * - - 6 votes

Macros & GW2


  • Please log in to reply
179 replies to this topic

#1 Volterra

Volterra

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Location:Darknet
  • Server:Kodash

Posted 28 July 2012 - 01:04 PM

Are macros officially considered cheating by Arenanet in GW2? I'm just curious because a friend of mine talked about macros & gw2. Never used macros and not planning to do so in the future.
What are your personal thoughts about macros?

What I think is If macros give the player some kind of adavantage over other players I would consider it kind of cheating.

~greetings Volterra

#2 Cyvil

Cyvil

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 233 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 01:10 PM

It depends on the the macro. Technically, gaming mice use macros to map the keys. This is certainly not cheating, but it can be considered an advantage. Want to string a couple of skills together? While that could be advantageous in some cases, it could be a disadvantage in other cases, especially in a game like GW2.

In GW1, the use of macros became botting when a human was not required to perform an action. That, certainly, is cheating.

#3 Healix

Healix

    Seraph Guardian

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 1062 posts
  • Server:Fort Aspenwood

Posted 28 July 2012 - 01:15 PM

The general rule is 1 key press = 1 action. When you start making macros with timers in them, they're counted as scripts/automation/botting. Depending on what you're doing with it though, they may overlook it.

#4 el hefe

el hefe

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1167 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted 28 July 2012 - 01:20 PM

id rather not see combat macro's in the game.  i.e.....

/cast fireball
/cast iceball
/cast shadowball

....all bound to one key so it can be spammed.

i also think the combat wouldnt really work with that type of thing.

but macros for emotes and such would be fine imo,  although i dont know how you could have one without the other.

#5 ulrich mourneblade

ulrich mourneblade

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 01:25 PM

Macros would be ineffective in gw2 due to skill queues. I don't think you can simultaneously perform actions? Maybe. Something like a button to activate all poisons on a thief would work if they are truly instant and don't get queued but that'd be a really poor use of poisons in most cases. Scripting macros are essential small scale botting and rng make gaming boring. I made one for my sub rogue in wow for farming random bg's, it was against toc and boring to boot. I like that they are staying out of gw2

#6 Incendia

Incendia

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 875 posts
  • Location:Location Location
  • Profession:Elementalist
  • Guild Tag:[Eyes]
  • Server:Seafarer’s Rest

Posted 28 July 2012 - 02:23 PM

Macros would be effective.
As an elementalist you have certain spells which combo nicely with other spells that you have. Trouble is that they're in different attunements, and switching between them is sometimes tricky, especially if your trying to do it with pin point accuracy. Of course with practice you can make this much more easier, indeed if I was offered a macro I would refuse it because I'm quite nifty with my attunement changing, it just takes some practice.
But nevertheless a macro would help in that scenario, I guess...

But I'm against them, it just takes the fun away from the game.

#7 PoisonedTea

PoisonedTea

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 216 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 02:31 PM

Macro's make you worst at this game
why would you want them

#8 prism2525

prism2525

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 437 posts
  • Guild Tag:[FoE]
  • Server:Sea of Sorrows

Posted 28 July 2012 - 03:08 PM

The most I would use macros is to change chat channels easily instead of writing /m, /l, /g, etc.

Other than that I'm fine thank you.

#9 Micalovits

Micalovits

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 156 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 03:12 PM

macros for crafting? probaly the only thing i might consider using at all in this game

#10 lujate

lujate

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 428 posts
  • Location:NA
  • Guild Tag:[FDM]
  • Server:Ferguson’s Crossing

Posted 28 July 2012 - 03:14 PM

View Postprism2525, on 28 July 2012 - 03:08 PM, said:

The most I would use macros is to change chat channels easily instead of writing /m, /l, /g, etc.

Other than that I'm fine thank you.
I am also going to map some common chat messages on my number pad.

#11 Gilles VI

Gilles VI

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 3312 posts
  • Location:Belgium
  • Profession:Guardian
  • Guild Tag:[ICE]
  • Server:Far Shiverpeaks

Posted 28 July 2012 - 03:15 PM

View PostMicalovits, on 28 July 2012 - 03:12 PM, said:

macros for crafting? probaly the only thing i might consider using at all in this game

And why would you do that?
You get the most exp from 'discovering' recipes, if you repeat recipes you will get less and less exp from them.

As such most macros will be a very long, expensive way to get your crafting.

#12 majoho

majoho

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 451 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 03:26 PM

View PostVolterra, on 28 July 2012 - 01:04 PM, said:

Are macros officially considered cheating by Arenanet in GW2? I'm just curious because a friend of mine talked about macros & gw2. Never used macros and not planning to do so in the future.
What are your personal thoughts about macros?

What I think is If macros give the player some kind of adavantage over other players I would consider it kind of cheating.

~greetings Volterra
There are no native macros in GW2 so yes it is cheating.

View PostMicalovits, on 28 July 2012 - 03:12 PM, said:

macros for crafting? probaly the only thing i might consider using at all in this game
Why would you need a macro for crafting?

#13 Primal Zed

Primal Zed

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2102 posts
  • Server:Anvil Rock

Posted 28 July 2012 - 03:42 PM

I think macros with a similar API to WoW's macros would be nice.  Hell, the '1' skill for melee is already effectively a castsequence macro.  (Although if they do allow castsequence macros, probably would not be able to toggle it with the 'autocast' feature.)

Could also macro equipment swapping, utility skill swapping, perhaps utility skill use if there are utility skills that can be used simultaneously.  Or even just chat macros: ventrillo server info, standard guild greetings, LFG announcements.

View Postmajoho, on 28 July 2012 - 03:26 PM, said:

Why would you need a macro for crafting?
Who said anything about "needing" a macro?  Point is, with an appropriate API setup, they can be handy while not hurting anyone.

Edited by Primal Zed, 28 July 2012 - 03:43 PM.


#14 majoho

majoho

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 451 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 04:51 PM

View PostPrimal Zed, on 28 July 2012 - 03:42 PM, said:

Who said anything about "needing" a macro?  Point is, with an appropriate API setup, they can be handy while not hurting anyone.
My point was that there is already a "craft all" button.

Anyways the point is moot there wont be any macro support or API of any kind in GW2.

#15 Primal Zed

Primal Zed

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2102 posts
  • Server:Anvil Rock

Posted 28 July 2012 - 04:54 PM

View Postmajoho, on 28 July 2012 - 04:51 PM, said:

My point was that there is already a "craft all" button.

Anyways the point is moot there wont be any macro support or API of any kind in GW2.
"Craft all" isn't the only thing in crafting that macros can be used to support.

You don't know that there will never be any macro support or API of any kind in GW2, and there is no reason to not discuss it.  If you don't want to discuss it, you don't have to.

#16 majoho

majoho

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 451 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 04:58 PM

Argumentative much?

Anything aside from craft all would be automation.

And I'm fairly confident that there won't be any API but the whole native Macro/API is OFF-TOPIC because that's not what the OP is asking about.

#17 Primal Zed

Primal Zed

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2102 posts
  • Server:Anvil Rock

Posted 28 July 2012 - 05:11 PM

View Postmajoho, on 28 July 2012 - 04:58 PM, said:

Argumentative much?

Anything aside from craft all would be automation.

And I'm fairly confident that there won't be any API but the whole native Macro/API is OFF-TOPIC because that's not what the OP is asking about.
Again - if you don't want to discuss this you don't have to.  You keep coming back with dismissive remarks (first with your suggesting that macros aren't needed even though no one talked about needing them, then with your statement that macros won't be useful for crafting because this one very specific feature is already in the game), I will keep retorting them.

Craft all is already automation.  Besides that, macros can also be used to quickly pull mats of a specific subset from the bank, or vendor or put onto the trading post all of a specific crafted item.

edit: Personally I probably wouldn't be inclined to use macros for the crafting in Guild Wars 2.

The OP said to share personal thoughts on macros.  How is talking about macros off topic?  (To be clear, API is just a reference to what set of commands will be available to the macros.)

Edited by Primal Zed, 28 July 2012 - 05:12 PM.


#18 MisterB

MisterB

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 961 posts
  • Location:In your Tyria, breaking your immersion
  • Guild Tag:[Loot]
  • Server:Ehmry Bay

Posted 28 July 2012 - 05:14 PM

View PostVolterra, on 28 July 2012 - 01:04 PM, said:

What I think is If macros give the player some kind of adavantage over other players I would consider it kind of cheating.

This is also ArenaNet's opinion, or it was their general policy in GW1. Neither ANet nor NCSoft were willing to elaborate further.

#19 majoho

majoho

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 451 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 05:14 PM

View PostPrimal Zed, on 28 July 2012 - 05:11 PM, said:

The OP said to share personal thoughts on macros.  How is talking about macros off topic?  (To be clear, API is just a reference to what set of commands will be available to the macros.)

*sigh*

NO, the OP is referring to 3'rd party macros like those on keyboards or software-clickers.

Which should be obvious since there are no native macros.

Edited by majoho, 28 July 2012 - 05:15 PM.


#20 Sleepyx732

Sleepyx732

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 378 posts
  • Location:Rainbow Island
  • Server:Gate of Madness

Posted 28 July 2012 - 05:15 PM

Macros? What better way to dumb down the combat and player skill?

#21 MisterB

MisterB

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 961 posts
  • Location:In your Tyria, breaking your immersion
  • Guild Tag:[Loot]
  • Server:Ehmry Bay

Posted 28 July 2012 - 05:24 PM

View PostSleepyx732, on 28 July 2012 - 05:15 PM, said:

Macros? What better way to dumb down the combat and player skill?

Repeatedly striking the same sequence is not skill; it is mechanical tedium. Reducing that tedium also reduces physical strain. Macros do not need to be restricted to combat.

Edited by MisterB, 28 July 2012 - 05:25 PM.


#22 C50802160

C50802160

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 05:25 PM

idk i can see how macros could be useful like setting up a certain skill rotation, idk you don't really need to move around as much as some people say you do, just watch your health bar and you could probably easily use a skill rotation macro set.

Not really sure where Anet stands on the issue, but macros really don't seem like they give a huge advantage, and really whats the difference between pressing 1,2,2,3,4 or having it automated for you with timers in between -_-

#23 Sleepyx732

Sleepyx732

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 378 posts
  • Location:Rainbow Island
  • Server:Gate of Madness

Posted 28 July 2012 - 05:34 PM

View PostMisterB, on 28 July 2012 - 05:24 PM, said:

Repeatedly striking the same sequence is not skill; it is mechanical tedium. Reducing that tedium also reduces physical strain. Macros do not need to be restricted to combat.

So what is skill? Everybody is "repeatedly striking the same sequence" but every once in a while, you find the oddball doing 1-3-2-5-6-2 instead of 1-2-3-5-6-2.

#24 anzenketh

anzenketh

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 903 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 05:43 PM

If you are going though a sequence to press your skills you are playing the UI not the game. Guild Wars 2 is vary much about playing the game. You may not see this much in the lower levels in BWE 3. But from what I have saw in BWE 1 and the 15-25 area the mobs are not as stupid and repetitive as a lot of pepole think. I also think there is a bit of random in what skills the mob use also. So macros for fighting in rather stupid in Guild Wars 2 and likely to not be effective at all in the higher levels.

As for macros for other things like the trading post or crafting. Crafting I don't see much point due to the craft all and not really much of a delay between crafting and getting the mats required. For the trading post. Yes I would consider that cheating.

#25 Omedon

Omedon

    Seraph Guardian

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 1081 posts
  • Location:Ontario, Canada
  • Guild Tag:[Nox]
  • Server:Tarnished Coast

Posted 28 July 2012 - 05:48 PM

While I love my macro'ed one-button rotations in RIFT, it wouldn't fly in GW2.

Now, for a quick "/salute" button for when rezzed, I'd love some emote macros in GW2!
I'm an opinionated son of a gun!  Feel free to visit my blog, "Tales from the Void: Adventures in gaming whilst siezing Saidin"
http://omedon.tumblr.com/

#26 C50802160

C50802160

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 05:49 PM

View PostSleepyx732, on 28 July 2012 - 05:34 PM, said:

So what is skill? Everybody is "repeatedly striking the same sequence" but every once in a while, you find the oddball doing 1-3-2-5-6-2 instead of 1-2-3-5-6-2.

To be honest there is not a lot of skill involved in this game, sure they give the illusion of skills with dodge and block abilities, but because of the usually harsh cool down on these they are not usuable enough to be very meaningful.

So it does come down to the sequence in which you use your skills, while mr oddball does 1-3xxxx, they are probably not doing enough damage to keep up with someone using an optimal rotation, and that's what it comes down too, people will figure out the optimal rotations and gear that works best with their class and by doing so they can easily do a maximum amount of dps for their class.

The dodge and block are the features that can stop a certain sequence for a short time, but you are also hurting yourself at the same time because you stoped your DPS. The deciding factor for most things later on will be the rng, which involves critical hits, so their is always going to be a random factor that affects everything in game.

The same thing can be said about support abilities, using them in the right sequence can will help with max DPS and survivability, and even then their is a random factor to healing and how effective the boon/conditions are(if they apply or not).

All in all it's not going to be skills that wins out, it will be optimization and a little bit of luck that leads the player to victory, therefore using macros is not really a big deal because of the way the game is set up.

Edit: To sum it up, it's the optimization that is the skill factor, not how fast you press a button

Edited by C50802160, 28 July 2012 - 05:52 PM.


#27 Freelancer604

Freelancer604

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 407 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 08:01 PM

Is there any way to map "/cheer" "/taunt" to a key? Since they dont have binds for the emotes themselves, that would be very handy for more social players.

#28 MisterB

MisterB

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 961 posts
  • Location:In your Tyria, breaking your immersion
  • Guild Tag:[Loot]
  • Server:Ehmry Bay

Posted 28 July 2012 - 08:07 PM

View PostFreelancer604, on 28 July 2012 - 08:01 PM, said:

Is there any way to map "/cheer" "/taunt" to a key? Since they dont have binds for the emotes themselves, that would be very handy for more social players.
Yes, you can make macros for emote chat command entry with a single key with third party software, like AHK.

Edited by MisterB, 28 July 2012 - 08:15 PM.


#29 PatMcGroyne

PatMcGroyne

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 70 posts
  • Location:Ontario
  • Server:Yak’s Bend

Posted 28 July 2012 - 08:34 PM

This game has mechanisms built in so that a macro could never be more efficient than a person and that you could not automate combat using a macro so i really have no problem with it.

#30 majoho

majoho

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 451 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 08:45 PM

View PostMisterB, on 28 July 2012 - 08:07 PM, said:

Yes, you can make macros for emote chat command entry with a single key with third party software, like AHK.

And possibly end up banned.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users