Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
- - - - -

How many of you can actually get GW2 to high performance?

graphics pixels

  • Please log in to reply
292 replies to this topic

#271 Hiromant

Hiromant

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 68 posts
  • Location:Estonia
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 22 August 2012 - 07:06 PM

If people with 5 GHz Ivy Bridge i7-s and overclocked GTX 680-s are dropping into thirties in big fights, I'll go right ahead and call out anyone who says they get 60+ everywhere with rigs half as fast as that. A video, a screenshot with a fraps overlay, anything. As it is now people are spreading false information that others are going to base PC purchases on, end up disappointed and clog tech support forums. I'm just repeating a mod's words here.

The only two people who could maybe pull it off in this thread have quadruple GTX 690-s (nice job spending 2500 € on video cards) and triple GTX 570-s. Even then big fights seem to be CPU-bound so it's plausible. Maybe a few people do enjoy that kind of performance but certainly not half this thread who are "all maxed perfect 60+ everywhere."

Edited by s4nder, 22 August 2012 - 07:20 PM.


#272 Treble

Treble

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2239 posts
  • Server:Stormbluff Isle

Posted 22 August 2012 - 07:10 PM

View Posts4nder, on 22 August 2012 - 06:08 PM, said:

Agreed. I'd like to see any proof of anyone getting 60+ fps on max settings (even without SS) in big events or WvW zergs of 30+ people. Going by this thread, any two year old PC can easily do it.

This thread is not about the biggest fps number you've seen when looking at the ground with vsync off, it's about how low it drops where it matters: big fights. No-one, absolutely no-one in this thread is getting 60+ fps in big zergs and events at this time. The "all maxed perfect everywhere" people are lying to themselves.

I get between 40-60 FPS in large zergs on both my 670 and 580, but I'm not dumb enough to say -no one- gets 60+. No two components are 100% alike. You'd know that if you had any real experience.

It's also funny you say the only people who could do it are quad-SLI or tri-SLI when the game already takes an Ivy Bridge 4.5GHz to ~90% long before it can bring a single 670 to ~90% with VSYNC on. In fact, in zerg situations, GPU usage actually tends to drop (mine goes all the way down to ~60%) while CPU usage maxes out.

But that's beside the point. The point is that people could be getting a consistent 60+ FPS on a single GPU and a good CPU. I would draw the line at anyone saying they get a consistent 60+ FPS unless they have a Xeon or something, and even then I'd be extremely skeptical.

Edited by Treble, 22 August 2012 - 07:23 PM.


#273 Enforcer

Enforcer

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 329 posts
  • Guild Tag:[LW]
  • Server:Crystal Desert

Posted 22 August 2012 - 10:55 PM

View PostTKTindelible, on 22 August 2012 - 07:00 PM, said:

Making baseless assertions about everyone else based on your own limited experiences is a foolish endeavour. The fact that people ARE saying they get 60FPS+ in this instance, and the fact that there are quite a few of them saying that, is a clue. Claiming that they're lying just because >you< don't get 60FPS+ is a madness.

No one is able to get 60-80fps constantly on big wvw fight with a 5 years old computer specs. Sure you can get it on pve, but big wvw fight? No chance getting that at the moment.

The real problem here is that people claiming their ancient pc are able to get this kind of fps all the time. It is really misleading as I've seen some gurus user that planned to buy this game are psyched because their ancient pc are told to be able to run this game "flawlessly".

Edited by Enforcer, 22 August 2012 - 10:57 PM.


#274 Gimiz

Gimiz

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 42 posts
  • Location:(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
  • Guild Tag:[LRT]
  • Server:Fort Ranik

Posted 23 August 2012 - 12:37 PM

View Posts4nder, on 22 August 2012 - 07:06 PM, said:

If people with 5 GHz Ivy Bridge i7-s and overclocked GTX 680-s are dropping into thirties in big fights, I'll go right ahead and call out anyone who says they get 60+ everywhere with rigs half as fast as that.

I have a 5Ghz i7 2700k and a pair of 570s at stock, and my framerate went up and down between 120fps in Lion's Arch caves and 30fps while standing above a crowded castle gate in WvWvW.

The average 'experience' I was having though (I play 95% PvE) was a solid 70-80fps, with 60ish percent of GPU usage. Group events where less framerate-dropping than large WvWvW crowds of course (FPS in the 50's). Maybe those people you're talking about are only into solo PvE ?

EDIT : figures come from fraps, resolution 1920x1080, all settings to high/ultra, no supersampling.

Edited by Gimiz, 23 August 2012 - 01:23 PM.


#275 Samsung934781

Samsung934781

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 66 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 01:18 PM

GTX 470, AMD 6 core CPU (don't know how many the game is using though).  8 GB RAM.  Auto detect puts me at all high settings, but no supersampling.
  Running 40-45 fps in almost all area, including DEs.  Did not do any WvW though.
  Playing with a 1920 x 1200 monitor in windowed mode - so I can use my second monitor for whatever.

#276 Ubung

Ubung

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 110 posts
  • Location:Sheffield
  • Guild Tag:[Brtl]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 23 August 2012 - 05:37 PM

I7 2700k @ 4.4ghz
Gainward GTX 570 Goes like Hell in SLI
8gb DDR3 1866mhz
AsRock Extreme 4 Gen 3
7200 rpm HDD
Windows 7 64 bit upgraded
Latest drivers

Default Nvidia settings with triple buffering on, SLI on nvidia default.
1080p
All settings on high, shadows med, supersampling off, all optional settings on (fxaa, high res models, etc)

30 - 80 fps depending on area. All coming from the Asura starting area. When there were about 15 people in a DE my fps dropped to 30 ish. On my own it stuck at 60 - 80 fps with large drops whenever I saw people. Didnt even bother trying www. Still bad performance for me hoping the driver update fixes it. Along with a few more optimisations by Anet.

#277 zeuseason

zeuseason

    Fahrar Cub

  • New Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 05:42 PM

I didn't have much problem running this game on max hitting 40-60fps.  No wvw tho so that could change a lot.  I was running the game from an older mechanical backup drive and I've since moved it to my main SSD.

EDIT:  I did turn off bloom/blur or w/e cause I really hate that graphical function in any game.  Also, when I hit auto-detect, the game dropped some settings down and went to about 80fps.

i7-3930k 6-core with HT
32gb RAM
ForceGT SSD in Raid 0
Nvidia 560i

Edited by zeuseason, 23 August 2012 - 06:04 PM.


#278 The Comfy Chair

The Comfy Chair

    The best at space

  • Members
  • 5330 posts
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Profession:Elementalist
  • Guild Tag:[TKOT]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 23 August 2012 - 05:50 PM

View PostGimiz, on 23 August 2012 - 12:37 PM, said:

I have a 5Ghz i7 2700k and a pair of 570s at stock, and my framerate went up and down between 120fps in Lion's Arch caves and 30fps while standing above a crowded castle gate in WvWvW.

The average 'experience' I was having though (I play 95% PvE) was a solid 70-80fps, with 60ish percent of GPU usage. Group events where less framerate-dropping than large WvWvW crowds of course (FPS in the 50's). Maybe those people you're talking about are only into solo PvE ?

EDIT : figures come from fraps, resolution 1920x1080, all settings to high/ultra, no supersampling.

Indeed, solo PvE isn't too demanding. Without supersampling, many cards will achieve 40-60fps if backed up by a good CPU.

Aside from that, it takes a beast of a machine to truly max the game (supersampling) well, and even more to stay above 30-40fps in large WvW fights.

GW2 is a very, very variable game by it's nature. So people will give performance figures all over the shop. Only trust figures that have a very good and detailed explanation behind them. I tend to create framerate/time graphs, with explanations of the area and what kind of battles occured if anything usual happened with the framerates at any give point, when i'm actually doing a proper performance post for example.

In a nutshell: if someone says '60fps max' with nothing else. Ignore them or assume that it's the least demanding scenario. Simple. I'd actually go so far as to ignore anyone that doesn't specify if max includes supersampling, because so many people seem to think supersampling doesn't count. It does.

I'd be much happier if people stopped trying to stroke their e-peen by giving numbers that are completely out of scale with what the reality is because they quickly F11'd when sitting somewhere with high FPS anyway, instead giving values of large (20+ player) battles with everything truly turned up to maximum.

Edited by The Comfy Chair, 23 August 2012 - 05:54 PM.

If you want to check if your computer will run GW2, check here.

If you find out you can't and need to think about upgrading or building another, check here.


#279 Draahl

Draahl

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Guild Tag:[RR]
  • Server:Far Shiverpeaks

Posted 23 August 2012 - 05:54 PM

Worst computer in my household is:

i5 3550k
8Gb ram(runnin at 1066Mhz)
SSD Corsair
nvidia 670

This machine runs GW2 with all maxed out, world vs world's zerg made little difference. still had massive fps and no lag what so ever, felt like playing wow (fps wise).

#280 Koolvid

Koolvid

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 05:59 PM

I can't tell if some of you are trolling or what I ran the game perfect in WvW on high settings with only a ATI HD5770 and I see some of you guys struggling with cards that cost double if not triple the $$ mine is. PC is 2-3 years old as well

Edited by Koolvid, 23 August 2012 - 06:01 PM.


#281 Umie

Umie

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 262 posts
  • Guild Tag:[BSW]
  • Server:Stormbluff Isle

Posted 23 August 2012 - 06:04 PM

i'll be running gw2 smooth as silk on i7 920 @ 3.6ghz, gtx 570 and 6gb ddr3

btw, turn on your vsync guys...theres no point having fps over 60, youre just heating up your machine for no reason.

Edited by Umie, 23 August 2012 - 06:05 PM.


#282 dragongit

dragongit

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 67 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 06:09 PM

At the moment in game I can run with relativly high settings, but only get about 20 frames at max. I have a Radion 5850 with 8 GB of RAM. Though I must admit my CPU might be a little dated, it's only 2.8GHz. Should I upgrade that to something higher? Sometimes I just wonder if I should just look ahead to updating everythign at once, instead of a few components up to my mother boards limits. Because according to my specs it's max is a AMD Phenom II X4 965 or something like that. How much of a difference in performance will I see with a better Processor?

#283 ensoriki

ensoriki

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1983 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 06:16 PM

Fx 4170 stock clock speeds
HD 6800 (can't recall if 50 or 70 too lazy to check) stock clock speed.

1920x1080.
Graphic slider rolled up.
was getting a little over 60 fps in calmer area's (63 or so), could drop to 40. When a lot of people gathered in a DE firing off attacks I checked my fps at one point and it said 21. If there's too many people I get a pretty big dip but for general gameplay it's fine.

Edited by ensoriki, 23 August 2012 - 06:17 PM.


#284 Miku Flarestorm

Miku Flarestorm

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 179 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 06:24 PM

I have one question for you guys, does the CPU influence that much graphics?

#285 Exodai

Exodai

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • Guild Tag:[NoX]
  • Server:Far Shiverpeaks

Posted 23 August 2012 - 06:32 PM

View PostMiku Flarestorm, on 23 August 2012 - 06:24 PM, said:

I have one question for you guys, does the CPU influence that much graphics?

In some games yes, especially MMO's.

Edited by Exodai, 23 August 2012 - 06:32 PM.


#286 sm00nie

sm00nie

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 24 August 2012 - 12:38 AM

I was having some weird issues with fps -

I've only played in 3 stress tests so far (no BWEs) and each time I selected the char, while playing a different class to see how I'd like the gameplay. While heading north from the starting area to the lake/swamp where you're tasked with killing the drakes (there's an event up there too), my fps would drop from 60-70 to the low 30's with absolutely nothing going on, but a few people around me. After a little while of noticing the drops, I went to options and re-enabled 60Hz (it was already selected by me) and BAM my fps was back at 60-70 fps. Also, when modifying the graphic options, a lot of the time there was on visible reduction or increase in quality (supersample, subsample, or native showed no gains when selected, although you can see the visual change). However, when I selected a preset the changes were instant and the fps did increase or decrease based on the option selected. It was very weird to see that reselecting options that were already selected increased my framerate or did absolute nothing to it. And the random dips when absolutely nothing was going on was bizarre.

I disabled one GPU as there is no CF support afterwards with no substantial gains or loss. I'm hoping the final build resolves some of these issues.

My specs-
i7 920 @ 4.2GHz
12GB RAM
AMD 6990 @ 930/1420 -- playing at 2560x1600 on High
Installed on SSD (previously a 7200rpm HDD, no gains in fps)

Edited by sm00nie, 24 August 2012 - 12:44 AM.


#287 Esxi

Esxi

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 08:11 PM

Well head-start came and went, what are peoples experiences?

Mine started out well on high settings, then randomly decided to hardware lag massively, so i had to switch down to best performance just to play the game.

I found that after installing the latest nvidia beta drivers (306.02) it's alot better

GTX 570, i7 950 6GB ddr3 ram

Edited by Esxi, 28 August 2012 - 08:12 PM.


#288 majoho

majoho

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 451 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 08:28 PM

My game run s at 60+ all the time (vsync on though).

I7-2600k @ 4.5
ATI 7970 @1920x1200, settings on auto detect which means everything maxed except render sampling which is on "Native".

Edited by majoho, 28 August 2012 - 08:28 PM.


#289 Achrisos

Achrisos

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 431 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 08:41 PM

I run on Alienware laptop with gtx 560m 2.7ghz (3.1 with turbo boost) and 16gb ram and so far iv had about 45 fps in low populated areas abd about 20-25 fps in high populated areas ubut havents really seen much lag per se. Overall i am very happy

#290 geulsae

geulsae

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 110 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 08:43 PM

So GW2 is CPU is heavy?

#291 Protoavis

Protoavis

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 800 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 08:57 PM

I can, but I'm not really worried about graphics, I'm more worried about the client crashing constantly  (seriously it feels like every 10 minutes the thing will crash) , no issue with any other game or app dunno what to do about it :(

#292 ScoutMATH

ScoutMATH

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 257 posts
  • Location:New York City
  • Guild Tag:[MATH]
  • Server:Kaineng

Posted 28 August 2012 - 10:39 PM

anybody tested this on the new AMD A10-5770 APU?

#293 Jaybonaut

Jaybonaut

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 10:41 PM

Wait until you guys try Planetside 2.  The requirements are ridiculous.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: graphics, pixels

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users