Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
- - - - -

How many of you can actually get GW2 to high performance?

graphics pixels

  • Please log in to reply
292 replies to this topic

#61 Angelus359

Angelus359

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 358 posts
  • Location:Illinois

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:24 PM

Quite honestly anything higher than 1600x900 makes of hard for me to read text on larger ui mode. I was able to do that on ultra witha gefirce 260 in bwe3
I can't give you fps because I had adaptive vsync on globally

Edited by Angelus359, 21 August 2012 - 12:27 PM.


#62 Enforcer

Enforcer

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 329 posts
  • Guild Tag:[LW]
  • Server:Crystal Desert

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:26 PM

View PostRamzaBehoulve, on 21 August 2012 - 12:11 PM, said:

I've got a medium rig, 3.5 Ghz 6 cores AMD with a GTX 460. I get 60+ all the time with shadows on low because I don't care about them.

The problem is not only from the game, but the newest hardware drivers being completely off. Even though I'm not a 500+ GTX user, even for me the 304.x+ beta drivers boosted FPS in a lot of beta games I'm playing such as Firefall.

this is the prob here. your game sdttings is not even on high performance(ultra settings). not saying it is you, but most ppl that posted on gurus said thy got 80+ fps with crappy rigs.  this is really misleadin as when ppl read it theyll think just buying your specs is good for ultra when in reality it is not.

ssry for crappy gramar, usonb tab atm

#63 Malik_Vaal

Malik_Vaal

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • Server:Sea of Sorrows

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:30 PM

Im running a i5 2500k @ 4.2Ghz OC with a HD6870 and get constant 60-80fps in PvE dropping to 40fps+ in WvWvW, that's with all settings max w/o SS @ 1920x1080

Edited by Malik_Vaal, 21 August 2012 - 01:10 PM.


#64 RamzaBehoulve

RamzaBehoulve

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 556 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:32 PM

View PostEnforcer, on 21 August 2012 - 12:26 PM, said:

this is the prob here. your game sdttings is not even on high performance(ultra settings). not saying it is you, but most ppl that posted on gurus said thy got 80+ fps with crappy rigs.  this is really misleadin as when ppl read it theyll think just buying your specs is good for ultra when in reality it is not.

ssry for crappy gramar, usonb tab atm

The only difference between the maximum ultra and mine is shadows on low. If I turn on shadows, I'm still around 50-60.

#65 The Comfy Chair

The Comfy Chair

    The best at space

  • Members
  • 5331 posts
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Profession:Elementalist
  • Guild Tag:[TKOT]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:33 PM

View PostEnforcer, on 21 August 2012 - 12:26 PM, said:

this is the prob here. your game sdttings is not even on high performance(ultra settings). not saying it is you, but most ppl that posted on gurus said thy got 80+ fps with crappy rigs.  this is really misleadin as when ppl read it theyll think just buying your specs is good for ultra when in reality it is not.

ssry for crappy gramar, usonb tab atm

Perfectly correct, which is why i call it out all the damn time.

As a mod of the tech support forum, i kind of feel a bit responsible for people actually knowing how the game runs. I have enough real world data, real data, numbers and graphs and shizz, to know how it performs across a good number of setups.So, I know how the game runs in beta, i need to make sure people don't get confused and think a fairly weak system can run ultra because somone made an arm wavey 'oh, my gtx460 maxes the game at 90fps!*) because guess which forum will be hit by a legion of people crying when they can barely scrape by? You guessed it, tech support :P

It also really doesn't help that people give out the nice high numbers to make them feel good. See, i don't care because i know my system is high end at the moment and i also know it's running at it's maximum potential :D

Here's the reality:

Absolute max (real max, supersampling, 1920x1080, everything maxed), gtx670/i5-2500K, 28fps in the swamps in the charr starter area (one of the most demanding PvE places in the beta). Around 45fps in large PvE fights, 65-85 in normal outdoor PvE. WvW varies from 18fps (100 man fights in stonemist castle) to anything up to 100fps based on the number of players.

*With a good number of caveats, because it obviously can't 'max' the game at 1920x1080 at 60fps everywhere.

Edited by The Comfy Chair, 21 August 2012 - 12:42 PM.

If you want to check if your computer will run GW2, check here.

If you find out you can't and need to think about upgrading or building another, check here.


#66 Arutima

Arutima

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:34 PM

I have a core I7 920  with 12 gigs of DDR3 and an HD5870  , wich is a machine i made 3 years ago . It can run Guild Wars 2 at maxed, with constant 60 fps, except during heavy WvW battles , where i get 30-35 FPS.

I will be buying a LGA 1155 Z77 Motherboard with a Core i5  3570k and an HD 7950 very soon . I have seen a huge fps boost from the first stress test (20 fps average) to stress test 8 (60 fps constant in pve)

Edited by Arutima, 21 August 2012 - 12:36 PM.


#67 Kayda

Kayda

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:34 PM

My machine isnt super beast but I get roughly around 50-60 fps with everything maxed, except super sampling*, constantly. I havent tried any huge WvWvW matches yet though. Running a quad core i5 2500k with a 560 2gig card - 8 gigs of ram.


* When I turn on super sampling it drops to around 40ish.

Edited by Kayda, 21 August 2012 - 12:39 PM.


#68 The Comfy Chair

The Comfy Chair

    The best at space

  • Members
  • 5331 posts
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Profession:Elementalist
  • Guild Tag:[TKOT]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:40 PM

View PostKayda, on 21 August 2012 - 12:34 PM, said:

My machine isnt super beast but I get roughly around 50-60 fps with everything maxed, except super sampling, constantly. I havent tried any huge WvWvW matches yet though. Running a quad core i5 2500k with a 560 2gig card - 8 gigs of ram.

See, this right here is much better. Still not perfect, since we have to assume they mean normal PvE and at 1920x1080, but the fact that they're quite happy to say 'super sampling is off' as opposed to saying 'oh yeah, absolute max, yo' is helpful :)


View PostArutima, on 21 August 2012 - 12:34 PM, said:

I have a core I7 920  with 12 gigs of DDR3 and an HD5870  , wich is a machine i made 3 years ago . It can run Guild Wars 2 at maxed, with constant 60 fps, except during heavy WvW battles , where i get 30-35 FPS.

I will be buying a LGA 1155 Z77 Motherboard with a Core i5  3570k and an HD 7950 very soon . I have seen a huge fps boost from the first stress test (20 fps average) to stress test 8 (60 fps constant in pve)

And this :) I'm assuming 1920x1080 again, but that performance is bang on what i expect too.

A lot of the problem in GW2 is the CPU aspect (unless you turn on SS).

Edited by The Comfy Chair, 21 August 2012 - 12:41 PM.

If you want to check if your computer will run GW2, check here.

If you find out you can't and need to think about upgrading or building another, check here.


#69 Kayda

Kayda

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:42 PM

View PostThe Comfy Chair, on 21 August 2012 - 12:40 PM, said:

See, this right here is much better. Still not perfect, since we have to assume they mean normal PvE and at 1920x1080, but the fact that they're quite happy to say 'super sampling is off' as opposed to saying 'oh yeah, absolute max, yo' is helpful :)




And this :) I'm assuming 1920x1080 again, but that performance is bang on what i expect too.


Yes, normal PVE and yep 1920x1080. :)   Havent run in to any FPS drops during big DE's yet either, but I have not tried WvW, which I hear can be pretty demanding.

Edited by Kayda, 21 August 2012 - 12:43 PM.


#70 Draczeq

Draczeq

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 114 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:45 PM

Can I hijack topic a little :angel: ? What's the deal with supersampling? For who or what is ti worth it? For small resolution or for big ones?

#71 The Comfy Chair

The Comfy Chair

    The best at space

  • Members
  • 5331 posts
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Profession:Elementalist
  • Guild Tag:[TKOT]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:45 PM

View PostKayda, on 21 August 2012 - 12:42 PM, said:

Yes, normal PVE. :)   Havent run in to any FPS drops during big DE's yet either, but I have not tried WvW, which I hear can be pretty demanding.

After around 25 participants, DE performance tends to start going south. Before that point it's usually ok. It also depends on the area :) If the area is a built up one, you can end up with a lot of players on screen even though you're only in a small scale event.

WvW varies hugely. In normal sieges and fights, it's not too evil. About as much as a decent PvE event. But with the absolutely insane fights, performance tends to quickly collapse. It's not ridiculously bad for what's happening on screen though.


View PostDraczeq, on 21 August 2012 - 12:45 PM, said:

Can I hijack topic a little :angel: ? What's the deal with supersampling? For who or what is ti worth it? For small resolution or for big ones?

It renders the frame at a much bigger resolution and scales it down as a form of antialiasing.

In a nutshell: don't use it unless you have a gtx670/hd7950 or above. It's really not worth the hit.

Edited by The Comfy Chair, 21 August 2012 - 12:47 PM.

If you want to check if your computer will run GW2, check here.

If you find out you can't and need to think about upgrading or building another, check here.


#72 Naevius

Naevius

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 675 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:47 PM

I can run at max settings and get about 45 fps.

#73 cesmode

cesmode

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 313 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:47 PM

I run a very meager Q6600 2.4 OC'd to 3.0ghz
8 gig DDR2 Ram
Nvidia GTX 460

I run on max.  At times my frames dropped to about 25-30 but I hardly ever noticed it.  Most of the time I saw 50+

#74 Bogey

Bogey

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:47 PM

Running GW2 with i3-2120 3.3GHz, 8GB, GTX550Ti, 1920x1080, all medium (except textures high), FXAA on, sampling Default, post-processing Low. Had about 30-45 FPS in high population areas, 60 FPS less populated (V-sync on).

Edited by Bogey, 21 August 2012 - 12:51 PM.


#75 Lethality

Lethality

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2376 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:48 PM

View PostErenod, on 21 August 2012 - 12:14 PM, said:

i have no problems at all too, tri-sli 580 gtx hydro copper. 60-70 fps even in zergz.

Sorry, not buying it.

#76 Walrammetje

Walrammetje

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 99 posts
  • Location:Amsterdam

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:51 PM

I ran at about 60 fps with 20 people spamming spells around me in Divinity's Reach.

CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T (6 CPU's) ~3.2 GHz
GPU:  AMD Radeon HD 6870 - 2803 MB   1920x1080 resolution
4GB Ram

Edit: With everything turned to High except for shadows.

Edited by Walrammetje, 21 August 2012 - 12:52 PM.


#77 Eldaran

Eldaran

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 540 posts
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Server:Jade Quarry

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:53 PM

I have been running on default settings on my laptop and the game never lags. I haven't pushed the max out of my hardware because I just wanted to play during the events. At release I will see how high I can get the graphics up.

#78 Beta Sprite

Beta Sprite

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1325 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin, USA
  • Server:Jade Quarry

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:53 PM

i5-2500k
Sapphire Radeon HD6870
8GB RAM
1440x900 (I know, I know, but that's the max resolution on my monitor)

Runs at a consistently high FPS at max.  I've never noticed any skipping, and have been in a few WvW battles of 20+ players on each side.  I may have conditioned myself to ignore skips in large fights, though.  =/

#79 Starcaller Welinos

Starcaller Welinos

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 571 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:54 PM

I was getting about 45-50 fps with my GTX 570 and i7 920. Will probably overclock my CPU and try to overclock my GPU.

Running everything maxed and at 1920x1080.

Edited by Starcaller Welinos, 21 August 2012 - 12:55 PM.


#80 Nabbis

Nabbis

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 553 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in Tyria
  • Guild Tag:[FI]
  • Server:Desolation

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:55 PM

Intel i7 2600k,
Amd Radeon hd 6970,
Asus p8p67 motherboard,
hyperx 2x4GB Ram
Win 7 premium 64-bit

Running on all max with resolution 1920x1080, vsync on, 60 fps most the time dips under 50 if HUGE zerg and I am talking about 60-80 ppl.
I have noticed some server side lag but nothing serious when it runs as it should run.  and I am now Talking about the performance on bwes not stress test the server side load affects too much on the performance.

#81 Linfang

Linfang

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2362 posts
  • Location:Ohio
  • Guild Tag:[GSCH]
  • Server:Sanctum of Rall

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:59 PM

I will give you some tips to maximize your performance, The trick is everyone has a different system and can tolerate a certain FPS to consider it good or bad.  I have the game auto detect my video settings first. This acts as your baseline to see where your system falls in terms of where to work. From there I slowly notch up each setting and running around in a major city or conjested area, moving it to best quality per fps I perfer and I am done.

#82 Dahk

Dahk

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 797 posts
  • Server:Tarnished Coast

Posted 21 August 2012 - 01:03 PM

Nope, can't run on the highest.  Using an AMD Phenom 1045T with an old school radeon that's about 5 years old and 8 gigs of ram.  The game runs well enough, but just won't hit max.

#83 Abbadoom

Abbadoom

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 110 posts
  • Location:Houston Tx

Posted 21 August 2012 - 01:04 PM

View PostRaoulDukeHST, on 21 August 2012 - 10:31 AM, said:

just wait for the optimization,also new gpu drivers will be released a few weeks after release with gw2 improvements

This is the correct answer.  I thought about starting a thread, something along the lines of, "Everyone wanting to build/upgrade", and would include people with performance questions, with the tag line, "Just Wait".  I decided, however, that all the building and upgrading is generally a good thing, and should just keep my possibly contentious opinion to myself.  The truth is, for everyone who wants to know, "how will my computer run GW2", "Do I need an upgrade", etc., etc., etc., we simply don't know.  Everything we're discussing up to now is speculation.

#84 scythra

scythra

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Location:Finland
  • Server:Seafarer’s Rest

Posted 21 August 2012 - 01:07 PM

Intel i7 2600k
Geforce 560ti
8gb ram
win 7 64 bit

The game runs flawlessly (60+fps, no dips at all). I have most of the settings at high, some shaders and shadows medium/low. Vsync off, can't use it - lags my mouse.

#85 Nubynuberson

Nubynuberson

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 39 posts
  • Server:Maguuma

Posted 21 August 2012 - 01:12 PM

I use a laptop with:

intel core i7-3610 qm
16gig ram
gtx 670m

I run the game on max settings with 60+ fps

#86 mitz

mitz

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 52 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 01:13 PM

my desktop rig is an intel quadcore (can't remember the speed, was from about three years ago so probably bout 2.4 ish) on a gigabyte MB, with 4gig ram and a geforce 460. not exactly cutting edge hardware but it does okay on GW2, i was running on near-ultra settings (think it was very high setting) and had it ran like a dream, only really chugging in large WvW.

i know another guy with an amazing new custom built rig, and he claims it stutters during DEs for him.

the game's awesome but so weirdly optimised. ^_^

#87 Tallenn

Tallenn

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 570 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Guild Tag:[VII]
  • Server:Tarnished Coast

Posted 21 August 2012 - 01:26 PM

I'm playing at 1080 with the slider all the way over to the right. I typically get more than 50 fps, unless I'm both in a very crowded area AND recording at the same time. It has dropped to less than 30, but only while recording (using Bandicam).

i5 2500K (not OC)
GTX 560 Ti

#88 Ickz

Ickz

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 01:26 PM

3770k @ 4.5ghz, gtx460 @ 850mhz core, 1920x1080

In the last stress I was running everything at max except no reflections (since thats a huge fps hit for what seemed like little visual gain) and averaging around 70-90 fps which is already pretty good. My gtx 660ti is being delivered on the 23rd... so yeah, I won't be having any performance issues at all :D

edit: Oh, wasn't using supersampling, but rather FXAA. Honestly though, why would you using supersampling even if you had 690s in sli. The little visual gain isn't worth the MASSIVE performance loss

Edited by Ickz, 21 August 2012 - 01:31 PM.


#89 Matsy

Matsy

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 3105 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Guild Tag:[zzZ]
  • Server:Desolation

Posted 21 August 2012 - 01:28 PM

i5 2500k @ 4.2ghz, asus 560ti @ 900mhz core

Dipped down to 40fps in massive WvW zergs 60+ everywhere else.

#90 Blixcoe

Blixcoe

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 924 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 01:29 PM

Full and best on everything, perfect and no problems :)





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: graphics, pixels

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users