• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 iDGames

iDGames

Pale Tree Seedling

• New Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 August 2012 - 09:37 PM

Okay, after having read tons of topics in different forums about the ranger and how to play the ranger as a solo build, I might actually be even more confused than I was before. Simple enough reason for me to create a topic, in which I hopefully get plain answers for me - I'm a total newbie.  
Oh and I didn't take part in any of the beta weekends, so please don't blame me for not knowing anything. :angel:

My plan is to play solo, mainly (only?) ranged with a bow, and I want a cute little pet!

I'll just start with a few questions:
- Long bow vs. short bow?
- Is it necessary to have an alternative weapon switch like a sword? Or can I easily play with a bow only?
- I can have two pets, did I understand that correctly? The bear seems to be highly praised, but what should be my second pet?
- Isn't there a simple pre-made build for a total beginner GW2 and ranger player? I mean, I don't want to focus on switching skills and using complex tactics too much, else my head is gonna explode. I need something plain and simple - shoot 'n' run lol :ph34r:  (and enjoy of course!)

That's it. Well, I'm pretty sure I'm gonna have more questions soon, but let's just stop for now. Please don't be mad at me. I've never played an MMORPG and thus all that's just Greek to me. :wacko:
And thanks in advance!

#2 Paronine

Paronine

Vanguard Scout

• Members
  • 478 posts

Posted 24 August 2012 - 10:00 PM

1. Longbow is better for straight damage, Shortbow for conditions.  Longbow is also better for sniping from range, and it has a much slower attack speed.  Shortbow can be used for mobility, as the auto-attack requires you to flank the enemy in order to be most effective.