Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
* * * * * 4 votes

Guild Wars 2 crashes quite frequently


  • Please log in to reply
236 replies to this topic

#31 Butr0sButr0s

Butr0sButr0s

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 112 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA, USA

Posted 26 August 2012 - 06:04 PM

For people having the original problem - the screen locks with the music still playing (and you can alt-ctrl-del terminate the process), my friend said you can increase your playtime by lowering the graphics options.  He played the whole day on low without a problem, can get a few hours on medium, and only 30 minutes or so on high/max.  His problem appears to be a win32 bit error as someone else with a similar setup and x64 has no issues.

#32 Leorio

Leorio

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 26 August 2012 - 06:42 PM

View PostCowgba, on 26 August 2012 - 05:47 PM, said:

I'm having the exact same issue. PC specs:

Windows 7 64-bit
i5 3570-K 3.4Ghz
16GB DDR3
GeForce 9800GT (I know, I need to upgrade :P)

During beta I could play the game just fine for hours on end with most settings maxed at 1920x1200. I was actually surprised at how smooth (~40fps) and how stable it was, even with my dinosaur video card. Fast forward to the headstart, I was able to play windowed with many other windows up (2 browsers each with around 10 tabs, itunes, IM windows, etc) for around 2 hours. After the first hour or so I closed out my other windows and fullscreened the game and it continued to run stable despite getting into some heated WvW battles.

Then last night I went to play again and for some reason I started getting weird video artifacts. I dropped the settings a bit and it seemed to stop them for a while, then they came back worse than before. Suddenly my whole screen went various shades of blue and green and then went dark. A message popped up stating that the video driver had crashed and recovered and then I was able to play again. A few minutes later the same thing happened, then my screen turned into a tiny checkered pattern and the game crashed with another video driver recovery notice.

I tried installing the latest beta drivers as suggested by Anet but the issue persisted and then I started getting the "memory at 00000000 could not be read" errors. Did anyone else get video artifacting before the game crashed? Or is my video card finally giving up the ghost on top of the apparent memory leak issues? If nothing else, I guess maybe it's an excuse to finally upgrade it.

had a few graphic problems on the Fullscreen Map and after that I crashed with said 0000000 error ... but didn't get that video driver recovery notice

#33 Beast521

Beast521

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 26 August 2012 - 07:35 PM

View PostButr0sButr0s, on 26 August 2012 - 06:04 PM, said:

For people having the original problem - the screen locks with the music still playing (and you can alt-ctrl-del terminate the process), my friend said you can increase your playtime by lowering the graphics options.  He played the whole day on low without a problem, can get a few hours on medium, and only 30 minutes or so on high/max.  His problem appears to be a win32 bit error as someone else with a similar setup and x64 has no issues.

Jup, I've done the same today, and the game runs smoothly without crashes.. However changing areas still makes me crash.
So, I guess this topic is solved: keep the graphics lower and dont run anything unnessecairy. Still, I hope the next driver or any patch of some sorts makes the game use less memory, as I've never had problems untill now.
Thanks for the replies :)

#34 Kertigen

Kertigen

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 August 2012 - 08:39 PM

I'm having the exact same issues with EVGA 560ti.  I updated to the beta drivers like the game wanted me to, but I'm still getting the crashes often.  It always happens when I take a waypoint or switch zones.  If I'm in a major city it happens a lot more often. Seems like a 500 series Nvidia issue, so hopefully it'll be fixed.

#35 Cailais

Cailais

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 349 posts

Posted 26 August 2012 - 08:59 PM

View PostBeast521, on 26 August 2012 - 07:35 PM, said:


Jup, I've done the same today, and the game runs smoothly without crashes.. However changing areas still makes me crash.
So, I guess this topic is solved: keep the graphics lower and dont run anything unnessecairy. Still, I hope the next driver or any patch of some sorts makes the game use less memory, as I've never had problems untill now.
Thanks for the replies :)

Even running with all gfx options at low, my client still frequently crashes.  Its definitely a Nvidia driver issue and its by no means solved.

C.

#36 Beast521

Beast521

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 26 August 2012 - 09:12 PM

View PostCailais, on 26 August 2012 - 08:59 PM, said:

Even running with all gfx options at low, my client still frequently crashes.  Its definitely a Nvidia driver issue and its by no means solved.

C.

If so, than keep your hopes up. A Guild Wars 2 specific driver in the 305.xx series is coming out soon.

Edited by Beast521, 27 August 2012 - 01:53 PM.


#37 theriel

theriel

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 01:01 PM

I am using AMD Radeon and I have the same problem... the difference being - the screen turns black, music locks, keyboard and mouse lock and hard reset is the only solution....

Thus, not necessarily a problem with nvidia driver.

#38 Beast521

Beast521

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 01:53 PM

The new driver is out: rumple9 posted a new thread for it, downloading now to see if it fixes the problem :D
http://www.guildwars...released-today/

#39 Alodar

Alodar

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Guild Tag:[TSL]
  • Server:Tarnished Coast

Posted 27 August 2012 - 02:08 PM

I was having the exact same issues with crashing all the time and had read this thread.  I noticed that the MAJORITY of the people had Windows 32bit and everyone that I talked with Windows 7 64bit was fine so I switched over yesterday and now everything runs fine and I haven't had a crash since.

I'm positive the crash is memory related, and since 32bit drastically limits the amount of ram you'll actually use, it hits 32 bit users very fast.  That's why so many people were crashing once you'd load a new zone.

I had updated to the 304.79 drivers yesterday as well.

#40 Eburk

Eburk

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  • Profession:Thief
  • Guild Tag:[TUNA]
  • Server:Blackgate

Posted 27 August 2012 - 02:17 PM

View PostAlodar, on 27 August 2012 - 02:08 PM, said:

I was having the exact same issues with crashing all the time and had read this thread.  I noticed that the MAJORITY of the people had Windows 32bit and everyone that I talked with Windows 7 64bit was fine so I switched over yesterday and now everything runs fine and I haven't had a crash since.

I'm positive the crash is memory related, and since 32bit drastically limits the amount of ram you'll actually use, it hits 32 bit users very fast.  That's why so many people were crashing once you'd load a new zone.

I had updated to the 304.79 drivers yesterday as well.

How'd you switch over to 64bit?

#41 Anarch12911

Anarch12911

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 04:40 PM

View PostBeast521, on 27 August 2012 - 01:53 PM, said:

The new driver is out: rumple9 posted a new thread for it, downloading now to see if it fixes the problem :D
http://www.guildwars...released-today/

And? Anything to report?

#42 charbog

charbog

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 97 posts
  • Location:Romania
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 27 August 2012 - 05:12 PM

1 more crash today ....when i was getting out of hom, i see it happens when i travel a lot  ,do devs at least watch this forum nowadays

#43 klmurphy

klmurphy

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 05:30 PM

I was crashing a lot due to Out of Memory errors.  I've done three things today.


1. I downloaded the newest beta drivers (shown by Beast521 above)
2. Did a repair on the GW2 files.  (http://en.support.gu...d-wars-2-client)
3. I am now running the game as administrator.

No crashes yet.  I'll post again if I see any crashes.

#44 King Lycan

King Lycan

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • Location:Maryland, USA
  • Server:Far Shiverpeaks

Posted 27 August 2012 - 05:31 PM

I've been getting this every time I play can't even play for an hour :qq:

Quote

*--> Crash <--*
Assertion: A file was corrupted in the archive. Please run *once* with '-repair'!
File: ..\..\..\Game\Main\MainCli.cpp(510)

  


#45 Beast521

Beast521

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 06:08 PM

View PostAlodar, on 27 August 2012 - 02:08 PM, said:

I was having the exact same issues with crashing all the time and had read this thread.  I noticed that the MAJORITY of the people had Windows 32bit and everyone that I talked with Windows 7 64bit was fine so I switched over yesterday and now everything runs fine and I haven't had a crash since.

I'm positive the crash is memory related, and since 32bit drastically limits the amount of ram you'll actually use, it hits 32 bit users very fast.  That's why so many people were crashing once you'd load a new zone.

I had updated to the 304.79 drivers yesterday as well.

Jup, that seems to be the problem.
I'm switching over in a few weeks aswell.
Still, I don't like the fact I had no problems before the actual launch, which is a little disappointing.
Anyways, maybe a little off-topic, but the beta drivers pushed my fps to 125, showing my pc can handle this game fine, if it weren't for the memory :P

Edited by Beast521, 27 August 2012 - 06:09 PM.


#46 Leorio

Leorio

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 08:04 PM

Installed the newest beta drivers today, crashes got a "bit" better meaning they don't occur that much anymore but they still exit ... gw2.exe crashse and game freezes ... same ol' memory stuff

#47 DrMedRasen

DrMedRasen

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 8 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Server:Riverside

Posted 27 August 2012 - 08:12 PM

I experienced some crashes at the weekend too. Closing all my youtube videos I still had opened in my Firefox solved the problem for me. I also experienced this problem with youtube videos sometimes affecting performance or crashing games in other games on multiple computers. Hope I could help.

#48 Bubble5

Bubble5

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 08:22 PM

I figured it out! (I think)

I went into my settings this morning and changed character animation to low. All day un-interrupted gameplay. Not a single crash, even with fast travel.

#49 Leorio

Leorio

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 08:25 PM

View PostBubble5, on 27 August 2012 - 08:22 PM, said:

I figured it out! (I think)

I went into my settings this morning and changed character animation to low. All day un-interrupted gameplay. Not a single crash, even with fast travel.
thats prolly because the is fewer stress on your memory since you lowered your settings - people reported that they could play longer if they turn down their settings

#50 charbog

charbog

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 97 posts
  • Location:Romania
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 27 August 2012 - 08:26 PM

View PostBubble5, on 27 August 2012 - 08:22 PM, said:

I figured it out! (I think)

I went into my settings this morning and changed character animation to low. All day un-interrupted gameplay. Not a single crash, even with fast travel.

i am low on everything and i still crash :(, but yea i can play a little longer

Edited by charbog, 27 August 2012 - 08:27 PM.


#51 Anarch12911

Anarch12911

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 10:15 PM

I've changed my settings from balanced to fully low and I can play most all day without a single crash now... even WvW works fine. It could be the animation details or something else. (I was suspecting using low texture settings causes less memory of the graphics card to be used).

#52 js3b

js3b

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 10:28 PM

I am running Windows 7 64-bit and I crash ALL THE TIME.  Usually, I will only get a couple minutes of play before the game crashes.  I just upgraded to the beta 3.06 nvidia driver.  It did not help.  Also tried the repair; didn't do anything.

I am running with graphics all the way up (powerful PC and video card).  Based on the comments here, I'll turn it down and see if that helps.

Edited by js3b, 28 August 2012 - 12:21 AM.


#53 charbog

charbog

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 97 posts
  • Location:Romania
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 27 August 2012 - 11:29 PM

View Postklmurphy, on 27 August 2012 - 05:30 PM, said:

I was crashing a lot due to Out of Memory errors.  I've done three things today.


1. I downloaded the newest beta drivers (shown by Beast521 above)
2. Did a repair on the GW2 files.  (http://en.support.gu...d-wars-2-client)
3. I am now running the game as administrator.



No crashes yet.  I'll post again if I see any crashes.

for me it worked , i did everything u did + i thick the vs sync played almost 4h and did everything which ussualy gets me crashed, ty very much

Edited by charbog, 27 August 2012 - 11:29 PM.


#54 Fiera

Fiera

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 9 posts
  • Location:Northants, UK
  • Guild Tag:[iB]
  • Server:Piken Square

Posted 28 August 2012 - 12:11 AM

I had a friend have this issue, he re-downloaded the client (complete fresh install), got himself the newer drivers and it was okay after that. May just have been fluke though...

#55 Eburk

Eburk

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  • Profession:Thief
  • Guild Tag:[TUNA]
  • Server:Blackgate

Posted 28 August 2012 - 02:11 AM

Just posting to say the new drivers haven't helped. I may try to do the admin/repair thing, and maybe reinstall tonight. Guess we'll see...

#56 js3b

js3b

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 04:09 AM

When I set the graphics option to "best performance" (most settings "low"), I stopped having crashes.  Try this first.  Repair didn't help.  Windows 7 64-bit didn't help.  Nvidia beta 3.06 drivers didn't help.

I'm going to step up to "medium" and see if I remain stable.

Edited by js3b, 28 August 2012 - 04:11 AM.


#57 Ferretti

Ferretti

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 05:21 AM

I'd also like to say i'm still having trouble. running win 7 64 bit, have the new 3.06 beta nvidia drivers, freshly re-installed gw2, i've tried moving gw2.exe and .tmp to a different folder, i've tried switching the .exe to .exe.bk then the .tmp to .exe and running, i've lowered the graphics to minimum and medium, lowered my UAC to the bottom, disabled my evga precision overlays (then uninstalled it completely), changed the target to -repair and repaired the files.
I also crash randomly, there is no set pattern. Big boss battles, WvW, walking through a forest, being AFK and just coming back to a computer crash log.

I've done everything in the above paragraph and it hasn't changed frequency to the crashing, but i read them in other forums that it did in fact help other people, so if you're having any trouble try the things i have, and you might be lucky. good luck!

Win7 64-bit
GTX 560 2gb
8 gb Ram
i5 3570k 3.40ghz

#58 Trader

Trader

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 10:54 AM

This is bullshit, I am in almost the identical situation as the guy above. I also have Win 7 64bit and the new NVIDIA drivers. My comp should be more than powerful enough to handle this game. It's not overheating at all. I crash after every several minutes upon logging in.

Win7 64bit
GTX 560 2gb
12 GB Ram
i7 CPU 960 ~ 3.2GHz

I'm not even going to consider playing this game on low. The problem is clearly not with my hardware. I play many many other games on max settings and have never experienced a similar problem.

#59 Athos

Athos

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 10:55 AM

Me 2, same problem, hoping for patch fix currently

#60 ocirne23

ocirne23

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 570 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 28 August 2012 - 11:14 AM

Same problem, completely reinstalled pc with nothing on it but drivers and GW2.

OC'd 560TI
2500k @ 4.2
4gb
GW2 on SSD.

After I updated my bios i got significantly less memory errors/bluescreens but it still crashes at times.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users