Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
* * * * * 4 votes

Guild Wars 2 crashes quite frequently


  • Please log in to reply
235 replies to this topic

#61 Leorio

Leorio

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 11:37 AM

Support finally answered today and what I got was a plain copy and paste message with all kinds of solutions for pretty much everything from E-Mail confirmations to Log In Errors but nothing concerning our error/s .. wrote back again and asked for an in-depth solution but my guess is unless they significantely redudce the number of incoming tickets I won't get a decent answer ...

#62 klmurphy

klmurphy

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 11:53 AM

Just wanted to follow up.  Doing the three steps I outlined on page 2 reduced my crashes, but did not eliminate them.  I was playing for 5+ hours on highest settings and only crashed 3 times.

Still not fixed though.  Like the poster above I got a copy/paste response to my ticket.  But I escalated it.  Hopefully we get a more detailed answer soon.

#63 Moonlighteknight

Moonlighteknight

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 12:03 PM

I'm still having the same issue too, I've exhausted all options I can try and give up.
I think the only thing we can do now is wait to see what they come up with as a solution.
I don't crash as much as I use to but I'm also playing with everything on low.

#64 Leorio

Leorio

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 12:08 PM

View PostMoonlighteknight, on 28 August 2012 - 12:03 PM, said:

I'm still having the same issue too, I've exhausted all options I can try and give up.
I think the only thing we can do now is wait to see what they come up with as a solution.
I don't crash as much as I use to but I'm also playing with everything on low.
tried everything too and to no avail ... kind of sucks but I'm not upgrading to 64bit or buying a new card -_-

#65 Eburk

Eburk

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  • Profession:Thief
  • Guild Tag:[TUNA]
  • Server:Blackgate

Posted 28 August 2012 - 01:18 PM

I received a response to my ticket yesterday. They asked for a bunch more additional information, including crash logs, a Game Advisor test, and my install path. From the email, it sounds like they sent this message to a large number of people. Hoping I'll hear more in the next couple of days.

I'm really hoping they get the forums up and running, as then maybe some mods will really take notice of the issue.

#66 Leorio

Leorio

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 01:59 PM

View PostEburk, on 28 August 2012 - 01:18 PM, said:

I received a response to my ticket yesterday. They asked for a bunch more additional information, including crash logs, a Game Advisor test, and my install path. From the email, it sounds like they sent this message to a large number of people. Hoping I'll hear more in the next couple of days.

I'm really hoping they get the forums up and running, as then maybe some mods will really take notice of the issue.
keep us up to date mate ; ) !

#67 charbog

charbog

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 97 posts
  • Location:Romania
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 28 August 2012 - 07:18 PM

View Postklmurphy, on 27 August 2012 - 05:30 PM, said:

I was crashing a lot due to Out of Memory errors.  I've done three things today.


1. I downloaded the newest beta drivers (shown by Beast521 above)
2. Did a repair on the GW2 files.  (http://en.support.gu...d-wars-2-client)
3. I am now running the game as administrator.

No crashes yet.  I'll post again if I see any crashes.

View Postcharbog, on 27 August 2012 - 11:29 PM, said:

for me it worked , i did everything u did + i thick the vs sync played almost 4h and did everything which ussualy gets me crashed, ty very much

nvm i crashed again after they update(build)....ty anet


btw they responded my e-mail and they said to use game advisor....and select guild wars 2 it doesnt even have gw2  Oo wtf

Edited by charbog, 28 August 2012 - 07:37 PM.


#68 yoshie

yoshie

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 09:03 PM

Just registered to follow up on this thread. Same problem as everyone else but I think I figured out what causes it. I have my task manager opened while playing GW2 and I noticed a pattern which is exactly what everyone else is saying. As soon as GW2.exe exceeds 1.5GB of memory use, it automatically crashes.

If you stay in one zone, memory usage is only about 1.2-1.3GB depending on amount of people. So you can definitely play for hours on end if you stay in the same zone with ample amount of people. But if you fast travel a lot to different zones, it would definitely crash. For example, if I fast traveled to Mists, then run to Lion's Arch and then fast-travel to the starting-zone portal waypoint, it almost always hits 1.5GB and crashes.

Not sure why however which I'm still trying to figure out.

So far I've tried:
1. Beta Drivers
2. GW2 Repair
3. Administrative Mode
4. Ending all programs / chrome

Maybe moving the GW2 to my C:/ might correct it? Anyone have this problem and have GW2 on their main drive?

Edited by yoshie, 28 August 2012 - 09:04 PM.


#69 ocirne23

ocirne23

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 569 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 28 August 2012 - 09:32 PM

I seemed to have fixed it... by overclocking my cpu and memory...

It makes no sense but I got rid of the constant crashing.

#70 ChanCake

ChanCake

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 09:36 PM

View PostMoonlighteknight, on 26 August 2012 - 02:37 PM, said:

I'm having the exact same issue. I crashed to the desktop 15 times yesterday and I've spend almost as much time trying to fix it as I have playing the game.
The first 12 times it crashed it went staight to the desktop and the Guild Wars box appears and tells me I've just had a major crash, and to click here to send to them with the option to put additional information in it if I'd like to.
I updated my video drivers, scanned for virus/spyware, checked internal termp, rebooted countless times, did a memory test for faulty ram, checked and saw ram running about about 75% usage while playing, re-installed, and greatly reduced the video settings. Once the video settings were reduced it no longer crashes to desktop, now it just freezes but I can cntl+alt+del out of it.

Q6600 2.4
Vista 32-bit
3G ram
460 GTX 1G

I have the same issue, but the specs of my laptop are different.
It's weird. I should be able to run it perfectly, but all I got to do today was 10 minutes of play and a hell lot of hours of fixing, without it even helping.

The game crashes anywhere. Doesn't matter where I am. If I'm in an event or just wandering around on my own in Queensdale or in the forest near Hoelbrak or in the area's of any other race. This is a frustrating matter and I wonder if it will be fixed through an update. I must say that it has taken away most of the excitement I've had for GW2.

Also, I have a new Dell XPS 15.

#71 charbog

charbog

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 97 posts
  • Location:Romania
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 28 August 2012 - 09:41 PM

View Postocirne23, on 28 August 2012 - 09:32 PM, said:

I seemed to have fixed it... by overclocking my cpu and memory...

It makes no sense but I got rid of the constant crashing.
and how u did that?

#72 dietbongo

dietbongo

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 09:54 PM

Having same issue.

Intel i5 2.67
32 bit system
4gb ram
gtx 560ti

get 1hour in pve and about 5 mins in wvw before crashing.

#73 Eburk

Eburk

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  • Profession:Thief
  • Guild Tag:[TUNA]
  • Server:Blackgate

Posted 29 August 2012 - 01:49 AM

Still haven't heard back, however I just wanted to state that I'm guessing I won't be hearing anything back for a while. I'm sure ANet is slammed, which is unfortunate for us. Thinking about installing on my laptop so I at least have some consistent access to the game (assuming it runs on my laptop decently). The crashes seem to be happening with more regularity now, roughly every 15-30 mins. I think the game is doing its best to crash me during critical points, ie the ends of events, killing big baddies, etc.

#74 jfsd88

jfsd88

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 29 August 2012 - 03:33 AM

Same problem here, 30 minutes at PvE and 5 minutes at WvW. I have a gtx 560 ti (so I WONT play in low graphics), but also have win 7 32 bits. I was about to change to 64 bits but some of them also crashes. So I dont know what gonna do.
It Happened the same (with a lot of people) in BF3, and they DIDNT resolve the problem. My only way out was to get down the graphics to medium and crash every 1,5 hours. But I love WvW and I only played 5 minutes =(. Some people said it was an overheating problem of the GPU and some solve it changing the voltage with the MSI afterburner program. Sorry for my english and lets pray for a fix

#75 Chocobo

Chocobo

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 29 August 2012 - 05:00 AM

Crashing often here as well.

#76 draygourn

draygourn

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 August 2012 - 08:32 AM

made account to share my same problem.
using GTX 560Ti, i7, Win 7, 8GB RAM.
installed on D:, maybe I should re-install and relocate to C: ?

will do some of the suggestion and see if it works.
problems like other people - game crash, hang/freeze.

I think this is the case as well -
"Just registered to follow up on this thread. Same problem as everyone else but I think I figured out what causes it. I have my task manager opened while playing GW2 and I noticed a pattern which is exactly what everyone else is saying. As soon as GW2.exe exceeds 1.5GB of memory use, it automatically crashes.

If you stay in one zone, memory usage is only about 1.2-1.3GB depending on amount of people. So you can definitely play for hours on end if you stay in the same zone with ample amount of people. But if you fast travel a lot to different zones, it would definitely crash. For example, if I fast traveled to Mists, then run to Lion's Arch and then fast-travel to the starting-zone portal waypoint, it almost always hits 1.5GB and crashes."

#77 nebliss

nebliss

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 29 August 2012 - 09:56 AM

The game has way too many memory leaks and bugs in the code. Whatever drivers you reinstall, they wont fix it, programmers will, in the many coming patches;)
Also, customer support simply wont help you, cause they cant admit that its a bug in their client(even if they do, they cant fix it), so they will bullshit you arount like its your fault. Every major software company does that, its practice:) Bottom line, we all wait for fixes.

Edited by nebliss, 29 August 2012 - 09:57 AM.


#78 magic1anz

magic1anz

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 29 August 2012 - 10:30 AM

Got a radeon 5770 series card and still crash. Game runs really smooth with medium/high graphics tho. And there were absolutely no crashes in beta.

Either the game closes down instantly and I have to send a report to arenanet, or the game freezes and I have to end the process.

Can get back in the game quite quickly, but I can imagine how annoying it can be in dungeons/pvp. Also I've lost so much exp because I tend to crash right when I'm about to finish an event. Typical. (Also sometimes when I'm loading a new area)

Edited by magic1anz, 29 August 2012 - 10:48 AM.


#79 Nincpower

Nincpower

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Profession:Necromancer
  • Guild Tag:[BAD]
  • Server:Far Shiverpeaks

Posted 29 August 2012 - 10:32 AM

My crashes do not generate error reports. The game freezes, while the music keeps on playing and when I kill the game in task manager, my fans seem to lower. However the gw2.exe *32 keeps on running in the proces and I have to reboot my laptop to be able to use my laptop normally again.

When I was reading this topic, I found a sort of solution and a problem I also have:

View PostButr0sButr0s, on 26 August 2012 - 06:04 PM, said:

For people having the original problem - the screen locks with the music still playing (and you can alt-ctrl-del terminate the process), my friend said you can increase your playtime by lowering the graphics options.  He played the whole day on low without a problem, can get a few hours on medium, and only 30 minutes or so on high/max.  His problem appears to be a win32 bit error as someone else with a similar setup and x64 has no issues.
In my situation, I can 'terminate' the proces, but it still keeps on hogging my system. I was playing on Auto Detect settings and have gotten crashes 3/4 times an hour. It even went as far as 9! crashes per hour. Then I tried your resolution, choose best performance thus lowering everything to low quality, and in 9 hours of play I only had 2 crashes. So It helped for me on a win64 bit system.

View Postyoshie, on 28 August 2012 - 09:03 PM, said:

Just registered to follow up on this thread. Same problem as everyone else but I think I figured out what causes it. I have my task manager opened while playing GW2 and I noticed a pattern which is exactly what everyone else is saying. As soon as GW2.exe exceeds 1.5GB of memory use, it automatically crashes.

If you stay in one zone, memory usage is only about 1.2-1.3GB depending on amount of people. So you can definitely play for hours on end if you stay in the same zone with ample amount of people. But if you fast travel a lot to different zones, it would definitely crash. For example, if I fast traveled to Mists, then run to Lion's Arch and then fast-travel to the starting-zone portal waypoint, it almost always hits 1.5GB and crashes.

Not sure why however which I'm still trying to figure out.

So far I've tried:
1. Beta Drivers
2. GW2 Repair
3. Administrative Mode
4. Ending all programs / chrome

Maybe moving the GW2 to my C:/ might correct it? Anyone have this problem and have GW2 on their main drive?
I noticed it aswell. GW2 goes from 800.000 to 1.300.000 ram usage and after that it crashes. When I played on auto detect settings, I would reach this limit easily and crash frequently. When I choose Best Performance, the game managed to stay below 1.300.000 ram usage, and would not produce any crashes, or not as much.

View Postnebliss, on 29 August 2012 - 09:56 AM, said:

The game has way too many memory leaks and bugs in the code. Whatever drivers you reinstall, they wont fix it, programmers will, in the many coming patches;)
Also, customer support simply wont help you, cause they cant admit that its a bug in their client(even if they do, they cant fix it), so they will bullshit you arount like its your fault. Every major software company does that, its practice:) Bottom line, we all wait for fixes.

I have made a support ticket. I applied the game advisor, Arenanet.log files, screenshots and so. The reaction I got now was that I have Optimus installed and that I should follow a generic video of Nvidia to ensure it is configured correctly. I have watched that video, but that does not really do anything new. So as you are saying, I think they know of the memory issues and that they can only fix it in their game.

I am running a Dell XPS 15 502, i5, 4 gig, Nvidia GeForce GT 540M on Windows 7 64 bit version. My fellow gamers seem to not have these crashes for some reason. Maybe a combination of Nvidia+win 7 64bit+gw2 bug that causes to overload the memory? Or GW2 just likes to put everything in the ram memory and does not remove the unnecessary parts.

Edited by Nincpower, 29 August 2012 - 10:38 AM.


#80 Eburk

Eburk

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  • Profession:Thief
  • Guild Tag:[TUNA]
  • Server:Blackgate

Posted 29 August 2012 - 12:38 PM

Just received another email, asking for additional computer specs. Might actually be getting somewhere, I'll keep you guys posted! *fingers crossed*

#81 Butr0sButr0s

Butr0sButr0s

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 112 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA, USA

Posted 29 August 2012 - 12:45 PM

View PostNincpower, on 29 August 2012 - 10:32 AM, said:

I am running a Dell XPS 15 502, i5, 4 gig, Nvidia GeForce GT 540M on Windows 7 64 bit version. My fellow gamers seem to not have these crashes for some reason. Maybe a combination of Nvidia+win 7 64bit+gw2 bug that causes to overload the memory? Or GW2 just likes to put everything in the ram memory and does not remove the unnecessary parts.

Thanks for the thorough reply - Its strange because I'm running a 460m Windows 7 64 bit with 8g of ram and haven't had a crash, my guess is that my additional ram is what's saving me.  If it is indeed a memory leak or mismanagement like all the data suggests, it should be fixable although it will take a while to track down if Anet's support team has trouble replicating it.

#82 Leorio

Leorio

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 29 August 2012 - 12:56 PM

Hahah, getting a new variation of the memory crash

*--> Crash <--*
Out of Memory: arena=Audio, cat=Audio FMOD, allocBytes=4642912, arenaBytes=45401472, fallbackBytes=6175560, align=0
App: Gw2.exe

Game isn't crashing as much as it used to - about 1 every 2 or 3 hours .... but still more than annoying

Every crash that I get is memory related so there has to be something wrong with the game's code
Barely getting anymore game freezes though, just those gw2.exe crashes ...

Edited by Leorio, 29 August 2012 - 12:57 PM.


#83 ChanCake

ChanCake

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 29 August 2012 - 01:11 PM

View PostNincpower, on 29 August 2012 - 10:32 AM, said:

I am running a Dell XPS 15 502, i5, 4 gig, Nvidia GeForce GT 540M on Windows 7 64 bit version. My fellow gamers seem to not have these crashes for some reason. Maybe a combination of Nvidia+win 7 64bit+gw2 bug that causes to overload the memory? Or GW2 just likes to put everything in the ram memory and does not remove the unnecessary parts.

To be honest, I'm kind of relieved someone with the same laptop has these issues, but mine has an Intel Core i7. On the other hand, mine doesn't get fixed by setting everything on low. I still crash every 5 to ten minutes and I'm at loss here. I tried literally everything.

Edited by ChanCake, 29 August 2012 - 01:13 PM.


#84 jonoop

jonoop

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 August 2012 - 04:28 PM

I have the exact same problem ("out of memory" crash often after changing zones or in WvW).  One stop gap that has made this more bearable was the one others mentioned.  I changed my texture setting to medium and I can now play WvW with little/no problems and the crashes in PvE are less frequent.  Before doing that it would reliably crash in WvW within a few minutes.

I have a support ticket in and need to provide all the additional information others have mentioned.  I will let you know if I get anything back.  Everyone should be submitting tickets on this so we can get it promoted to be worked on at some point.  I agree the chances of this getting fixed before things like the trading post are pretty darn low.  Medium settings makes it bearable in the meantime.

Jon

Vista 32 Bit

Edited by jonoop, 29 August 2012 - 04:58 PM.


#85 Nincpower

Nincpower

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Profession:Necromancer
  • Guild Tag:[BAD]
  • Server:Far Shiverpeaks

Posted 29 August 2012 - 05:39 PM

View PostButr0sButr0s, on 29 August 2012 - 12:45 PM, said:

Thanks for the thorough reply - Its strange because I'm running a 460m Windows 7 64 bit with 8g of ram and haven't had a crash, my guess is that my additional ram is what's saving me.  If it is indeed a memory leak or mismanagement like all the data suggests, it should be fixable although it will take a while to track down if Anet's support team has trouble replicating it.
It could be that the more ram you have, the less likely you will experience a crash. However I find it strange that at 1.3 gig the game will completely freeze, while there is on my system roughly 2.7 gig left to use. When gw2 freezes, the ram is used for 66%, so that should leave a little buffer.

View PostChanCake, on 29 August 2012 - 01:11 PM, said:

To be honest, I'm kind of relieved someone with the same laptop has these issues, but mine has an Intel Core i7. On the other hand, mine doesn't get fixed by setting everything on low. I still crash every 5 to ten minutes and I'm at loss here. I tried literally everything.
That is strange that your laptop, which has a faster processor, cannot run it without crashes on low quality. This suggests that something else is going on. I do not experience any more crashes when playing on low settings, and I play mostly PvE.

I hope they can adress this issue, otherwise it might help for some if you add more ram. The best course is of course that Anet patches the game and solves the memory issues ^_^

Edit: Well it started again. 2 crashes in 20 minutes. Ah well, gives some time to do other things :P

Edited by Nincpower, 29 August 2012 - 08:59 PM.


#86 charbog

charbog

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 97 posts
  • Location:Romania
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 29 August 2012 - 06:27 PM

View PostNincpower, on 29 August 2012 - 05:39 PM, said:

I hope they can adress this issue, otherwise it might help for some if you add more ram. The best course is of course that Anet patches the game and solves the memory issues ^_^

but still they dont say that they have this issue ,or that they r working on it Oo
i hope official forums will be opened soon :unsure:

Edited by charbog, 29 August 2012 - 06:29 PM.


#87 baal80

baal80

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Server:Far Shiverpeaks

Posted 29 August 2012 - 08:59 PM

Same problem - either CTD with "Send report to ArenaNet" button or game hangs and I have to go to Task Manager and kill the process.

Specs:
GTX 670
i5-3570k
8GB RAM

Tried both 306.02 beta and 304.79 beta drivers, no difference.

#88 Wolfphantoms

Wolfphantoms

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 29 August 2012 - 09:54 PM

I submitted a ticket and after returning with all of the information they required, a representative from Anet emailed me back and said "Thank you for bringing this to my attention". They still want me to do a few more tests, but it sounds like they're actually looking into it.

#89 jfsd88

jfsd88

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 29 August 2012 - 10:27 PM

I played without crashes but putting the video settings in best performance. The graphics are all low and I dont like playing like this but to feel what was WvW for some hours it was fine, hope they fix this

#90 marioPS

marioPS

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 August 2012 - 10:55 PM

I also frequently crash or freeze playing GW2. It's really a shame. Seems like a memory leak or graphic card driver problem (read another post where NVIDIA cards were having issues in particular). Trying the 306.02 driver now, and hopefully that will help. Maybe. Also I am trying running a -repair.

I don't have as much RAM as some, but with 4gb RAM and W7 32bit, I can't get any more RAM. I've been able to run just about every other modern game at max, or almost max, graphics settings with no problem. I surely hope GW2 technical support solves this issue, because I do not relish the idea of purchasing a new OS and additional RAM.

Welp, following just in case someone has luck with a fix. Keep us posted.
M




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users