• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Kuskah

Kuskah

Vanguard Scout

• Members
  • 297 posts

Posted 01 September 2012 - 03:28 PM

I'm a Charr engineer so my options are: Supply Crate , Elixir X, Artillery Barrage or Warband Support . Which one is the most useful for PvE? (Alternatively Mortar and Charrzooka, which are fairly expensive though)

#2 Alberel

Alberel

Vanguard Scout

• Members
  • 303 posts

Posted 01 September 2012 - 04:00 PM

I can't speak for the charr racial elites, although generally racials are inferior to profession skills.

Supply crate seems to be the 'general use' elite for the engineer as it offers CC, defense and offense all in one package. When fully traited it's actually incredible.

Elixir X is difficult to like for me. It's random, and that makes it unreliable, which is certainly not what you want from an elite skill. The two forms it offers are both useful for point defense though so I'd like to think it has some uses, but I see it as very niche.

Mortar is very useful in large-scale battles (i.e. WvW keep defense and PvE dynamic events) but again beyond that supply crate would be better.

#3 hendel65

hendel65

Asuran Acolyte

• Members
  • 83 posts

Posted 01 September 2012 - 04:21 PM

Charrzooka sucks, dont get it. it was a big mistake :/

#4 matsif

matsif

Seraph Guardian

• Members
  • 1516 posts
  • Server:Fort Aspenwood

Posted 01 September 2012 - 04:28 PM

supply crate all the way, although I can't speak for racials.

the randomness of elixir x isn't worth it in my experience.  for me it always seemed that the opposite of the transformation I got would be more helpful.

#5 Blizt

Blizt

Asuran Acolyte

• Members
  • 89 posts

Posted 01 September 2012 - 05:35 PM

I know many aren't gonna like it, but I chose Elixir X.

Reason being while you get 1 of 2 transformations at random, they're pretty similar in features, which are Stability and heavy CC abilities. Bear that in mind and you won't have a problem.