Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
* * * * * 3 votes

Thief hood sollution!


  • Please log in to reply
212 replies to this topic

#121 silentdecay01

silentdecay01

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 120 posts
  • Location:California
  • Server:Gate of Madness

Posted 30 October 2012 - 10:06 AM

theres some lvl 80 hood skins....don't know what you guys are speaking about not having any hoods,, also Anet addressed about starter skins, and said they will add them as drops more often down the road, ect, so no need to do any of this at all.

Edited by silentdecay01, 30 October 2012 - 10:07 AM.


#122 nublets

nublets

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Guild Tag:[BM]
  • Server:Dragonbrand

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:36 PM

The only hoods are the starter medium hood which has 2 choices, order of whispers, and CoE. Those are the only real hoods i've found in the game. There are not that many in the game as it is. Personally i like the starter hood best. I have sent a support ticket to ANet asking about this and they would neither confirm or deny that this is a legitimate method to acquire this hood.

#123 TerraHero

TerraHero

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 72 posts

Posted 02 November 2012 - 12:46 PM

Still works, 2-11-2012

#124 Icharios

Icharios

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 02 November 2012 - 06:18 PM

I wonder.. can you do this with the engi backpack? :cool:

#125 Rowland

Rowland

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 02 November 2012 - 06:24 PM

On the subject of it being legit. It is probably not intentioal, but I doubt we will all get banned if we do this, while moving armor to other professions (rangers with hoods etc.) is really an exploit, regaining the hood on your thief is just convinient. There is not much gain in it (looks) and it does not harm other players or the game as a whole.

I kinda hope (and think) A-net has intentionaly left this bug in for this problem to be fixed, but is not being to mouthy about it, because of exploit concerns (hooded rangers etc.)

#126 Minion

Minion

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 759 posts
  • Location:moi preciouss council house
  • Guild Tag:[Fäp]
  • Server:Desolation

Posted 04 November 2012 - 04:24 AM

Don't think hooded rangers are a problem. Rangers wear hoods IRL. Remember the famous hooded ranger? Went by the name of Robin. Stole from the rich, was a greedy git.

#127 AEnesidem

AEnesidem

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 105 posts
  • Location:Belgium
  • Guild Tag:[CoT]
  • Server:Tarnished Coast

Posted 04 November 2012 - 04:53 PM

View Postsilentdecay01, on 30 October 2012 - 10:06 AM, said:

theres some lvl 80 hood skins....don't know what you guys are speaking about not having any hoods,, also Anet addressed about starter skins, and said they will add them as drops more often down the road, ect, so no need to do any of this at all.
well actually there is cause i didn't like the look of those few hoods and i didn't want to wait months for my thief to have a hood.

#128 PurpleAegis

PurpleAegis

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 06:33 PM

apparently it is now you can get banned for doing this.... since i just got banned for transmuting and transferring a couple of these start up items

#129 wimgore

wimgore

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • Location:The Great White North
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Guild Tag:[HDS]
  • Server:Gate of Madness

Posted 06 November 2012 - 07:01 PM

That's ridiculous and untrue.

#130 PurpleAegis

PurpleAegis

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 07:48 PM

I just got banned a couple of hours ago after transferring 2 of the guardian start up items to my warrior the helm and the shoulders i got a pop up saying my account is blocked. And now i am awaiting an answer back from GW2 support....

#131 Toryne

Toryne

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 24 posts
  • Location:Colorado
  • Guild Tag:[DNGS]
  • Server:Dragonbrand

Posted 06 November 2012 - 08:04 PM

Highly doubt that you got banned for transmuting and transferring things like this considering I transmuted my thief helm literally 2 days ago without issue. I would wait to see what they say from the ticket.

Edited by Toryne, 06 November 2012 - 08:16 PM.


#132 PurpleAegis

PurpleAegis

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 09:19 PM

might be because i made botting names such as aslkdjf and was reported as a bot.....

#133 NachyoChez

NachyoChez

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 75 posts

Posted 10 November 2012 - 12:05 AM

As of yesterday, I could not place a 'Soulbound' item onto a Transmutation stone.  Looks like the most recent patch removed this..

Can anyone confirm?

DISREGARD AND SEE BELOW

Edited by NachyoChez, 11 November 2012 - 04:44 AM.


#134 KotCR

KotCR

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 10 November 2012 - 05:46 PM

Looks like you did something wrong. Just tried it with Vigil Leggings from my Vigil character onto Crafting Cleric Leggings for my Whispers character, everything worked fine,

#135 NachyoChez

NachyoChez

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 75 posts

Posted 11 November 2012 - 04:46 AM

So I double checked, and I'd missed a step (namely the 'convert with a white then transfer' part)

Worked liked a charm to take get a lvl 65 medium karma mask from my warrior onto my thief!  Thanks guys!!

#136 Dipsy

Dipsy

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 11 November 2012 - 03:15 PM

I just did this with orders gear. I chose whispers on my thief, but I really like the vigil gear, so I decided to try it out with my necromancer who is a vigil member. It worked like a charm :) I am now a whispers member wearing vigil gear, yay! thanks :D

#137 Saza

Saza

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 158 posts
  • Server:Maguuma

Posted 13 November 2012 - 08:21 PM

I destroyed the stalwart's jerkin you get from the personal story thinking it was unimportant to me. Turned out not only was it a skin I really wanted, but the only sure way to get it was from that one step of the personal story. I leveled an alt to that point in the story and was able to use this trick to get that skin over to my main (transferred it over today). Thank you!

#138 Dzula

Dzula

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 November 2012 - 08:16 AM

I've just tried to transmute monocle for the first time, and it says in description: Account Bound. Must be the Lost Shore patch change.

#139 imrail

imrail

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 07:29 AM

So it is not possible if it is account bound?

#140 NachyoChez

NachyoChez

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 75 posts

Posted 22 November 2012 - 07:42 AM

The opposite imrail.

It appears ANet made the item display correctly after transmutation, which would mean (to me) they're endorsing it.

#141 OcRaM

OcRaM

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 29 November 2012 - 01:35 AM

Posted Image

I tried it today and I can't transmute it.

The click boton stays gray... I did the same thing 1 month ago and It worked.

Edited by OcRaM, 29 November 2012 - 01:41 AM.


#142 Ulrik85

Ulrik85

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 29 November 2012 - 02:03 AM

View PostOcRaM, on 29 November 2012 - 01:35 AM, said:

Posted Image

I tried it today and I can't transmute it.

The click boton stays gray... I did the same thing 1 month ago and It worked.


can you show the other mask used? i've done the same for the nerco mask and it worked only with a crafted mask (the cheaper).try to buy the cheaper crafted head gear for medium armor.the acolyte "helm" for example didn't worked for me

#143 OcRaM

OcRaM

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 29 November 2012 - 03:35 AM

Problem solved. I have to try 5 diferents mask though...

#144 Ravrohan

Ravrohan

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 80 posts

Posted 29 November 2012 - 05:08 AM

So is it still possible to do?  I had some higher level armor skins to transfer from my thief to my lowbie ranger but kept putting it off.  I'm going to be pretty annoyed if its to late now. :/

#145 OcRaM

OcRaM

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 29 November 2012 - 09:27 PM

I did it yesterday... It seems it doesn't work with all head pieces. Like i said... I had to try with 5 diferents kinds.

#146 Ravrohan

Ravrohan

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 80 posts

Posted 29 November 2012 - 10:29 PM

View PostOcRaM, on 29 November 2012 - 09:27 PM, said:

I did it yesterday... It seems it doesn't work with all head pieces. Like i said... I had to try with 5 diferents kinds.

Do you remember what those hoods had in common?

#147 OcRaM

OcRaM

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 30 November 2012 - 03:47 AM

It was a blue one for lvl 17 i bought in the TP. 47 copper.

I forgot the name... sorry.

#148 Threx

Threx

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 01 December 2012 - 08:32 AM

I used the normal (white-named) mask that I bought from the basic armor vendor on the north side of Lion's Arch. That one worked for me.

#149 Brazen_NL

Brazen_NL

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 111 posts
  • Guild Tag:[GG]
  • Server:Desolation

Posted 04 December 2012 - 09:13 AM

View PostThrex, on 01 December 2012 - 08:32 AM, said:

I used the normal (white-named) mask that I bought from the basic armor vendor on the north side of Lion's Arch. That one worked for me.
That worked for me, too. Only thing is, I first bought a mask with a L80, and that didn't work. The only low level I have is a L30 thief, and it worked with the L30 mask I bought.

Had the same experience with masks from the TP. All white, varying levels, none worked.

#150 Elth

Elth

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 73 posts
  • Location:The Eternal Battlegrounds
  • Guild Tag:[GSCH]
  • Server:Sanctum of Rall

Posted 06 December 2012 - 05:47 AM

Still works as of 12/6/12.
I used a level 10 white cap from Divinity's Reach (Just near the bank).




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users