Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
- - - - -

i5 2500k WvW users

2500k wvw performance

  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 REALMIGUEL

REALMIGUEL

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 93 posts
  • Location:Portugal
  • Server:Seafarer’s Rest

Posted 09 September 2012 - 11:00 AM

Hey people,
I was wondering how you guys with i5 2500k and mid ranged GPU (think AMD 6850) are doing in WvW, is it enough to run those big 20 vs 20 fights above 20/30 fps ? or you really need a high end card for that ? 1080p res

Thx in advance

#2 Lord_Demosthene

Lord_Demosthene

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 507 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 11:04 AM

I know it sounds scary, but if you run on full graphic details and have 20-30 fps, then yes you're bottlenecked by the CPU pretty much. WvW is a beast, love it or hate it.

#3 pencil

pencil

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 215 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 11:05 AM

Umm i've got a 2500k @ 4.7ghz and a 670gtx @ 1300mhz. I still get huge drops in WvW. In certain situations it drops as low as 20.

edit **

This is on 1080p, everything max other than native sampling.

Edited by pencil, 09 September 2012 - 11:06 AM.


#4 loverman529

loverman529

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 8 posts
  • Location:West Midlands
  • Server:Gunnar’s Hold

Posted 09 September 2012 - 11:05 AM

I have i5 2500I. Stock clocks, but have a GTX 580 soc edition, I get 60 fps,  all gfx turned on highest,  lowest I see my fps drop to is 55, but very rare

#5 zantar

zantar

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 11:21 AM

I've got a 2500k @ stock with a HD6950. With everything max (minus supersampling) i've dropped down to ~24fps in big fights.

#6 Waffleswagon

Waffleswagon

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 11:25 AM

View Postloverman529, on 09 September 2012 - 11:05 AM, said:

I have i5 2500I. Stock clocks, but have a GTX 580 soc edition, I get 60 fps,  all gfx turned on highest,  lowest I see my fps drop to is 55, but very rare

Really curious, what resolution are you running?

#7 REALMIGUEL

REALMIGUEL

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 93 posts
  • Location:Portugal
  • Server:Seafarer’s Rest

Posted 09 September 2012 - 12:01 PM

Thx for your answers so far, got a better idea.

#8 Red_Falcon

Red_Falcon

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2417 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 01:32 PM

I have a similar setup (i5 3750k, 670gtx), ever since I got the beta drivers installed I'm getting 50-60fps in WvW.

#9 Juminator

Juminator

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 146 posts
  • Location:Somewhere on the Solar System
  • Server:Underworld

Posted 09 September 2012 - 02:08 PM

Cpu seems to be one of the problems but not the main one, whenever theres some big activity or some very intensive effects that somehow depend on the cpu the game drops to its knees, gpu grinds to a stop and cpu activity goes very high.

Conclusion for me is, theres many thinghs in this game heavly dependent on the cpu, my gpu can eat this game with no problem, it runs BF3, mass effect 3, all the recent games at full settings always at full speed, on WvW i kinda understand, with all the players and such, but in Pve  theres some situations i just dont get it, slowdowns showup from nowhere without any aparent reason and the GPU activity goes down to almost zero in extreme situations, no logic at all.

my fps varies between 50-60 normal game play to the 12 fps out of nowhere slowdowns.


One other thingh i noticed is the GW2 client is using a constant reading link to the Dat file, it seems to be using it as a dinamic loading cache for texture and reading on the fly nonstop, during all the time i watched that activity the game never once dropped the conection to the dat file its always reading it, this may also be causing slowdowns when the game needs allot of data at the same time and the drive just cant keep up with the demand.

All this while i have 16gb of ddr3 ram siting by and my gpu as 3gb with only half being used at any time. We do have loading screens between zones so, wth is the game loading in that time if it will be reading nonstop from the dat file anyways while my ram sits by doing nothing ?

My only regreat in this is i dont have even more ram , if i had i would do what i do on other games with similar problems, i grab the game files and slap them on a virtual RAM drive, no more reading delays, thingh is in this game all the game data is stuck in one massive file, way to big to stuck all of it on a ram drive in my system

The above is just my opinion based on my observations.

Edited by Juminator, 09 September 2012 - 03:52 PM.


#10 Aaren

Aaren

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 316 posts
  • Guild Tag:[DrV]
  • Server:Seafarer’s Rest

Posted 09 September 2012 - 03:14 PM

View PostLord_Demosthene, on 09 September 2012 - 11:04 AM, said:

I know it sounds scary, but if you run on full graphic details and have 20-30 fps, then yes you're bottlenecked by the CPU pretty much. WvW is a beast, love it or hate it.

i5 2500k a bottleneck? A bottleneck big enough to drop down to 20s? Good laugh there, thank you.

Also, Guild Wars 2 never uses 100% of the cores. It's just not very well optimized.

Edited by Aaren, 09 September 2012 - 03:15 PM.


#11 UssjTrunks

UssjTrunks

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2615 posts
  • Guild Tag:[BOMB]
  • Server:Yak’s Bend

Posted 09 September 2012 - 03:18 PM

I have a i5 2310 (stock) and 9800 GT (max detail and mid-level resolution) and my fps is fine (it would never drop below maybe 20-25 even before when I was using a GT 520, albeit on lowest detail).

Edited by UssjTrunks, 09 September 2012 - 03:20 PM.


#12 loverman529

loverman529

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 8 posts
  • Location:West Midlands
  • Server:Gunnar’s Hold

Posted 10 September 2012 - 06:52 PM

View PostWaffleswagon, on 09 September 2012 - 11:25 AM, said:



Really curious, what resolution are you running?


1920x1080 with latest nvidia beta drivers

Edited by loverman529, 10 September 2012 - 07:02 PM.


#13 Vlak

Vlak

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 141 posts
  • Guild Tag:[TNO]
  • Server:Jade Quarry

Posted 10 September 2012 - 06:55 PM

View PostREALMIGUEL, on 09 September 2012 - 11:00 AM, said:

Hey people,
I was wondering how you guys with i5 2500k and mid ranged GPU (think AMD 6850) are doing in WvW, is it enough to run those big 20 vs 20 fights above 20/30 fps ? or you really need a high end card for that ? 1080p res

Thx in advance

I don't know what WvW fights you're in but mine are 100+ vs 100+

#14 SteveyMack

SteveyMack

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 10 September 2012 - 06:58 PM

View Postzantar, on 09 September 2012 - 11:21 AM, said:

I've got a 2500k @ stock with a HD6950. With everything max (minus supersampling) i've dropped down to ~24fps in big fights.

Pretty much identical set up here. Not sure what my graphics settings are at, since I've not actually looked to change them, but I get the same fps. It varies from 23-28, though typically towards 28.


View PostJuminator, on 09 September 2012 - 02:08 PM, said:

One other thingh i noticed is the GW2 client is using a constant reading link to the Dat file, it seems to be using it as a dinamic loading cache for texture and reading on the fly nonstop, during all the time i watched that activity the game never once dropped the conection to the dat file its always reading it, this may also be causing slowdowns when the game needs allot of data at the same time and the drive just cant keep up with the demand.

All this while i have 16gb of ddr3 ram siting by and my gpu as 3gb with only half being used at any time. We do have loading screens between zones so, wth is the game loading in that time if it will be reading nonstop from the dat file anyways while my ram sits by doing nothing ?

My only regreat in this is i dont have even more ram , if i had i would do what i do on other games with similar problems, i grab the game files and slap them on a virtual RAM drive, no more reading delays, thingh is in this game all the game data is stuck in one massive file, way to big to stuck all of it on a ram drive in my system

The above is just my opinion based on my observations.

I have an SSD, so I'm assuming that would help compared to a regular old HDD? I also only have 4gb of Ram.

Edited by SteveyMack, 10 September 2012 - 07:00 PM.


#15 Aegir

Aegir

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 91 posts

Posted 10 September 2012 - 07:00 PM

2600k @ 4.8ghz , 7950 overclocked, GW on a games only SSD. 50-100+ person WvW battles with everything max except shadows iff, reflections off and normal samping results in ~30fps. CPU usage and GPU usage @ 30fps does not exceed 40%.

I can turn all settings to lowest and gain 1 FPS in the same battle. I can turn on all settings to highest and lose maybe 2 FPS, GPU utilization climbs to around 55%.

Something is wrong with the game. It's just not using hardware correctly.

Edited by Aegir, 10 September 2012 - 07:00 PM.


#16 Maconi

Maconi

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 434 posts

Posted 10 September 2012 - 07:04 PM

GW2 is horribly optimized. I have an i5 3570k OCed to 4.5GHz and an HD 7950 and still barely pull 30 FPS in most situations. That's just ridiculous.

Edited by Maconi, 10 September 2012 - 07:05 PM.


#17 aop

aop

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 11 September 2012 - 11:09 AM

View PostMaconi, on 10 September 2012 - 07:04 PM, said:

GW2 is horribly optimized. I have an i5 3570k OCed to 4.5GHz and an HD 7950 and still barely pull 30 FPS in most situations. That's just ridiculous.
Might be driver issue from AMDs end.

I have [email protected] and slightly overclocked GTX570 and I have played the game for over 170 hours and put some hours in WvWvW too. Only time in WvWvW when I had significant FPS drop was when attacking a keep and the gate went down and when we poured in there was huge number of enemies defending and insane AoE bombardment. That only lasted for couple a seconds though.

#18 AzureSky

AzureSky

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 24 September 2012 - 03:35 AM

View Postaop, on 11 September 2012 - 11:09 AM, said:

Might be driver issue from AMDs end.

I have [email protected] and slightly overclocked GTX570 and I have played the game for over 170 hours and put some hours in WvWvW too. Only time in WvWvW when I had significant FPS drop was when attacking a keep and the gate went down and when we poured in there was huge number of enemies defending and insane AoE bombardment. That only lasted for couple a seconds though.

doubt it unless hes not using the latest drivers.

using the latest drives(12.8 or the newest beta found on guru3d forums) I pull 60+ at all times on a system "serious gamers" wouldnt touch(amd cpu)

Posted Image
Posted Image

with dual 6870's (at xfx black edition bios)

the fact is the game just dosnt run well for some people.

I am even running the game down sampled (2560x1440 on a 1920x1080 scree) with SMAA enabled via radeon pro, and I still get constant 60+, tho, I will say, the game feel smoother with double vsync enabled at 30fps constant and triple buffering enabled.

as you can see from the above, my system sucks compared to a 2500k or 2600k or 3770k or whatever else serious gamers today run....

I will say, load times suck, but, I hope to fix that with a 32gb ram kit in the next 6 months....use a ramdrive to hold the game should make load times just a matter of how long it takes to decompress.

From what I have learned reading about DX9 10 and 11, I think alot of the perf issues come from the use of DX9, 10 and especially 11 have features that allow better perf AND better visuals at the same time, BUT anet couldnt forgo dx9 support because there are still alot of people who refuse to upgrade from xp who would throw a bloody fit if they didnt get their gw2.

I just hope Anet get a patch out fairly soon, even a beta patch for dx11 support(dx11 can run on dx10 hardware, just auto disables the features the card dosnt supports or run them on the cpu)

oh yeah, and I never even see 50% cpu useage by this game....it sits on all cores but never even comes up to 50%.......

I honestly blame the perf issues on immaturity of the game and the use of dx9 over 10 or 11......I kinda wish that Anet had been brave enough to go with a proper dx11 implementation that would auto scale to dx10 hardware, its kinda ridiculous that developers are still pandering to people who refuse to upgrade their OS......even vista once patched isnt bad(unpatched it is a nightmare....patched its better then xp)

bah......im just sitting here reading the forums because the login server took a crap on me :P

#19 jesh

jesh

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 663 posts
  • Location:NC

Posted 24 September 2012 - 09:01 AM

Hey bro, what are you doing running an FX cpu. Don't you know that's not allowed? Throw away that silly sabertooth and cpu and get an i5.

I wonder if the real problem is just nvidia 6xx/amd 7xxx cards. We have 3 people in here on 5xx that claim to have no issues whatsoever.

Edited by jesh, 24 September 2012 - 09:08 AM.


#20 masterBlaster1886

masterBlaster1886

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 24 September 2012 - 10:59 AM

Dont get to carried away with getting alot of RAM. Remember this is a 32bit application and can only possibaly use 3.7GB of your RAM.

#21 The Comfy Chair

The Comfy Chair

    The best at space

  • Members
  • 5330 posts
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Profession:Elementalist
  • Guild Tag:[TKOT]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 24 September 2012 - 11:24 AM

You'll still occasionally see the low 20's in stupidly big fights, but otherwise WvW performance is good (35fps+) on an i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz.

If you want to check if your computer will run GW2, check here.

If you find out you can't and need to think about upgrading or building another, check here.


#22 garethfedwards

garethfedwards

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 95 posts

Posted 24 September 2012 - 12:55 PM

I've got a 2500k @ 4Ghz with a xfire HD6950.
With everything max except shadows(medium), reflections (terrain and sky) and post processing on low (this is more for the fact I don't really like the glow high gives) I've dropped down to about 25fps in big zergs on the gates. Far from unplayable.


**EDIT**

Getting the 2500K to 4Ghz is easy and it can handle 4.5Ghz on air really well.
It makes a massive difference in WvW clocking this little beauty

Edited by garethfedwards, 24 September 2012 - 12:57 PM.


#23 atomicmew

atomicmew

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 138 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 01:56 AM

Running at 1440p.  I've been in some pretty massive fights, and have NEVER seen FPS fall below high 25 in even extremely exceptional circumstances.  In large fights Im mostly pulling 35-40 FPS.  Low 20's, sub 20's just does not happen.

#24 AzureSky

AzureSky

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 02:09 AM

View PostmasterBlaster1886, on 24 September 2012 - 10:59 AM, said:

Dont get to carried away with getting alot of RAM. Remember this is a 32bit application and can only possibaly use 3.7GB of your RAM.

my advice is if you got a good system already, get a 32gb Komputerbay ram kit and a decent ramdrive software, load the game into a ramdrive, that way, despite the fact the game itself dosnt support PEX or 64bit, it will still enhance your gaming experience.

one of the better ramdrive softwares is only 20bucks http://memory.datara...are/ramdisk  to me, its worthy of consideration, since it would have far more of an effect on how games in general perform then what modern decent cpu you choose(sorry, if you couldnt tell above, i really dont think the fx line are bad, they just arent the best...for what I paid, i get better perf in what I actually do with my system then intel offers in the same price range)

I have seen some systems where clocking made gw2 run better, others where it didnt help at all, seems kinda random, and could be related to specific configurations with 7k and 600 series cards, wouldnt surprise me at all if it was something as simple as the fact that I run ccleaner regularly and on top of that I have installed the dx9 sdk then updated with the webinstaller(this replaces all dx related files and then updates them)

I also still maintain that sometimes its the connection to the server causing fps drops, If anything like unreal engine games(among many other engines), if the connections overloaded then fps will drop, it may seem odd, but many engines tie your fps to your connection, bad connection can give bad fps even if your systems overkill for the game.

either way, Im sure that amd/nvidia/anet will keep working to optimize the game for us, give them some time, it may take anet recoding part of the game with the help of nvidia and amd to get things working smoother(like multi card setups not gaining much perf, read that the game may need some changes to make that work better....at least with amd we gain perf, with nvidia you loose perf....)

I really wish somebody would make dram drives(like an ssd but 100% made from dram rather then flash) that could make for one hell of a perf boost if used properly(as a huge cache)

#25 coolsamme

coolsamme

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 118 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 08:19 AM

View PostREALMIGUEL, on 09 September 2012 - 11:00 AM, said:

Hey people,
I was wondering how you guys with i5 2500k and mid ranged GPU (think AMD 6850) are doing in WvW, is it enough to run those big 20 vs 20 fights above 20/30 fps ? or you really need a high end card for that ? 1080p res

Thx in advance
I got a gtx 680 and i5 2500k 4.2 overclocked and I get 20-30 in huge zergs. So, no.

#26 Treble

Treble

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2239 posts
  • Server:Stormbluff Isle

Posted 25 September 2012 - 01:50 PM

View Postjesh, on 24 September 2012 - 09:01 AM, said:

Hey bro, what are you doing running an FX cpu. Don't you know that's not allowed? Throw away that silly sabertooth and cpu and get an i5.

I wonder if the real problem is just nvidia 6xx/amd 7xxx cards. We have 3 people in here on 5xx that claim to have no issues whatsoever.
No problems here.

i5 3570k @ 4.5, GTX 670 FTW. 1920x1080. Everything maxed (Shadows High), Supersampling native. Never less than 40 FPS even in the biggest WvW fights. When recording in FRAPS, it never drops below 30 even in the biggest WvW fights. I get between to 70-98% GPU usage and around 60-70% CPU.

I do notice more stutter on my mid range rig than my low end (Q6600 @ 3.2, GTX 460 1GB). I think this is mostly due to the fact that the game has random frame drops, and it's much more noticeable instantly dropping from 120 FPS down to 40, than it is dropping from 40 FPS to 25. Makes it seem like my low end rig plays much more smoothly.

#27 coolsamme

coolsamme

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 118 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 02:44 PM

View PostTreble, on 25 September 2012 - 01:50 PM, said:

No problems here.

i5 3570k @ 4.5, GTX 670 FTW. 1920x1080. Everything maxed (Shadows High), Supersampling native. Never less than 40 FPS even in the biggest WvW fights. When recording in FRAPS, it never drops below 30 even in the biggest WvW fights. I get between to 70-98% GPU usage and around 60-70% CPU.

I do notice more stutter on my mid range rig than my low end (Q6600 @ 3.2, GTX 460 1GB). I think this is mostly due to the fact that the game has random frame drops, and it's much more noticeable instantly dropping from 120 FPS down to 40, than it is dropping from 40 FPS to 25. Makes it seem like my low end rig plays much more smoothly.
Still at anets end that my gtx 680 won't work. FIX IT ANET.

#28 Treble

Treble

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2239 posts
  • Server:Stormbluff Isle

Posted 25 September 2012 - 02:46 PM

View Postcoolsamme, on 25 September 2012 - 02:44 PM, said:

Still at anets end that my gtx 680 won't work. FIX IT ANET.
Still dropping to 20's? :/

#29 Izokka

Izokka

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 102 posts
  • Location:Dominican Republic

Posted 25 September 2012 - 04:04 PM

Any link where i could path my ati drivers?

#30 coolsamme

coolsamme

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 118 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 05:05 PM

View PostTreble, on 25 September 2012 - 02:46 PM, said:

Still dropping to 20's? :/
Yep, alot better after my 4.2 overclock but it still drops to like 25-35 but in huge, really huge moments even to 21-22-23. playable but i expect more from anet, really.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: 2500k, wvw, performance

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users