Vanguard Scout

• Members
  • 398 posts
  • Profession:Guardian
  • Guild Tag:[DnT]
  • Server:Blackgate

Posted 15 July 2013 - 09:22 AM

View PostiLag, on 15 July 2013 - 08:53 AM, said:

How does this build fair with berserker set?

If you are going to use Bersker's armor, you may as well just use a true DPS build. AH is, in my opinion, decent for learning how to play Guardian and getting used to it. That's all it's worth to me, though.

#602 Subdue

Subdue

Fahrar Cub

• Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 18 July 2013 - 11:55 PM

I'm just going to start off by saying this is a great, well thought out guide, and it's the one I'm following as I put my own guardian together as we speak.  And I am by no means an expert on guardians, and in fact mine is only level 63 at the moment.  However, I was looking over the numbers, the gear, and the explanations behind it, and from what I understand, the goal is be the one absorbing the damage for your team as the anchor, while dealing what damage you can.

Because offensive stats are multiplicative (each point in power makes each point in precision more effective, etc), this build can never hope to output damage even close to that of a build that's focused on damage, as quite a few stat points are burned in toughness and vitality.  What it can do, however, is become an extremely tanky, immovable golem of a character for the team by focusing on its strong points, its defensive stats, which fortunately, are also multiplicative.  The only exception to this seems to be Precision/Critical Strike Chance, since that is used to proc a number of effects.

Tallying up the total stats (for armor and trinkets, Soldier's runes) achieved by your build, I found that it gave the following:
Power: +738
Toughness +365
Vitality +165
Precision +583 (accounting for Retributive Armor)
Crit Dmg +17%

I then looked at alternative setups, and landed up Soldier's armor and Knight's trinkets and Lyssa runes.
Power +656
Toughness +738
Vitality +224