200 replies to this topic

#61 Undead

Undead

Technician

• Technicians
  • 861 posts

Posted 27 January 2011 - 01:42 PM

Serafita Kayin said:

Just a heads up, I'll be getting a new rev of the Ultra X4 1kW across my bench for review in short order, anyone got a specific test for me to hit it with?  I'll have the review work first, but I'll indulge what I can afterwards time permitting...

Ultra revised the X4 1000W? I certainly hope they did, it was a pretty bad unit.

Sir Elementalcheese said:

Hey guys,
I've just opened my pc for the first time ever :eek: and noticed I have a 350w psu. It's running a quadcore i7 processor and a geforce gtx 460 graphics card. Do I need to upgrade it? There's probably useful information that I missed out it, sorry. Let me know if there's anything else you need to know, I'm a complete noob when it comes to these things :p

I'm gonna assume it's a prebuilt... and since it's a 350W PSU there's a 99.99% chance it's a POS. I suggest you get it replaced. What's your budget?

Edited by Undead, 27 January 2011 - 01:47 PM.

#62 Lord Sojar

Lord Sojar

Mesmer of Death

• Site Contributors
  • 2111 posts
  • Profession:Mesmer
  • Guild Tag:[Heil]
  • Server:Maguuma

Posted 22 March 2011 - 08:56 PM

Seasonic, yet again, wipes the floor with the competition.  

The Season X-Series 560W is flawless.

http://www.anandtech...ic-xseries-560w

#63 Undead

Undead

Technician

• Technicians
  • 861 posts

Posted 23 March 2011 - 06:14 AM

The Kingwin LZP-550 is actually better than the Seasonic X-560, it's the best consumer 550w currently available. They're both very good, though.

Review

I'm eager to see how their Platinum efficiency X-1000 will perform though. Corsair AFAIK is going to replace the ancient HX1000. My guess is it's either going to use CWT DSG, CWT PUC Silver, or the Seasonic X-1000 platform.