• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 laserbot

laserbot

Pale Tree Seedling

• New Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 25 October 2012 - 12:42 AM

I'm looking for an effective early build as a thief just leveling through solo PVE. I see D/D seems to be popular, but I'm mostly fighting 1v1, so the death blossom build doesn't seem appropriate yet. Any thoughts on that--and how to get through the first 20 levels quickly and effectively?

(I have a guardian that is 16 but it's already boring as I don't feel like my character is growing at all...)

Also, I'm new to GW2 and am curious about the general "L2P" strategy.

I'm used to WoW where you stand still (mostly) and try to focus on a perfect rotation. I'm finding that doing that in GW, even at super low levels, is deadly. Can someone explain the basics of combat and maneuvering, especially as a thief since they seem super fragile?

#2 brokerib

brokerib

Asuran Acolyte

• Members
  • 88 posts
  • Guild Tag:[HOWL]
  • Server:Sea of Sorrows

Posted 25 October 2012 - 09:00 AM

Apologies, wall of text incoming...

Best bet at low levels is to try out the different weapon sets and see what works best for your play style.

If you're not use to the movement system, then sword/pistol may be a good choice.  You get alot of manuverability from the no.2 skill, the no.3 skill drops mobs fast and gives you limited evasion, and the no.5 skill drops a field blindness, so even if you're standing right in front of a mob you won't get hit.  And most of the sword strikes hit multiple foes, so you can take down several mobs at once.