Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
- - - - -

GWGuru2 Contains Malware?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
23 replies to this topic

#1 Baldur The Bold

Baldur The Bold

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 443 posts
  • Guild Tag:[ARM]
  • Server:Blackgate

Posted 01 November 2012 - 04:23 PM

Warning: Something's Not Right Here!
www.guildwars2guru.com contains malware. Your computer might catch a virus if you visit this site.

Google has found malicious software may be installed onto your computer if you proceed. If you've visited this site in the past or you trust this site, it's possible that it has just recently been compromised by a hacker. You should not proceed, and perhaps try again tomorrow or go somewhere else.

We have already notified www.guildwars2guru.com that we found malware on the site. For more about the problems found on www.guildwars2guru.com, visit the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page.

Go back

If you understand that visiting this site may harm your computer, proceed anyway.

Help improve detection of malware by sending additional data to Google about sites on which you see this warning. This data will be handled in accordance with the Safe Browsing privacy policies.


#2 Khalija

Khalija

    Leaf on the Wind

  • Administrators
  • Curse Premium
  • 4171 posts
  • Profession:Mesmer
  • Server:Jade Quarry

Posted 01 November 2012 - 04:30 PM

Hey everyone - thanks for your reports. It looks like we had a bad ad weasel its way in. It was quickly reported and dealt with by the Curse devs so everything's good now. :)

Feel free to PM me if you have a question regarding moderation, want to leave some feedback, or just want to chat!


#3 Juanele

Juanele

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1742 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 04:30 PM

I received this too. I think it has to do with the curse network as I've visited other sites on the network and it has done the same thing. It must be something with their ad distribution.

#4 matsif

matsif

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1516 posts
  • Server:Fort Aspenwood

Posted 01 November 2012 - 04:33 PM

still receiving it right now, was about to make a post but glad to see it's already sorted.

good work mods/admins.

#5 Azure Skye

Azure Skye

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2075 posts
  • Location:(づ。*◕__◕。)づ・。*。✧・゜゜・。✧・。*。✧ Magic!
  • Profession:Mesmer
  • Guild Tag:[HEAT]
  • Server:Dragonbrand

Posted 01 November 2012 - 04:39 PM

I ran my anti-virus to make sure. XD Thank you,Khalija for the quick reponse to the matter. =)

#6 Tyu

Tyu

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 05:12 PM

Just got it as well so its still happening. -  Althou when i click on the *why was this site blocked* it clearly says you effected nothing.

#7 alu91

alu91

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 119 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 05:18 PM

a k thx for he quick answer :D

Edited by alu91, 01 November 2012 - 05:18 PM.


#8 Ernesto

Ernesto

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 119 posts
  • Guild Tag:[Gin]
  • Server:Henge of Denravi

Posted 01 November 2012 - 05:31 PM

So, we all have to change all our passwords and emails etc since it fished all of it from the session?

#9 Khalija

Khalija

    Leaf on the Wind

  • Administrators
  • Curse Premium
  • 4171 posts
  • Profession:Mesmer
  • Server:Jade Quarry

Posted 01 November 2012 - 06:15 PM

View PostErnesto, on 01 November 2012 - 05:31 PM, said:

So, we all have to change all our passwords and emails etc since it fished all of it from the session?

Our database wasn't compromised. The issue stemmed from a third-party ad provider which has been dealt with.

Feel free to PM me if you have a question regarding moderation, want to leave some feedback, or just want to chat!


#10 XSevSpreeX

XSevSpreeX

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 145 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 06:15 PM

View PostErnesto, on 01 November 2012 - 05:31 PM, said:

So, we all have to change all our passwords and emails etc since it fished all of it from the session?
I'd say it's more likely that we don't have to change our passwords, just don't click on any advertisements until this is resolved.

#11 Flaming_Foxx

Flaming_Foxx

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 448 posts
  • Location:New Zealand

Posted 01 November 2012 - 07:31 PM

Had not been dealt with.. Am getting the message from Chrome at the moment... Was not getting it previously.

#12 Virdiana Sovari

Virdiana Sovari

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  • Server:Gunnar’s Hold

Posted 01 November 2012 - 07:43 PM

It had been dealt with, it's just that chrome has it's own database...and it can display the message for ages now as it has seen malware once here.

#13 Occultus

Occultus

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 148 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 07:45 PM

Still getting the message on Firefox too.

#14 Valkaire

Valkaire

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 673 posts
  • Guild Tag:[Fire]
  • Server:Sea of Sorrows

Posted 01 November 2012 - 07:57 PM

Still getting the error from firefox and still unable to access the site through google search =[

#15 Khalija

Khalija

    Leaf on the Wind

  • Administrators
  • Curse Premium
  • 4171 posts
  • Profession:Mesmer
  • Server:Jade Quarry

Posted 01 November 2012 - 08:08 PM

Yes, the message will remain until the site has been reviewed, which has already been requested. I'm not sure how long it takes.

Edit: "If no malware is found, we'll remove the warning from your site. This may take a day or so to happen..."

Feel free to PM me if you have a question regarding moderation, want to leave some feedback, or just want to chat!


#16 Spasm

Spasm

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 08:28 PM

well its not like u cant use the forum, just keep ur clickeys under control and ur security up should suffice

#17 Ernesto

Ernesto

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 119 posts
  • Guild Tag:[Gin]
  • Server:Henge of Denravi

Posted 01 November 2012 - 08:51 PM

They could have served us a flash ad that used the last security hole in flash and every single computer that visited curse has been compromised.

But naturally, that isnt an important thing to tell the users, because that might hurt the reputation, so instead of being pro-active, we drop a little post in a corner if googles malware filter triggers.

Bad form.

#18 Telshin

Telshin

    Curse Developer

  • Curse Staff
  • Curse Premium
  • 18 posts
  • Server:Anvil Rock

Posted 01 November 2012 - 10:32 PM

One of the ads that was served from one our providers had an issue. Curse quickly contacted the provider to inform them of the issue on their end. The ad has been removed and we've temporarily disabled the offending pieces. The reason for the pop up still existing is that we are waiting on Google to review and remove said flag.

Thank you for your patience and understanding!

#19 thedeapee

thedeapee

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 196 posts
  • Location:WV

Posted 01 November 2012 - 10:32 PM

Somethig seems fishy here.  Were our computers compromised from just loading the ad or only if we click the ad?  It's poor form to give such little information.

#20 Sprocket McKenzie

Sprocket McKenzie

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 3 posts
  • Guild Tag:[KEG]
  • Server:Sea of Sorrows

Posted 01 November 2012 - 10:58 PM

View Postthedeapee, on 01 November 2012 - 10:32 PM, said:

Somethig seems fishy here.  Were our computers compromised from just loading the ad or only if we click the ad?  It's poor form to give such little information.

Your computer was not compromised, they need Google to review the site before the warning will be removed. All this information is in this thread.

#21 Khalija

Khalija

    Leaf on the Wind

  • Administrators
  • Curse Premium
  • 4171 posts
  • Profession:Mesmer
  • Server:Jade Quarry

Posted 01 November 2012 - 11:29 PM

View Postthedeapee, on 01 November 2012 - 10:32 PM, said:

Somethig seems fishy here.  Were our computers compromised from just loading the ad or only if we click the ad?  It's poor form to give such little information.

If you are worried, I suggest downloading Malwarebytes to scan your computer.

Feel free to PM me if you have a question regarding moderation, want to leave some feedback, or just want to chat!


#22 Floryn

Floryn

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 113 posts
  • Location:bob-guild.net
  • Guild Tag:[BoB]
  • Server:Gunnar’s Hold

Posted 01 November 2012 - 11:33 PM

It's not clear yet, my  website security suite (sitelock) removed our trusted seal due to guildwars2guru.com  being flagged as containing malware. Only way to get it back was by removing  all the backlinks to guildwars2guru.com

sucuri, sitelock and other online security  suites rely on Google Safe Browsing, Norton Safe Web, Phish tank, Opera, SiteAdvisor, in addition to their own scanners.

This flagging  will take a while:

Google said:

Upon receiving a Malware Review request, an automated set of algorithms verifies that the site has been cleaned. These algorithms revisit a subset of both the malicious and non-malicious pages that were scanned when the site was originally flagged. Additionally, these algorithms test some pages that were not originally scanned. If none of the tested pages are found to be malicious, the site is deemed to be safe, and warnings are removed from search results. A typical appeal takes only several hours to complete, although in some cases the process may take up to one day.

In addition to processing appeal requests from webmasters, we also rescan compromised sites periodically.

Edited by Floryn, 01 November 2012 - 11:45 PM.


#23 SuperNova

SuperNova

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 820 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 02 November 2012 - 12:08 AM

Not the first time the Curse network has fallen foul of this tbh.

#24 Khalija

Khalija

    Leaf on the Wind

  • Administrators
  • Curse Premium
  • 4171 posts
  • Profession:Mesmer
  • Server:Jade Quarry

Posted 02 November 2012 - 03:11 AM

The malware was removed earlier in the day, but like previously mentioned, the warning might take up to a day to clear.

View PostSuperNova, on 02 November 2012 - 12:08 AM, said:

Not the first time the Curse network has fallen foul of this tbh.
And not the first time many other sites have dealt with the same issue. It's not something that just happens on the Curse Network and to think otherwise would be silly.

I'm closing this post because we have an official statement from Curse on the front page now: http://www.guildwars...ice-from-curse/

Thanks to those that reported the issue earlier on in the day.

Feel free to PM me if you have a question regarding moderation, want to leave some feedback, or just want to chat!





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users