Google Chrome finding Malwars on GW2 Guru
#1
Posted 01 November 2012 - 04:45 PM
Also, it just started doing it this morning and it does it every time I go to the site now.
http://i.imgur.com/lcjj3.jpg
Sorry for the massive screenshot...just recently started using a 2nd monitor to browse websites and stuff while gaming, had no idea it included both in the screen capture.
#2
Posted 01 November 2012 - 04:46 PM
#3
Posted 01 November 2012 - 04:49 PM
#4
Posted 01 November 2012 - 04:51 PM
I clicked on "This isn't an attack site." Got taken to some "Badware" site that I immediately got off of because it was scaring me.
going to run some malware checks later methinks.
#5
Posted 01 November 2012 - 05:40 PM
dorin, on 01 November 2012 - 04:49 PM, said:
Teehee!
Hah, just noticed I spelled Malware wrong in the thread title...but Malwars kind of fits I guess =P
For now I plan to stay off GW2Guru until this gets resolved. I have had way to much bad luck with malware my whole life because I am a retard and I think links like "Click here to piss on a girl scouts face!" are legit.
#6
Posted 01 November 2012 - 05:41 PM
#7
Posted 01 November 2012 - 05:46 PM
hobbes, on 01 November 2012 - 05:40 PM, said:
For now I plan to stay off GW2Guru until this gets resolved. I have had way to much bad luck with malware my whole life because I am a retard and I think links like "Click here to piss on a girl scouts face!" are legit.
99% of malware comes from advertising. A good ad-block extension can keep most of them from even loading on your computer.
Curse owns gw2guru, so the actual odds that it would be from them is fairly low (it's bad PR).
Edited by G L J, 01 November 2012 - 05:46 PM.
#8
Posted 01 November 2012 - 05:51 PM
.. and when I clicked on the link for "more info" it gave a big list of factors as to why it was currently flagged .. and every single one gave no reason.
Was like ... "In the past 90 days, 0 instances were reported of Malware!" ... "In the last 90 days, 0 users reported downloading viruses from this site!" lol
#9
Posted 01 November 2012 - 05:53 PM
#10
Posted 01 November 2012 - 06:01 PM
Sinful01, on 01 November 2012 - 05:51 PM, said:
.. and when I clicked on the link for "more info" it gave a big list of factors as to why it was currently flagged .. and every single one gave no reason.
Was like ... "In the past 90 days, 0 instances were reported of Malware!" ... "In the last 90 days, 0 users reported downloading viruses from this site!" lol
#11
Posted 01 November 2012 - 06:02 PM
For instance, an avatar, an ad, etc.
#12
Posted 01 November 2012 - 06:06 PM
#13
Posted 01 November 2012 - 06:06 PM
#14
Posted 01 November 2012 - 06:09 PM
#15
Posted 01 November 2012 - 06:17 PM
#17
Posted 01 November 2012 - 07:20 PM
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

This topic is locked








