Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
- - - - -

Google Chrome finding Malwars on GW2 Guru


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
16 replies to this topic

#1 hobbes

hobbes

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 60 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Server:Maguuma

Posted 01 November 2012 - 04:45 PM

Google chrome is coming up with the red Malware screen whenever I go to guru.  I don't believe it, I am sure its a false positive, but just wanted to bring it to the attention of people so they can figure out what might trigger it.

Also, it just started doing it this morning and it does it every time I go to the site now.


http://i.imgur.com/lcjj3.jpg

Sorry for the massive screenshot...just recently started using a 2nd monitor to browse websites and stuff while gaming, had no idea it included both in the screen capture.

#2 TGIFrisbie

TGIFrisbie

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 620 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 04:46 PM

Same here, but I *think* sites are flagged by users and reported to Google.  If that is the case I suspect some maliciousness afoot.

#3 dorin

dorin

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 83 posts
  • Server:Ruins of Surmia

Posted 01 November 2012 - 04:49 PM

gg for 2nd tab though :D

#4 ArlanKels

ArlanKels

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 294 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 04:51 PM

SAme thing happening on Firefox. Reported attack site!

I clicked on "This isn't an attack site."  Got taken to some "Badware" site that I immediately got off of because it was scaring me.

going to run some malware checks later methinks.

#5 hobbes

hobbes

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 60 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Server:Maguuma

Posted 01 November 2012 - 05:40 PM

View Postdorin, on 01 November 2012 - 04:49 PM, said:

gg for 2nd tab though :D

Teehee!

Hah, just noticed I spelled Malware wrong in the thread title...but Malwars kind of fits I guess =P

For now I plan to stay off GW2Guru until this gets resolved.  I have had way to much bad luck with malware my whole life because I am a retard and I think links like "Click here to piss on a girl scouts face!" are legit.

#6 Leriel

Leriel

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 05:41 PM

+1 on that, same thing happening to me on chrome

#7 G L J

G L J

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 608 posts
  • Location:Texas
  • Server:Sea of Sorrows

Posted 01 November 2012 - 05:46 PM

I'm receiving it from google chrome as well.


View Posthobbes, on 01 November 2012 - 05:40 PM, said:


For now I plan to stay off GW2Guru until this gets resolved.  I have had way to much bad luck with malware my whole life because I am a retard and I think links like "Click here to piss on a girl scouts face!" are legit.

99% of malware comes from advertising. A good ad-block extension can keep most of them from even loading on your computer.

Curse owns gw2guru, so the actual odds that it would be from them is fairly low (it's bad PR).

Edited by G L J, 01 November 2012 - 05:46 PM.


#8 Sinful01

Sinful01

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 05:51 PM

Funny, I just had this happen with Firefox too.

.. and when I clicked on the link for "more info" it gave a big list of factors as to why it was currently flagged .. and every single one gave no reason.

Was like ... "In the past 90 days, 0 instances were reported of Malware!" ... "In the last 90 days, 0 users reported downloading viruses from this site!" lol

#9 Tzu Qui Jinn

Tzu Qui Jinn

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2736 posts
  • Location:Eternal Battlegrounds Jumping Puzzle
  • Guild Tag:[CAMP]
  • Server:Sanctum of Rall

Posted 01 November 2012 - 05:53 PM

It's happening on Firefox also. Perhaps CURSE has not paid the internet mafia their dues?

#10 Creqaw

Creqaw

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 88 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Guild Tag:[GoT]
  • Server:Far Shiverpeaks

Posted 01 November 2012 - 06:01 PM

View PostSinful01, on 01 November 2012 - 05:51 PM, said:

Funny, I just had this happen with Firefox too.

.. and when I clicked on the link for "more info" it gave a big list of factors as to why it was currently flagged .. and every single one gave no reason.

Was like ... "In the past 90 days, 0 instances were reported of Malware!" ... "In the last 90 days, 0 users reported downloading viruses from this site!" lol
Yeah, it even says that gw2guru is not a dangerous site on that page.

#11 Red_Falcon

Red_Falcon

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2417 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 06:02 PM

Chance are guru is hosting something that is hosted on a suspicious site.
For instance, an avatar, an ad, etc.

#12 Shatteredz

Shatteredz

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 243 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 06:06 PM

Was about to post something about this. Experiencing the same stuff on firefox, AVG blocked a virus that had something to do with java(i can post specifics if requested, i think) and a day later firefox started to come up with this is an attack site!

#13 Taishar203

Taishar203

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 26 posts
  • Location:India
  • Server:Blacktide

Posted 01 November 2012 - 06:06 PM

I have the same on Google Chrome. Just installed a fresh copy of Windows 7 too( for the first time lol...) and this happened. Glad to know it wasn't something Windows related.

#14 Danael

Danael

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 413 posts
  • Guild Tag:[AS]
  • Server:Elona Reach

Posted 01 November 2012 - 06:09 PM

I opended another threat for firefox (http://www.guildwars...acking-website/) after you. Sorry for the double posting, you were there first :D

#15 XSevSpreeX

XSevSpreeX

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 145 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 06:17 PM

A GW2G admin already said they're working on it and it most likely is just from an ad on the site. Database wasn't compromised so don't worry about your accounts. Just don't click on any ads.

#16 Sinful01

Sinful01

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 06:51 PM

View PostXSevSpreeX, on 01 November 2012 - 06:17 PM, said:

A GW2G admin already said they're working on it and it most likely is just from an ad on the site. Database wasn't compromised so don't worry about your accounts. Just don't click on any ads.

But they're so shiny!

#17 Corsair

Corsair

    Is trivia

  • Super Moderators
  • 5469 posts
  • Server:Sea of Sorrows

Posted 01 November 2012 - 07:20 PM

Heya guys, we've responded to this in here, located in Site and Forum Support. It was caused by one of the third party ad providers and has since been removed.

Yo Ho Ho and a bottle of rum

Have a moderation related issue or just want to chat? Send me a PM.


Gipsy Danger reporting for duty!





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users