Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
* - - - - 3 votes

Update Notes for November 5th

arenanet

  • Please log in to reply
98 replies to this topic

#31 Oryx

Oryx

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 44 posts
  • Location:Slovenia
  • Guild Tag:[GWSI]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 06 November 2012 - 08:37 AM

View PostLordkrall, on 06 November 2012 - 08:29 AM, said:

Oh I am sorry they did not cater to your specific needs with this patch. I'll make sure they do so in the future.


Why do people think it is a good idea to postpone completed fixes just because they don't care?

oh zip it!!
you know there are a trillion bugs, and they fix the smallest, most unimportant, most microscopic one.
what! the! hell?! there are a bunch of new bugs now!
so anet tempered with ONLY the dye drop rate. -> https://forum-en.gui...5th-Update-Bugs
i am so pissed with them! instead of fixing the game, they are making new content and leaving the bugs. Arah will be again closed within a couple of days, because THEY CAN'T OPEN A FRIGGIN DOOR!!

*had to get this out. phew*

#32 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 06 November 2012 - 08:41 AM

View PostOryx, on 06 November 2012 - 08:37 AM, said:

oh zip it!!
you know there are a trillion bugs, and they fix the smallest, most unimportant, most microscopic one.
what! the! hell?! there are a bunch of new bugs now!
so anet tempered with ONLY the dye drop rate. -> https://forum-en.gui...5th-Update-Bugs
i am so pissed with them! instead of fixing the game, they are making new content and leaving the bugs. Arah will be again closed within a couple of days, because THEY CAN'T OPEN A FRIGGIN DOOR!!

*had to get this out. phew*

There are not a trillion bugs. Not even a million. And probably not even a thousand.

They fixes the issues that they can fix fast. They are working on the harder issues. But people like you seems to think that they should put everything on hold just because they did not manage to fix a specific bug.

Arah is closed because people are too lazy to do the events, and then whine about bugs.
As far as I know it has never, since release, been bugged on my server.


I love how all these hobby game developers on these forums know exactly how to fix everything and yet all they do is complain instead of actually working for ArenaNet and fixing it themselves.

#33 Oryx

Oryx

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 44 posts
  • Location:Slovenia
  • Guild Tag:[GWSI]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 06 November 2012 - 08:46 AM

View PostLordkrall, on 06 November 2012 - 08:41 AM, said:

...
Arah is closed because people are too lazy to do the events, and then whine about bugs.
As far as I know it has never, since release, been bugged on my server.
...

what do you mean, too lazy?
on my server, there just isn't an event. no event at the contested waypoint outside arah, and no event at the contested waypoint where the npc starts ( the town outside arah).
i don't get it. im on EU server and people tend to sleep at night and sometimes they don't do group events in the middle of the night. and i'm sure it's the same in America. so you're saying that's  why it fails?

oh oh, and another thing! wasnt the patch like 20mb?

#34 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 06 November 2012 - 08:50 AM

View PostOryx, on 06 November 2012 - 08:46 AM, said:

what do you mean, too lazy?
on my server, there just isn't an event. no event at the contested waypoint outside arah, and no event at the contested waypoint where the npc starts ( the town outside arah).
i don't get it. im on EU server and people tend to sleep at night and sometimes they don't do group events in the middle of the night. and i'm sure it's the same in America. so you're saying that's  why it fails?

oh oh, and another thing! wasnt the patch like 20mb?

Too lazy as in not actually doing succeeding in doing the events.
People need to actively work for it to get access to Arah and it is quite a long chain that could take hours. With several events leading up to it.

It was around 43mb.
Which probably means they sneaked some Lost Shore stuff in as well.

#35 Waar Kijk Je Naar

Waar Kijk Je Naar

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1595 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Profession:Guardian
  • Guild Tag:[GSD]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 06 November 2012 - 08:56 AM

View PostOryx, on 06 November 2012 - 08:37 AM, said:

Arah will be again closed within a couple of days, because THEY CAN'T OPEN A FRIGGIN DOOR!!
It's closed already.

It's been like this for several weeks now. As soon as the event hits Shank Anchorage it gets stuck.

Edited by Waar Kijk Je Naar, 06 November 2012 - 08:57 AM.


#36 malevolence

malevolence

    Vanguard Scout

  • Community Contributors
  • 422 posts
  • Guild Tag:[LMBO]
  • Server:Underworld

Posted 06 November 2012 - 09:51 AM

View PostLordkrall, on 06 November 2012 - 08:41 AM, said:

Arah is closed because people are too lazy to do the events.

FYI , the events are all STUCK since WEEKS, is not that people are lazy, it is just Anet that cannot fix the damn issues for weeks now.

#37 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 06 November 2012 - 09:54 AM

View Postmalevolence, on 06 November 2012 - 09:51 AM, said:

FYI , the events are all STUCK since WEEKS, is not that people are lazy, it is just Anet that cannot fix the damn issues for weeks now.

If an event is stuck it gets reset every time the server is restarted. This have happened during these last few weeks.
Where is it stuck might I ask? (As in what does the event say?)

Funny however that it was very possible to do Arah a few days ago on Underworld by the way. Must have been a different version of Underworld than yours I suppose.

#38 GSSB Lunaspike

GSSB Lunaspike

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 101 posts
  • Guild Tag:[MBRN]
  • Server:Borlis Pass

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:00 AM

View PostHelexax, on 06 November 2012 - 06:01 AM, said:

Unless is completely breaks or unbalances the game, no one bug is more important than another. They get fixed when they can.

News for you buddy, the game is broken for several professions because their skills don't work right. That's when they even work to begin with.

As for why this was fixed so fast when necromancers,guardians, rangers have been playing with broken skills since before release? That's simple, the more dyes that drop the less people buy from the gemstore.

If you need a massive list of bugs that make certain things next to unplayable all you have to do is goto one of the profession forums on the official site. Yes, the official site has lists of bugs that the devs know about. Almost no fixes. Sure you can point out that GW1 had skill bugs 6 years after release that they just never fixed. That doesn't make it right though.

https://forum-en.gui...Ranger-Bug-List
https://forum-en.gui...n-NB44-NT18-NP7
https://forum-en.gui...ugs-compilation

etc...

Edited by GSSB Lunaspike, 06 November 2012 - 10:05 AM.


#39 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:02 AM

View PostGSSB Lunaspike, on 06 November 2012 - 10:00 AM, said:

News for you buddy, the game is broken for several professions because their skills don't work right. That's when they even work to begin with.

As for why this was fixed so fast when necromancers,guardians, rangers have been playing with broken skills since before release? That's simple, the more dyes that drop the less people buy from the gemstore.

Broken would imply that they are not playable, this is clearly not the case since loads of people with those professions have completed more or less everything in the game.

#40 Waar Kijk Je Naar

Waar Kijk Je Naar

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1595 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Profession:Guardian
  • Guild Tag:[GSD]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:22 AM

View PostLordkrall, on 06 November 2012 - 09:54 AM, said:

If an event is stuck it gets reset every time the server is restarted. This have happened during these last few weeks.
Where is it stuck might I ask? (As in what does the event say?)
It gets stuck the first time it runs through the chain, at Shank Anchorage. I can't find the specific event on the wiki, and can't take a screenshot as I'm not at home atm, but I think it says something among the lines of "The pact are trying to establish a forward base". In any case, the Anchorage waypoint is contested, there's bone walls up all around, and the event doesn't progress. The event to move on to Arah never starts because of this.

#41 Coren

Coren

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2395 posts
  • Location:In my lab BOOKAH
  • Profession:Engineer
  • Guild Tag:[DRK]

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:26 AM

View PostLordkrall, on 06 November 2012 - 09:54 AM, said:



If an event is stuck it gets reset every time the server is restarted. This have happened during these last few weeks.
Where is it stuck might I ask? (As in what does the event say?)

Funny however that it was very possible to do Arah a few days ago on Underworld by the way. Must have been a different version of Underworld than yours I suppose.

Don't get funny. Some servers have Arah problems and have had them for a long time. Your server doesn't ave problems? Good for you but don't presume to know about the ones you claim are lazy. It's a serious problem. Should we be punished for playing at a slower pace and can't finish our personal story? No.

Saying that it clears the bug at every new build is stupid because the bug will happen again, it's like cutting out a cancer, if you don't get to the roots then it will grow back.

Will wining about help? No, but we can be pissed about it. Im sure they'll fix it eventually, but such a huge end story breaking problem can and will cause players to leave.

#42 GSSB Lunaspike

GSSB Lunaspike

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 101 posts
  • Guild Tag:[MBRN]
  • Server:Borlis Pass

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:28 AM

View PostLordkrall, on 06 November 2012 - 10:02 AM, said:

Broken would imply that they are not playable, this is clearly not the case since loads of people with those professions have completed more or less everything in the game.

So because people can complete things with the help of other professions that aren't as broken that makes it o.k. to ignore? Did you even click on the links? Did you even look at just the bugs for those three professions alone?

Anet wants to add in even more content, but ignore the bugs with the current content. I don't get how they view things. I don't start on something, get it halfway done, then decide "oh hey, time to start on a new project". Sure they can say they have different teams, but if that's the case they need to fire whatever team they have in charge of fixing bugs because they are taking a pay check to do absolutely nothing.

#43 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:32 AM

View PostCoren, on 06 November 2012 - 10:26 AM, said:

Don't get funny. Some servers have Arah problems and have had them for a long time. Your server doesn't ave problems? Good for you but don't presume to know about the ones you claim are lazy. It's a serious problem. Should we be punished for playing at a slower pace and can't finish our personal story? No.

Saying that it clears the bug at every new build is stupid because the bug will happen again, it's like cutting out a cancer, if you don't get to the roots then it will grow back.

Will wining about help? No, but we can be pissed about it. Im sure they'll fix it eventually, but such a huge end story breaking problem can and will cause players to leave.

If you have actually payed attention to the post I answered it was from someone playing on my server, that claimed that the event was bugged. I simply stated that it was not the case.

In most cases it IS people that are lazy and dont bother with the events.
Sure there are some servers that might have it bugged for real but for some reason many servers tend shout that it is bugged even if it all comes down to lazyness.

I did not say it clears the bug, I said it resets the event chain so that they should be able to try it again.

View PostGSSB Lunaspike, on 06 November 2012 - 10:28 AM, said:

So because people can complete things with the help of other professions that aren't as broken that makes it o.k. to ignore? Did you even click on the links? Did you even look at just the bugs for those three professions alone?

Anet wants to add in even more content, but ignore the bugs with the current content. I don't get how they view things. I don't start on something, get it halfway done, then decide "oh hey, time to start on a new project". Sure they can say they have different teams, but if that's the case they need to fire whatever team they have in charge of fixing bugs because they are taking a pay check to do absolutely nothing.

I have played necromancer myself. And I have yet to have any problems. Have completed the whole personal story without any help (with exception of the Dungeon of course) and clearly it works well.
I have also done all of the dungeons, several of them with only these "broken" professions.

Oh, maybe they should hire you instead? Since clearly you know exactly how easy it is to fix all these bugs? :)

#44 Sevens

Sevens

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 441 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:37 AM

I will admit that I am a GW2 fanboi
and generally an Anet white knight
now saying that I must concede that this even pisses me off
There is a DE in Gendarren fields (spelling on that?) that has been stuck since Headstart...the lady stands in the middle of the bridge waiting for an escort but will never move to start the event, I have now been stuck on my personal story for a week because I cant get the skritt scouts to engage so I cant do the instance....I know bug fixes take time, and I know this fix was a minor one but come on Anet when even a fan like me starts to get upset you had best start stepping it up.

#45 jirayasan

jirayasan

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 764 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:37 AM

Only 1 thing? they didn't do anything more than that?

#46 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:39 AM

View Postjirayasan, on 06 November 2012 - 10:37 AM, said:

Only 1 thing? they didn't do anything more than that?

They probably did, seeing as the size is way too big for a simple drop-fix.
Most likely added more Lost Shore things.

#47 Velicia

Velicia

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 157 posts
  • Location:England
  • Guild Tag:[BoD]
  • Server:Seafarer’s Rest

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:42 AM

This is annoying, but at the end of the day it probably took one developer, less than 5 minutes to fix. It would take next to no testing to confirm if the bug was fixed, so why not release the patch when its done?

The patch was also around 50~mb so I'm guessing some of the upcoming content went into it.

Yes there are lots of bugs and yes its annoying some have been there for ages, but anyone in a development based job (esp the software/game devs) can probably understand that this fix was probably done in someone's break.

#48 ilr

ilr

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2700 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:42 AM

nerf something people liked and then introduce a ton of other bugs in the process?

it doesn't get any better than this, hahahaha

#49 jirayasan

jirayasan

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 764 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:43 AM

View PostLordkrall, on 06 November 2012 - 10:39 AM, said:

They probably did, seeing as the size is way too big for a simple drop-fix.
Most likely added more Lost Shore things.

Yeah the update was more than 50mb if i remember.
Should be in the the Updates Notes then.

#50 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:44 AM

View Postjirayasan, on 06 November 2012 - 10:43 AM, said:

Yeah the update was more than 50mb if i remember.
Should be in the the Updates Notes then.

Why?
They don't put hidden stuff in the update notes.
They didn't put any of the new things in Lions Arch in the update notes after all. They want people to find it out themselves.

It is also possible that it is not actually in game yet, and they simply added it in order to show it later.

Edited by Lordkrall, 06 November 2012 - 10:45 AM.


#51 jirayasan

jirayasan

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 764 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:47 AM

View PostLordkrall, on 06 November 2012 - 10:44 AM, said:

Why?
They don't put hidden stuff in the update notes.
They didn't put any of the new things in Lions Arch in the update notes after all. They want people to find it out themselves.

It is also possible that it is not actually in game yet, and they simply added it in order to show it later.

They don't have to say the location, what it is etc.
It should say that something is there in the Update.

#52 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:49 AM

View Postjirayasan, on 06 November 2012 - 10:47 AM, said:

They don't have to say the location, what it is etc.
It should say that something is there in the Update.

Why? That defeats the purpose of people finding it out and being surprised.
They have never posted about hidden content in the update notes. People simply have to find it themselves.

#53 Gervase

Gervase

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Guild Tag:[AWOL]
  • Server:Borlis Pass

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:55 AM

Lol wow...so they broke important areas of the game just to fix something this useless.

Hot fixes should only be applied to real problems, like the mafaking rendering issues in WvW,

#54 IsThisNameTaken

IsThisNameTaken

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 273 posts
  • Server:Piken Square

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:56 AM

View PostOryx, on 06 November 2012 - 08:37 AM, said:

oh zip it!!
you know there are a trillion bugs, and they fix the smallest, most unimportant, most microscopic one.
what! the! hell?! there are a bunch of new bugs now!
so anet tempered with ONLY the dye drop rate. -> https://forum-en.gui...5th-Update-Bugs
i am so pissed with them! instead of fixing the game, they are making new content and leaving the bugs. Arah will be again closed within a couple of days, because THEY CAN'T OPEN A FRIGGIN DOOR!!

*had to get this out. phew*

Maybe they are scheming up an evil way to...
Spoiler


#55 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 06 November 2012 - 11:00 AM

What important areas of the game was broken with this update? (I am genuinely interesting seeing as I am not at home and can't test it myself at the moment)

#56 XgreatArtist

XgreatArtist

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1496 posts
  • Location:In Your Bedroom
  • Server:Jade Quarry

Posted 06 November 2012 - 11:18 AM

View PostIsThisNameTaken, on 06 November 2012 - 10:56 AM, said:

Maybe they are scheming up an evil way to...
Spoiler
i believe anet has added a new item called 'the nuke' that enables us to nuke fort trinity and aim for trahearne. that explains the 50mb update.

#57 EarlZ088

EarlZ088

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 11:27 AM

Didnt even notice the increased drops, was still getting the same dyes / hour when im doing my farming runs.

#58 Amelia

Amelia

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 39 posts
  • Location:In Queue
  • Server:Gunnar’s Hold

Posted 06 November 2012 - 11:31 AM

What a sad news Q_Q. I was soo happy cause of new dye drop rates .... >_<

#59 Adian_

Adian_

    Fahrar Cub

  • New Members
  • 12 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Server:Blackgate

Posted 06 November 2012 - 12:47 PM

Another thing I've noticed that wasn't mentioned: I no longer need to enter my Authenticator every time I log in.  Either they've enabled remembering your network like they did with email verification, or Authenticator prompting is broken.  I'm betting the former.

#60 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 06 November 2012 - 12:49 PM

View PostAdian_, on 06 November 2012 - 12:47 PM, said:

Another thing I've noticed that wasn't mentioned: I no longer need to enter my Authenticator every time I log in.  Either they've enabled remembering your network like they did with email verification, or Authenticator prompting is broken.  I'm betting the former.

Yep according to the forums the have enabled remember network.

https://forum-en.gui...ged/#post650566





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: arenanet

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users