• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Sunspears

Sunspears

Fahrar Cub

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 02:22 AM

Hey everyone, i'm completely new to this and I need assistance in either buying a prebuilt computer or building one myself. My budget is around $850 and I need everything except speakers. So I need a decent size monitor, cheap mouse, keyboard, OS, etc and I also want my desktop to perform fast with at least mid-range to max graphics for GW2 if that is possible.

Since Black Friday sales are going on. Is this computer good enough to run GW2 or should I just buy individual parts and build it myself? I want your opinion on this computer: http://www.newegg.co...NovGaming111312

Note: Would I need to clean the internal parts of gaming desktop? My room collects dust sometimes and my previous computer overheated and died for this same reason.

Edited by Sunspears, 14 November 2012 - 02:36 AM.

#2 typographie

typographie

Seraph Guardian

• Members
  • 1938 posts
  • Guild Tag:[LAW]

Posted 14 November 2012 - 05:29 AM

If you are able and willing to build your own, its almost always a better idea to do so. You'll be able to make smarter choices about components and probably end up with a better-balanced system for the same or less money.

Case in point: a gamer doesn't need a Core i7 and 16 GB of RAM. A Core i5-3570K + 8 GB of RAM would have freed up ~$150 that could be spent on a decent video card that that pre-built system sorely lacks.

A good case may include dust filters, and if you know this might be a particular problem you might want to get a case that does. Normally a PC should be checked for dust occasionally and the temperatures monitored from time to time, but its not something you should have to do all that frequently. A modern PC should be down-clocking itself or shutting down to avoid damage from heat if everything is operating properly.

#3 LesionPVP

LesionPVP

Pale Tree Seedling

• New Members
  • 9 posts