• Please log in to reply
69 replies to this topic

#1 chrono06

chrono06

Fahrar Cub

• Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 16 December 2012 - 11:17 PM

So I was a GM in gw1 and an officer in wow. I've had many years experience in being a guild leader. My gw1 guild was a top 100 gvg guild for a while (not bad for pvp casuals), we owned hzh, had some speed clear records before, etc. in wow our guild was small but was semi hardcore/casual, we weren't crazy but could raid hard modes with the best of them.

I've been playing gw2 since beta and launch, haven't really found a guild that I liked, so figured I would start my own. Turns out it's almost impossible for a new guild to start up. Not sure if its bad design mechanics or if it was intentional thanks to wvw, but small guilds are dead or non existent. Personally I love small guilds. I want to make friends, get to know each other, have an elite team of core players you know and trust and can laugh and goof around with.

Here's the problems:

1) guild buffs: only the huge guilds can afford them and the upgrades. Especially these days because no one will join a new/small guild. If they do they don't rep. And why should they? It hurts them bc they could rep their big guild and get beneficial buffs.
2) Able to join multiple guilds: there's things I like about this and things I hate. I like that I can join a pvp guild, or a dungeon farming guild, and play with both. My problem is if they don't rep you then it's almost worthless. My new guild is currently about 30 members. I had 15 online earlier, but no one was rep'ing bc of having multiple guilds. 15 online should be decently active instead it's dead. I've been in guilds with 500 people who would only have about 20 rep'ing so it's a problem for everyone, not just small guilds.