Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
- - - - -

Equipment Preview Status


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Xuphor

Xuphor

    She's watching...

  • Members
  • 848 posts
  • Location:Tyria, obviously.
  • Server:Ehmry Bay

Posted 19 December 2012 - 02:34 AM

Posted Image



There have been a lot of people irked by the new change to the armor preview system, but thankfully it's not permanent. The feature was removed in order to address functionality issues, and is expected to return to its previous state when the system has been updated.

Quote

We did intend to remove the armor preview temporarily in order to fix issues and improve functionality. So currently, yes, you cannot preview armors outside your own profession—this is only a temporary situation while we work on updates to this system.


#2 Darkthunder

Darkthunder

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • Guild Tag:[RL]
  • Server:Far Shiverpeaks

Posted 19 December 2012 - 07:26 AM

Any word on adding "item preview" to the Black Lion Trading Post? A simple rightclick/preview on any listed item (that can be equipped).

#3 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 19 December 2012 - 07:47 AM

View PostDarkthunder, on 19 December 2012 - 07:26 AM, said:

Any word on adding "item preview" to the Black Lion Trading Post? A simple rightclick/preview on any listed item (that can be equipped).

Fully possible that the addition of that is actually the reason for it being unavailable for now.

#4 jirayasan

jirayasan

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 764 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 19 December 2012 - 07:51 AM

Preview in black lion trading doesn't work, that is more of a problem.

#5 Eon Lilu

Eon Lilu

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2295 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Server:Desolation

Posted 19 December 2012 - 11:15 AM

Was it in patch notes and if not why not? I don't like it when they make changes and don't tell us or explain until days after the change has been made...

#6 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 19 December 2012 - 11:18 AM

View PostEon Lilu, on 19 December 2012 - 11:15 AM, said:

Was it in patch notes and if not why not? I don't like it when they make changes and don't tell us or explain until days after the change has been made...

For all we know it was not a part of the patch, therefore they couldn't really include it in the patch notes.

#7 Eon Lilu

Eon Lilu

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2295 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Server:Desolation

Posted 19 December 2012 - 11:26 AM

View PostLordkrall, on 19 December 2012 - 11:18 AM, said:

For all we know it was not a part of the patch, therefore they couldn't really include it in the patch notes.

Try clicking on the link before running to Anet's defence like usual Lordkrall....

https://forum-en.gui...rst#post1034371

Also seems a few players agree they should of added it to patch notes as it was intended by them and they did know they were doing it.

And even "IF" they could not add it to the patch notes, they could have communicated it to the players on the forums instead of being silent on it for days and allowing 1000 threads and posts to pop up about it, leaving players confused.

Quote

Given that, why wasn’t a note about it included in the patch notes? That would have been quite useful in deterring the creation of multiple threads and been a handy reference to point to if players asked the question anyway.
I do truly thank you for the heads up, as that is fantastic news, but if it was intended as a temporary change to accommodate superior implementation and fixing, I am at a loss as to why a significant UI change wasn’t mentioned.

Edited by Eon Lilu, 19 December 2012 - 11:28 AM.


#8 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 19 December 2012 - 11:28 AM

View PostEon Lilu, on 19 December 2012 - 11:26 AM, said:

Try clicking on the link before running to Anet's defence like usual Lordkrall....

https://forum-en.gui...rst#post1034371

Also seems a few players agree they should of added it to patch notes as it was intended by them and they did know they were doing it.

And where in that thread does a ArenaNet employee state that this was added with the patch....?

#9 Eon Lilu

Eon Lilu

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2295 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Server:Desolation

Posted 19 December 2012 - 11:35 AM

View PostLordkrall, on 19 December 2012 - 11:28 AM, said:

And where in that thread does a ArenaNet employee state that this was added with the patch....?

I'll say it again ....just for you...

They stated it was an intended thing and they knew about it after they were silent about it for a while and didnt communicate anything on it leaving the players in the dark and confused, so loads of posts and topics about it appeared, they only just said something when they could of done it before it was implemented or just after it was implemented...

And the part you magically didn't quote...

"And even "IF" they could not add it to the patch notes, they could have communicated it to the players on the forums instead of being silent on it for days and allowing 1000 threads and posts to pop up about it, leaving players confused."

Quote

Given that, why wasn’t a note about it included in the patch notes? That would have been quite useful in deterring the creation of multiple threads and been a handy reference to point to if players asked the question anyway.
I do truly thank you for the heads up, as that is fantastic news, but if it was intended as a temporary change to accommodate superior implementation and fixing, I am at a loss as to why a significant UI change wasn’t mentioned.

Basically it was just bad communication on there part....again.

Edited by Eon Lilu, 19 December 2012 - 11:36 AM.


#10 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 19 December 2012 - 11:37 AM

But what you whined about was the fact that it was not in the patch notes. The only thing I did was tell you that it might not have been in the patch and therefore could not be added to the patch notes.

I have not said anything about them not talking about it. You did however link a totally irrelevant thread to the discussion at hand.

#11 BrettM

BrettM

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1434 posts
  • Guild Tag:[FPI]
  • Server:Isle of Janthir

Posted 19 December 2012 - 12:42 PM

View PostLordkrall, on 19 December 2012 - 11:37 AM, said:

But what you whined about was the fact that it was not in the patch notes. The only thing I did was tell you that it might not have been in the patch and therefore could not be added to the patch notes.
I'm just not following your thinking here. Do you know some way to patch a game other than actually, you know, applying a patch? If not, then the change was in SOME patch and notes could have been issued for whatever patch included the change. If so, then notes could have been issued for whatever they did that made the change, though I don't know what you would call a change to the game code other than a "patch."

#12 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 19 December 2012 - 01:14 PM

View PostBrettM, on 19 December 2012 - 12:42 PM, said:

I'm just not following your thinking here. Do you know some way to patch a game other than actually, you know, applying a patch? If not, then the change was in SOME patch and notes could have been issued for whatever patch included the change. If so, then notes could have been issued for whatever they did that made the change, though I don't know what you would call a change to the game code other than a "patch."

ArenaNet does have a unique tech that does allow them to patch the game without actually closing down the servers.

Another thing to keep in mind is that disabling things like this most likely only require a change of a line in the code, so really no need what so ever for the players to even download anything (since it is most likely server side)

#13 Space

Space

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 231 posts
  • Location:The Yakslappers
  • Guild Tag:[YaK]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 19 December 2012 - 03:40 PM

happy about this.

#14 Munkee

Munkee

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 70 posts
  • Location:Masschusetts
  • Guild Tag:[Beer]
  • Server:Yak’s Bend

Posted 19 December 2012 - 04:00 PM

I love how within the course of a day they went from saying "previewing armor that wasn't for your profession wasn't intended because it's buggy" to "we're just touching it up." Oh Anet you're doing a wonderful job with this game... [/sarcasm]

#15 Chalky

Chalky

    chalktastic

  • Super Moderators
  • 4786 posts
  • Guild Tag:[GOON]
  • Server:Maguuma

Posted 19 December 2012 - 04:16 PM

Lets try to avoid getting too heated about this.  Try to remember that if you make a massive fuss over every tiny little thing (like, say, a small miscommunication about a minor feature) then nobody is going to listen when you make a fuss about something that's actually important.

Miscommunication happens.  You're going to miscommunicate at some point in your life.  I'm sure you'd like people to give you a break when you do, so perhaps consider giving Anet one about this incident.

Mountains and molehills folks.
Do you need help or just want to chat about moderation?  Drop me a PM.

#16 Juanele

Juanele

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1743 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 06:41 PM

View PostChalky, on 19 December 2012 - 04:16 PM, said:


Mountains and molehills folks.

Agree but that's how the internet works. I do think they should have said something right when they did this though. It would have alleviated a lot of the angst. But this isn't the first time they have been slack on communicating. I wonder if there is a lack of internal communication from the dev team to their community rep team.

#17 Fizzypop

Fizzypop

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 738 posts
  • Server:Dragonbrand

Posted 19 December 2012 - 07:23 PM

View PostChalky, on 19 December 2012 - 04:16 PM, said:

Lets try to avoid getting too heated about this.  Try to remember that if you make a massive fuss over every tiny little thing (like, say, a small miscommunication about a minor feature) then nobody is going to listen when you make a fuss about something that's actually important.

Miscommunication happens.  You're going to miscommunicate at some point in your life.  I'm sure you'd like people to give you a break when you do, so perhaps consider giving Anet one about this incident.

Mountains and molehills folks.

How many times are you allowed to communicate poorly before people are allowed to get annoyed with you? I mean I'm used to poor communication with mmos, but anet has really hit that wall. This isn't the first time at all.

Edited by Xuphor, 19 December 2012 - 09:02 PM.
Don't tell people to just "Stop talking"


#18 Auenwing

Auenwing

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 08:54 PM

View PostXuphor, on 19 December 2012 - 02:34 AM, said:


Posted Image



There have been a lot of people irked by the new change to the armor preview system, but thankfully it's not permanent. The feature was removed in order to address functionality issues, and is expected to return to its previous state when the system has been updated.


Thank you for the info. Good to hear they are addressing this, and the issue that apparently caused problems in the first place. A little more transparency would have been helpful; however if ANet is operating under the value of "fix first, communicate later", then their focus is in the correct place. As long as "communicate" does eventually occur. :)

And yes, looking forward to eventual preview ability on trade post. Perhaps this "fix" is a step towards moving that direction.

#19 Keepy

Keepy

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 198 posts
  • Location:US
  • Server:Sanctum of Rall

Posted 19 December 2012 - 11:21 PM

this is very good news im so glad!

#20 Asudementio

Asudementio

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 567 posts
  • Server:Tarnished Coast

Posted 20 December 2012 - 02:18 AM

View PostFizzypop, on 19 December 2012 - 07:23 PM, said:

How many times are you allowed to communicate poorly before people are allowed to get annoyed with you? I mean I'm used to poor communication with mmos, but anet has really hit that wall. This isn't the first time at all.

They may as well not even communicate with us since everyone is just gonna bit their heads off.....

#21 The Comfy Chair

The Comfy Chair

    The best at space

  • Members
  • 5331 posts
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Profession:Elementalist
  • Guild Tag:[TKOT]
  • Server:Gandara

Posted 20 December 2012 - 07:43 AM

You know why I think it wasn't communicated? Because someone forgot or understandably thought it wasnt a big deal. It's almost like they're human beings or something. Also try to remember arenanet is not a hivemind, things can get lost in the communication intra company as well.

Edited by The Comfy Chair, 20 December 2012 - 07:46 AM.

If you want to check if your computer will run GW2, check here.

If you find out you can't and need to think about upgrading or building another, check here.


#22 Ottoman

Ottoman

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 81 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 02:01 PM

MAKE PREVIEWS FOR ITEMS LISTED ON THE TRADING POST!

#23 Sauce2037

Sauce2037

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Server:Ring of Fire

Posted 20 December 2012 - 08:56 PM

this isn't a big problem but still nice to see it return as it was before :) anywho, the big problem is the fact that you cant preview items at the trading post, please arenanet!

#24 Fizzypop

Fizzypop

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 738 posts
  • Server:Dragonbrand

Posted 22 December 2012 - 01:37 AM

View PostAsudementio, on 20 December 2012 - 02:18 AM, said:

They may as well not even communicate with us since everyone is just gonna bit their heads off.....

Or better yet they could learn to communicate like the rest of the adult population. Companies aren't special. One mistake, okay. Two mistakes, okay. How many mistakes does it take before it gets on your nerves? I doubt y'all would be this forgiving if it was someone else.

#25 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 22 December 2012 - 08:23 AM

View PostFizzypop, on 22 December 2012 - 01:37 AM, said:


Or better yet they could learn to communicate like the rest of the adult population. Companies aren't special. One mistake, okay. Two mistakes, okay. How many mistakes does it take before it gets on your nerves? I doubt y'all would be this forgiving if it was someone else.

Ah yes of course. ArenaNet should after all spend just as much time to report every single change ever made to the game that they do to actually do the changes.

Sure, they could have been clearer with this. But most of the "adult population" did understand that it was a reason for this and did not start raging. Whenever ArenaNet announces something, they get rage, either because people don't like it or people think it is to small to warrant a article or whatever. Whenever they don't announce every little thing they do people rage because they are not open enough.

No matter what they do people will rage. Simple as that.
Also keep in mind that a company consists of humans. Would you rage if your teacher forgot to tell you that they class would talk about politics in tomorrows lesson?

#26 Ryoto

Ryoto

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 222 posts

Posted 22 December 2012 - 08:46 AM

They're finally putting in a preview for TP stuff? This is some of the best news I've heard in a while.

#27 Xuphor

Xuphor

    She's watching...

  • Members
  • 848 posts
  • Location:Tyria, obviously.
  • Server:Ehmry Bay

Posted 23 December 2012 - 01:10 AM

View PostRyoto, on 22 December 2012 - 08:46 AM, said:

They're finally putting in a preview for TP stuff? This is some of the best news I've heard in a while.

No one has said that here, people have only been asking them to add it. They did say back in BWE 2 or 3 that they intend to add it, but have since not mentioned it that I am aware of. It is either extremely low priority, or is very difficult to implement.

#28 Lordkrall

Lordkrall

    Legion Commander

  • Members
  • 5370 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Profession:Warrior
  • Server:Aurora Glade

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:26 AM

View PostXuphor, on 23 December 2012 - 01:10 AM, said:

No one has said that here, people have only been asking them to add it. They did say back in BWE 2 or 3 that they intend to add it, but have since not mentioned it that I am aware of. It is either extremely low priority, or is very difficult to implement.

It is however rather likely that the reason for the current "downtime" is that they are indeed adding that.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users