88 replies to this topic

#61 Kattar

Kattar

Your Shoulder to Cry On

• Administrators
  • 2210 posts

Posted 27 January 2013 - 01:57 AM

View PostJaqen Hghar, on 27 January 2013 - 01:18 AM, said:

The question I'd like answered is that if you can't do commissions for real money or ingame currency, what do you get paid with then? I'm not a complete saint and would like compensation for my time. I'll still be doing personal art of course because I enjoy doing art, but commissions contests will probably take the backburner if this is the policy.

Off topic- @Frost Valkyrie- My figurative nuts! Ovaries if you will, as I am female. :P
You don't get paid at all. With anything. That's the entire whole point of all this. You can't trading anything in game for something that's not already in game.

I've been an artist for years in various media, hence the question. The initial reaction was basically, "well if I can't get paid for creating art related to GW2, then what's the point of doing anything at all?" To which my answer is, "I don't know, maybe because you enjoy doing it?" In my eyes, getting paid for something I create is just a bonus. That's like saying you're not going to play music with your windows open because you don't want someone on the street to hear and enjoy it. Especially when we're dealing with virtual currency that can't benefit you in the real world, I really don't see what the issue is.

And I know, you're only going to paint me as insensitive, or obtuse, or that I "just don't get it," but in reality none of that matters. This decision was handed down from the company of the game that this site exists to serve. You can not like it or understand it all you want, but they've said all they're going to say - as evidenced by the "response" on the official forum. If you'd like to pursue it further that's up to you. But unless they tell us something different, and regardless of what they might tell you, commissions will not be allowed on this website.