Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help
- - - - -

Yet another "Will it run GW2" Post


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 MH27610

MH27610

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 3 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 07 February 2013 - 05:58 PM

Hello,

I left WoW last year, and I understand that GW2 is pretty popular and I wanted to give it a try.  I've spent the last 3 days researching it... and from what I understand, you need a nuclear reactor to run this game at a high level.  My machine is not a nuclear reactor.

However, I'd like to know if I am able to swap out some parts to make the game enjoyable to play (ie running it at a high setting - not the highest).  Here's what I have now...

Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit, Svc Pack 1, Build 7601)
AMD Athlon II x4 630 Processor 2.80 GHz
6G RAM (8G max) 1066-MHz DDR3 DIMM; non-ECC memory only
ATI Radeon HD 5450
300W Power Supply

Some things are obvious - like the video card - but I'm not sure about compatibility issues.  So if you guys could recommend what I should swap out with what keeping compatibility in mind, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, and hopefully I'll see you soon.

#2 Quaker

Quaker

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3354 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Profession:Ranger
  • Guild Tag:[n/a]
  • Server:Fort Aspenwood

Posted 07 February 2013 - 07:14 PM

Your current setup will struggle with GW2, especially in WvW and large events where the CPU is important.
You gave us no idea of your budget, but here's some things you could change:

CPU - you could upgrade the CPU to a better AM3/AM3+ processor. You'd have to check the motherboard manufacturers website to see what cpus are compatible with your motherboard. You might need to update the BIOS for some models. You should also look at this chart for an idea of relative performance:
http://www.tomshardw...ock,3106-5.html
As you can see, the best option is for an Intel i5, but that requires a new motherboard as well. Note though, that even an i5-3570 will drop in frame rate during WvW and large events (or to 30fps if you have vsync on).

RAM - If you have the money to spend, it would be good to replace the RAM with 8Gig (2x4G) DDR3-1600, but that's low priority.

Video - without upgrading the power supply, you could get an HD7750 for a useful graphics boost.

Power supply - if you want to go better with the video card, you should upgrade the power supply to a good quality 500 watt (or higher).

Edited by Quaker, 07 February 2013 - 07:15 PM.


#3 MH27610

MH27610

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 3 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 07 February 2013 - 09:51 PM

Thanks Quaker,

According to the Dell support forum, the AMD Phenom x4 Quadcore Model 9750 is the highest listed cpu that i can put in there... but it's ranked lower than the one I have now on the list you provided.  I don't get it.

Would this Dell run GW2 at a high level?...

Processor: Intel Core 3rd Gen i7-3770 Processor (3.40 GHz with Turbo Boost 2.0 up to 3.90 GHz)
Genuine Windows 8 Home Edition
Dell Outlet XPS 8500 Desktop
2 TB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
16GB, DDR3 UDIMM Memory, 1600MHz, non ECC (4 x 4GB DIMMs)
16X DVD +/- RW Drive
AMD Radeon HD 7570 1GB GDDR5

Edited by MH27610, 07 February 2013 - 09:59 PM.


#4 Zerk2012

Zerk2012

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 431 posts

Posted 07 February 2013 - 11:30 PM

View PostMH27610, on 07 February 2013 - 09:51 PM, said:

Thanks Quaker,

According to the Dell support forum, the AMD Phenom x4 Quadcore Model 9750 is the highest listed cpu that i can put in there... but it's ranked lower than the one I have now on the list you provided.  I don't get it.

Would this Dell run GW2 at a high level?...

Processor: Intel Core 3rd Gen i7-3770 Processor (3.40 GHz with Turbo Boost 2.0 up to 3.90 GHz)
Genuine Windows 8 Home Edition
Dell Outlet XPS 8500 Desktop
2 TB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
16GB, DDR3 UDIMM Memory, 1600MHz, non ECC (4 x 4GB DIMMs)
16X DVD +/- RW Drive
AMD Radeon HD 7570 1GB GDDR5
DELL ouch that's not a gaming pc at all it's a work station the 7570 video card sucks. Also I dought you will like windows 8
http://www.cyberpowe...om/saved/1EV5A6

Edited by Zerk2012, 07 February 2013 - 11:34 PM.


#5 MH27610

MH27610

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 3 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 08 February 2013 - 02:37 PM

Let me start over (sorry).  I'm looking to run GW2 on High... not Ultra.  I don't think I can upgrade using my Dell Inspiron 570 case (please let me know otherwise), so I need to look at a new case.

Can I use anything at all from my current pc to allow me to spend money in other areas?...
Fans - stock fans that came with case
DVD/CD Drive - TSSTcorp DVD+-RW TS-H653G
RAM - 1GB; DDR3 SDRAM, 240-pin, PC-10600, 1333MHz (2 of these)
RAM - 2GB; DDR3 SDRAM, 240-pin, PC-10600, 1333MHz (2 of these)
Keyboard/Mouse - came with computer
Hard Drive - 1TB 7200RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"
I have a 22" monitor with max res of 1680x1050.  However, I will eventually upgrade this at some point.

I know I definitely need to buy the following...
Motherboard
CPU
GPU

Trying to figure out the most effective/economical way to run GW2 on the High setting.  At the same time, I'm trying not to overspend - don't need overkill.

Edited by MH27610, 08 February 2013 - 05:01 PM.


#6 Quaker

Quaker

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3354 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Profession:Ranger
  • Guild Tag:[n/a]
  • Server:Fort Aspenwood

Posted 08 February 2013 - 04:55 PM

View PostMH27610, on 07 February 2013 - 09:51 PM, said:

Would this Dell run GW2 at a high level?...

Processor: Intel Core 3rd Gen i7-3770 Processor (3.40 GHz with Turbo Boost 2.0 up to 3.90 GHz)
AMD Radeon HD 7570 1GB GDDR5
As with many pre-builts, that system is badly balanced for gaming. It has more CPU and RAM than you need and much lower graphics than you'd want. (The HD7570 is the latest version of the venerable HD6670, which is the most basic chip that AMD makes.)

Overall, you want to look for a system with:
- an i5 processor - any Ivy Bridge i5 will do, from the i5-3350P on up to the 3570K.
- 8 Gigs of RAM - preferably DDR3-1600 (1.5v)
- as good of a video card as you can afford - generally aiming toward a GTX-660 or HD7870, and no lower than a GTX-650 or HD7750.

Something similar to this:
http://www.bestbuy.c...3&skuId=6979841
or
http://www.bestbuy.c...3&skuId=6979878

Edited by Quaker, 08 February 2013 - 05:04 PM.


#7 Scorch Raven

Scorch Raven

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 08 February 2013 - 09:36 PM

Dell is going to be the issue with your current system. Their Bois's are usualy locked out so you cannot OC your x4 640, else I would say knock that FSB up to about 220-230(whatever is stable) and replace the GPU with a HD7770(runs about $129 new), then see how well it performs to your desires.

I run on an OC'd 635 right now and i can do WvW at 30FPS solid, medium settings. So i know that CPU can do WvW 'OK' as long as you OC it a bit.

The i5 3k's are over kill IMHO for GW2, you can get down with a i5-2500K save some money on the CPU (get a GOOD motherboard that supports OverClocking) and then build from there if you want. Just depends on how much you wanna throw into a PC for a game.

But there is alot you can do with your current hardware;

1. get a new AM3+ (the + is important) motherboard, rip out the Dell Motherboard and replace it so you can OC that CPU
2. Get a new AM3+/Ivry Bridge CPU/MB Combo and rip and place the Core of your PC
3. Get a new Video card (i like ATI/AMD better then Nvidia, so an HD7770 will do you justice and they are damn cheap)

The nice thing about going AM3+ is that when you get funds (If its an issue now) you can install an FX-8k series AMD CPU when the price drops. You wont be able to do that if you go AM2+/AM3, it has to be AM3+.

Also - Make sure you are running AMD Catylist drivers 12.10, While 13.10 work, the 12's are alot more stable IMHO. And stay away from Win8 for now, there is much need optimzation that still needs to be done for gaming on that OS.

View PostMH27610, on 08 February 2013 - 02:37 PM, said:

Let me start over (sorry).  I'm looking to run GW2 on High... not Ultra.  I don't think I can upgrade using my Dell Inspiron 570 case (please let me know otherwise), so I need to look at a new case.

Can I use anything at all from my current pc to allow me to spend money in other areas?...
Fans - stock fans that came with case
DVD/CD Drive - TSSTcorp DVD+-RW TS-H653G
RAM - 1GB; DDR3 SDRAM, 240-pin, PC-10600, 1333MHz (2 of these)
RAM - 2GB; DDR3 SDRAM, 240-pin, PC-10600, 1333MHz (2 of these)
Keyboard/Mouse - came with computer
Hard Drive - 1TB 7200RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"
I have a 22" monitor with max res of 1680x1050.  However, I will eventually upgrade this at some point.

I know I definitely need to buy the following...
Motherboard
CPU
GPU

Trying to figure out the most effective/economical way to run GW2 on the High setting.  At the same time, I'm trying not to overspend - don't need overkill.


#8 Zerk2012

Zerk2012

    Vanguard Scout

  • Members
  • 431 posts

Posted 08 February 2013 - 10:45 PM

View PostScorch Raven, on 08 February 2013 - 09:36 PM, said:

Dell is going to be the issue with your current system. Their Bois's are usualy locked out so you cannot OC your x4 640, else I would say knock that FSB up to about 220-230(whatever is stable) and replace the GPU with a HD7770(runs about $129 new), then see how well it performs to your desires.

I run on an OC'd 635 right now and i can do WvW at 30FPS solid, medium settings. So i know that CPU can do WvW 'OK' as long as you OC it a bit.

The i5 3k's are over kill IMHO for GW2, you can get down with a i5-2500K save some money on the CPU (get a GOOD motherboard that supports OverClocking) and then build from there if you want. Just depends on how much you wanna throw into a PC for a game.

But there is alot you can do with your current hardware;

1. get a new AM3+ (the + is important) motherboard, rip out the Dell Motherboard and replace it so you can OC that CPU
2. Get a new AM3+/Ivry Bridge CPU/MB Combo and rip and place the Core of your PC
3. Get a new Video card (i like ATI/AMD better then Nvidia, so an HD7770 will do you justice and they are damn cheap)

The nice thing about going AM3+ is that when you get funds (If its an issue now) you can install an FX-8k series AMD CPU when the price drops. You wont be able to do that if you go AM2+/AM3, it has to be AM3+.

Also - Make sure you are running AMD Catylist drivers 12.10, While 13.10 work, the 12's are alot more stable IMHO. And stay away from Win8 for now, there is much need optimzation that still needs to be done for gaming on that OS.
I would really really really like to see a pick of your 30 FPS in a big zerg with that old processor(being you have 3 screens you can have CPUz showing also). and i thought this was your processor
TA890FXE with a AlthonII x4 640

Edited by Zerk2012, 08 February 2013 - 10:47 PM.


#9 Quaker

Quaker

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3354 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Profession:Ranger
  • Guild Tag:[n/a]
  • Server:Fort Aspenwood

Posted 09 February 2013 - 02:25 AM

View PostMH27610, on 08 February 2013 - 02:37 PM, said:

  I don't think I can upgrade using my Dell Inspiron 570 case (please let me know otherwise), so I need to look at a new case.
From the pictures, the Inspiron 570 looks like it has an ordinary mini-tower case with an ordinary mATX (micro-ATX) motherboard and standard ATX power supply.

Quote

Can I use anything at all from my current pc to allow me to spend money in other areas?...
Fans - you can use the whole case, but if you get a new case, then yes you can re-use the Dell's fans (if they fit)
DVD/CD Drive - the main question on that is, is it SATA (or the old IDE/PATA). Most new motherboards don't have an IDE connector.
RAM - 1GB; DDR3-1333MHz (2 of these) / 2GB; DDR3-1333MHz (2 of these) - yes, you can use all of these. (But DDR3-1600 would be faster)
Keyboard/Mouse - came with computer - If the keyboard has the round PS/2 type connector, make sure your new motherboard has one. If they're USB, no problems
Hard Drive - 1TB 7200RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" -  no problems.
Power Supply - the 300watt power supply is small (low power) by today's standards, but it should handle the new CPU and an HD7750. If you want to upgrade beyond the HD7750, you'll need to upgrade it too.


Quote

I know I definitely need to buy the following...
Motherboard - make sure it's mATX to fit the case.
CPU -  preferably some form of Ivy Bridge (3rd gen) i5
GPU - HD7750 with the stock 300watt power supply

---------
Note -  Your Dell would have the OEM version of Windows, which means that the license is tied to that computer, usually indicated by the motherboard. If you replace the motherboard, you may have trouble validating your Windows.

Edited by Quaker, 09 February 2013 - 02:27 AM.


#10 typographie

typographie

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2024 posts
  • Guild Tag:[LAW]

Posted 11 February 2013 - 03:59 PM

View PostScorch Raven, on 08 February 2013 - 09:36 PM, said:

The i5 3k's are over kill IMHO for GW2, you can get down with a i5-2500K save some money on the CPU (get a GOOD motherboard that supports OverClocking) and then build from there if you want..

With ~20-30 FPS hits to your performance in zergs even on the best overclocked processors out there, the extra frames from a -3570K aren't going to waste when you need them the most. That's the opposite of "overkill." Unless you mean anywhere but a zerg, in which case both processors and overclocking in general are probably overkill.

The -2500K's $10 cheaper (and how much more in power bills over its lifetime?) and Z68 boards don't seem to be much cheaper than Z77 at all. I don't see where you're saving enough money to bother with an older, slower platform.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users