10 replies to this topic

#1 Yski

Yski

Vanguard Scout

• Members
  • 217 posts

Posted 23 February 2013 - 06:27 PM

Hi there!

As the tittle says, I have no experience when it comes to building PCs and since my laptop can no longer handle what I throw at it I decided it's time to change that.

I'd like to be able to play and record gw2 at a decent FPS and medium graphics. Since no-one likes raw footage, I'd also need to be able to edit the said footage. I'm not planning to make several videos a day, but something like once or twice a week doesn't sound too far fetched.

I've also been getting more and more into programming. So far I've only worked on simple 2D games and other relatively simple projects, but that's likely to change in the future. Simply put, I'll need a computer that can handle a bit of programming.

With that in mind, my budget is around 800 - 1000 euro (Which basically means around 1000 dollars due to higher prices) and based on plenty of lurking here and on a few other forums I've come up with something along these lines:
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/yNgb

From what I've seen, this seems to be more or less what I'm looking for.

I'm a laptop user, so I'll also need a screen and a keyboard, though neither of these need to be anything special. Keyboards are generally pretty cheap so I didn't include it, but since screens tend to be more expensive I added one to give me a general idea on the price.

As for the case, I don't really care what it looks like but I heard buying a bad one is a bad idea. I more or less just picked one at random from someone else's build, so I'm open to suggestions if the one I picked is too small or otherwise not good.

I'm not planning to do any overclocking yet, but I like to have the option to do so later. From what I've understood that means I'll need better coolers eventually, but for now stock coolers should be enough.