Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help

  • Please log in to reply
7048 replies to this topic

#1 al capowned

al capowned

    Used Furniture Dealer

  • Site Contributors
  • 2032 posts

Posted 21 July 2011 - 04:24 PM

This thread will be utilized for the purposes of a central location for  people to speculate on whether or not your machine can/will be able to  run GW2.

Disclaimer: My technicians are wonderful, and they are here because they  have a proven track record of industry knowledge, but they are not the  end all be all...they can't predict the future. They can merely  speculate based on current trends.

If you want to have a discussion about requirements then please visit this thread: http://www.guildwars...nts-t11373.html

Only post system specs here. Please include your Monitor and Resolution.

Edit: This is an English speaking forum. Of course we do have members that speak other languages but the preferred posting language is English. Because of this I ask that anyone posting links to websites that are not native English sites please utilize the Webpage Translator at Google.

Site: http://translate.google.com/

simply select the native language of the site as "From" and then "English" as to and paste the URL.





Minimum System Requirements
  • Windows® XP Service Pack 2 or better
  • Intel® Core™ 2 Duo 2.0 GHz, Core i3, AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 or better
  • NVIDIA® GeForce® 7800, ATI Radeon™ X1800, Intel HD 3000 or better (256MB of video RAM and shader model 3.0 or better)
  • 25 GB available HDD space
  • Broadband Internet connection
  • Keyboard and mouse
Please know that if you have asked about your system  recently and were told it would be okay for Guild Wars 2, that still  holds true. Also note that while you may meet the bare minimum, it doesn't mean you'll be happy with how the game runs. Final caveat: These minimum specs are subject to change.

Edited by al capowned, 16 March 2012 - 03:44 PM.


#2 Coooturtle

Coooturtle

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1383 posts

Posted 21 July 2011 - 04:32 PM

There is a thread for any questions like this.

#3 Unlucky Slayer

Unlucky Slayer

    RAGE INCARNATE

  • Site Contributors
  • 570 posts

Posted 21 July 2011 - 04:37 PM

As said there is a big thread dedicated to this very question, but for the time being we dont know. When ANet releases the info them we will know.

#4 Elder III

Elder III

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 4424 posts
  • Location:OH
  • Guild Tag:[ION]
  • Server:Jade Quarry

Posted 09 August 2011 - 01:59 AM

No

It's a netbook

It is not meant for anything greater than Facebook games.

Sorry friend, you will need to spend more than that to play GW2...

#5 al capowned

al capowned

    Used Furniture Dealer

  • Site Contributors
  • 2032 posts

Posted 09 August 2011 - 02:09 AM

Jobrjo said:

Alright, thanks. I'll edit the OP and replace that one with another one.

But 1st, are you saying Netbooks can't run it, period? Cause my next multiple options were goign to be Netbooks :(

you're still way off. You can run gw1 on low settings on a netbook but you just aren't gonna be able to play GW2 on anything like that.

something like this is probably what you are looking at in terms of bare minimum to play at low res.  http://www.newegg.co...N82E16834230088

and even that machine might not be able to play it
I am a lizard, a shark, a heat-seeking panther missile of awesome. I am  Bob Denver on acid playing the accordion

#6 tijo

tijo

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3176 posts
  • Guild Tag:[RISE]
  • Server:Stormbluff Isle

Posted 09 August 2011 - 12:57 PM

Take a look at the laptop sticky, some of the info is a little outdated (i need to update the GPU section for the 6990m and 580m) but the info is still good.

#7 dhatcher1

dhatcher1

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3786 posts
  • Guild Tag:[SAnD]
  • Server:Maguuma

Posted 09 August 2011 - 08:08 PM

If it says Atom or Celeron, its too weak of a CPU.  By definition, a netbook is only for web browsing.  No netbook will be able to play games like GW2.

You will have to step up to a notebook to have any chance.  Also portable PCs are at least twice as expensive as desktops.  You could get a decent gaming desktop for half the price of a decent gaming notebook.  I dont think you will find a notebook under $600 that can play a game like GW2 decently.

Edited by dhatcher1, 09 August 2011 - 08:14 PM.


#8 Coooturtle

Coooturtle

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1383 posts

Posted 09 August 2011 - 08:25 PM

If you want a small laptop to play GW2, prolly your bets bet would be Alienware m11x, its bit on the expensive side compared to the ones your posting ($600) but it will run GW2 fine at lower settings, plus it looks pretty cool :P

#9 tijo

tijo

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3176 posts
  • Guild Tag:[RISE]
  • Server:Stormbluff Isle

Posted 09 August 2011 - 11:38 PM

For $600 there should be a few Llano notebook models available. As others said previously, forget the netbooks altogether if you want to game (AW m11x excepted but the screen is too small to game on if you ask me).

What you want is a notebook which is a step up in size but can sport better hardware that would fry in a netbook.

A gaming desktop + netbook could also be a solution if you don't need the portability for gaming.

If you haven't done so already, look through the laptop sticky. There's a lot of tech lingo there but i tried to keep the core of it simple enough. Oh and no question is too stupid, we all started at the point you're at in terms of tech knowledge.

Edited by tijo, 09 August 2011 - 11:41 PM.


#10 al capowned

al capowned

    Used Furniture Dealer

  • Site Contributors
  • 2032 posts

Posted 10 August 2011 - 04:23 AM

I'm very sorry but my Techs are incredibly busy...both with their personal/professional lives and with Guru2. I can't allow you to take up any more of their time. We've made it quite clear what it will require to run GW2..

If you need further assistance with relevant questions....after reading the Sticky threads in this forum, then please PM me and I can direct a Tech to respond to you.
I am a lizard, a shark, a heat-seeking panther missile of awesome. I am  Bob Denver on acid playing the accordion

#11 Quaker

Quaker

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3331 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Profession:Ranger
  • Guild Tag:[n/a]
  • Server:Fort Aspenwood

Posted 10 August 2011 - 01:53 PM

Jobrjo said:

would these Netbooks work?
I just wanted to add this to in case Jobrjo has a particular reason to get a Netbook.....

No Atom based netbook is going to be able to run GW2, or even GW1 with any sort of performance. It would basically be a slide show. It's because of the lousy integrated graphics.

However, one using a new AMD APU - which is, on the low end , a C-50 or E-350 - it may run GW2 well enough to handle less active tasks such as starting a character, moving things in inventory, trading with other players, and maybe some light game play (on low settings)

I have an Acer C-50 based netbook (11.6", but you can also get 10") which will play GW1 at an average 30 fps with the graphics settings a medium. That's with using "Auto detect" for the settings, it might get even better fps by lowering the graphics settings even more.

Edited by Quaker, 12 August 2011 - 07:32 PM.


#12 Uphir

Uphir

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 11 August 2011 - 08:41 PM

okay. i have a acer aspire 5730ZG
4gb ram :o
nvidia geforce 9300m GS 256mb:o
intel pentium dualcore 2.0 ghz:o
i think that was it

#13 Guest Nick

Guest Nick

    Banned

  • Banned
  • 1257 posts

Posted 11 August 2011 - 08:49 PM

Maybe on low settings and low resolution.

#14 dhatcher1

dhatcher1

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3786 posts
  • Guild Tag:[SAnD]
  • Server:Maguuma

Posted 11 August 2011 - 09:25 PM

I might even go with a slightly more optimistic "probably at low resolutions and settings".

#15 Mateoo

Mateoo

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 21 July 2011 - 04:24 PM

Here is my configuration:

Proccesor - Intel Core i5-2310 CPU @ 2.90GHz 3.10GHz
Ram - 4.00 GB
Graphic card - NVIDIA GeForce GT 440

i really hope its enough to run GW2 atleast on medium settings...

#16 psykick5

psykick5

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 125 posts
  • Location:Sandy, Utah
  • Server:Henge of Denravi

Posted 11 August 2011 - 10:16 PM

No way I'll be able to run it. No way.

#17 Elder III

Elder III

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 4424 posts
  • Location:OH
  • Guild Tag:[ION]
  • Server:Jade Quarry

Posted 11 August 2011 - 11:42 PM

psykick5 said:

No way I'll be able to run it. No way.

Hard to tell if you don't list your specs.... ;)  Who knows, maybe you could play it with a minimal cost upgrade or two.

#18 Arghore

Arghore

    Vigil Crusader

  • Members
  • 4726 posts
  • Location:EU
  • Guild Tag:[EGC]
  • Server:Sanctum of Rall

Posted 12 August 2011 - 06:29 PM

I am rather interested aswell, now i know we all don't know the specs, but idd like to know if my 'base' is good enough so that maybe i can upgrade, or whether i should be looking for funds to buy a totally new computer :(

OS: WinXP home SP3 (32bit)
CPU: AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core (2500mhz x4)
RAM: DDR2, 2 or 4 GB; hard to find, seems i got 2GB Ram and 2GB from HD, for a total of 4GB)
GPU: NVidia Geforce 9800 GT (512mb) (http://www.nvidia.co..._9800gt_us.html)
DirectX: 9c

I am thinking of getting another HD and installing Win7 on it (so i can get DirectX10) and get some more RAM. If needed i can possibly get another GFX card, but if it's not needed then idd be more then happy keeping the money in the kitty...

#19 Gorgonzola

Gorgonzola

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 August 2011 - 06:58 PM

Hello. I'm going to college this autumn, whereby a portable computer is an inevitable purchase. The one I have my eyes on is the MSI X370, its dimensions and weight (13.4" and 1.4kg) matching my needs.

In seeing a few trailers for the upcoming GW2, I came to wonder if it might be able to run on the computer I had in mind, why I now ask for input from you guys. Given the fluctuations in price over different countries (I'm from Sweden), I'm not too sure about price-dependant guidelines. This one goes for $750 locally by today's rates ($170 more than what it's listed for at amazon US, for example, but I get the feeling that all computer-prices are inflated where I live >_>):

OS: Windows® 7 Home Premium/Basic (64 bit)
CPU: AMD Dual-Core E350 Processor (1M Cache, 1.6 GHz)
RAM: DDR3 1066 MHz x 1 slot (retailer says 1333 but MSI homepage says 1066)
GPU: AMD Radeon™ HD 6310 Discrete-Class Graphics

Now I'm not too picky about resolution or details. Do you reckon I would be able to run GW2 with at least 25-30 fps if going down to 800x600 and setting all graphic-options to minimum?

Thanks.

#20 dhatcher1

dhatcher1

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3786 posts
  • Guild Tag:[SAnD]
  • Server:Maguuma

Posted 12 August 2011 - 08:35 PM

Arghore said:

OS: WinXP home SP3 (32bit)
CPU: AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core (2500mhz x4)
RAM: DDR2, 2 or 4 GB; hard to find, seems i got 2GB Ram and 2GB from HD, for a total of 4GB)
GPU: NVidia Geforce 9800 GT (512mb) (http://www.nvidia.co..._9800gt_us.html)
DirectX: 9c
Phenom 9850 is a weak CPU which will bottleneck a strong graphics card.  As it is you are probably looking at medium or medium/high mix settings at 1080 and playable FPS.  If you are going to do a partial upgrade, upgrade the CPU/Motherboard/RAM and keep the graphics card (unless its AGP).

Gorgonzola said:

OS: Windows® 7 Home Premium/Basic (64 bit)
CPU: AMD Dual-Core E350 Processor (1M Cache, 1.6 GHz)
RAM: DDR3 1066 MHz x 1 slot (retailer says 1333 but MSI homepage says 1066)
GPU: AMD Radeon™ HD 6310 Discrete-Class Graphics
Unfortunately 6310 is pretty weak graphically.  It will probably play GW2 at the very low settings, resolution and FPS you are considering.  Because they dont play the demos on weak machines, the low end is harder to speculate accurately on and being unable to play on that machine is within the realm of possibility.

Edited by dhatcher1, 12 August 2011 - 08:43 PM.


#21 raphae1

raphae1

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 12 August 2011 - 11:09 PM

Yeah.. I know the system requirements are not out yet, but considering I am a total idiot when it comes to computery stuff, will my current computer run it?

(180gig hard drive (or something), 1 gig ram, etc (graphics card probably crap...blah I don't know what the heck a duel core thingy is so i won't mention it)

I've been planning to get a laptop soon, so i will definitely get it if my current computer can't run it. If i do get one its going to be an expensiveish one:
(The laptop i'm currently considering:
Something core ?:P
6g ram
1terrabyte (i think its way too much :P)
1g graphic card (it starts with a "N," like niv-something)

Cheers (forgive me of my ignorance)

#22 Coooturtle

Coooturtle

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1383 posts

Posted 12 August 2011 - 11:15 PM

Ya you REALLY need a new laptop, i dont know what ur card is, but ur ram isnt enough to play GW2. We are going to need a bunch more info about your new laptop if you want any help.

You do need a new computer, you can use this.
http://www.guildwars...ing-t15972.html

GL with a new computer :P

Edited by Coooturtle, 12 August 2011 - 11:20 PM.


#23 raphae1

raphae1

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 12 August 2011 - 11:32 PM

K thanks :)
This is approximately the laptop i'm about to get

2.0GHz 2nd Gen Intel® Core i7-2630QM Processor
4GB DDR3
500GB Hard Drive
UMA Intel HD Graphics 3000
Beats Audio Quad speakers
15.6 WXGA High-Def Widescreen

will it manage high setting?

#24 dhatcher1

dhatcher1

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3786 posts
  • Guild Tag:[SAnD]
  • Server:Maguuma

Posted 12 August 2011 - 11:35 PM

raphae1 said:

K thanks :)
This is approximately the laptop i'm about to get

2.0GHz 2nd Gen Intel® Core i7-2630QM Processor
4GB DDR3
500GB Hard Drive
UMA Intel HD Graphics 3000
Beats Audio Quad speakers
15.6 WXGA High-Def Widescreen

will it manage high setting?
The CPU is great, the graphics are almost nonexistent.  It might run at low settings, but I wouldn't want to promise that because it might not.  You will need to get away from integrated graphics to play GW2 well.

Look at notebookcheck.net - for high settings you want graphics in their tier 2 or tier 1.  You will be looking at $600+ US and maybe $800+ to get there.
http://www.notebookc...List.844.0.html

Edited by dhatcher1, 12 August 2011 - 11:40 PM.


#25 Coooturtle

Coooturtle

    Seraph Guardian

  • Members
  • 1383 posts

Posted 13 August 2011 - 12:03 AM

raphae1 said:

K thanks :)
This is approximately the laptop i'm about to get

2.0GHz 2nd Gen Intel® Core i7-2630QM Processor
4GB DDR3
500GB Hard Drive
UMA Intel HD Graphics 3000
Beats Audio Quad speakers
15.6 WXGA High-Def Widescreen

will it manage high setting?


Your CPU will beast through it, but your GPU is not very good. Integrated will usually allow low settings on lower res. Im guessing its HP due to the beats, usually ur gonna wanna stay away from HP when u need a laptop for gaming, the good ones are pretty expensive. Asus, MSI, Dell XPS, Toshiba Qosmio are prolly the best bets for cheap gaming laptop.

#26 raphae1

raphae1

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 13 August 2011 - 12:08 AM

mmkk :P
Considering I'm not a massively serious gamer I would settle for medium settings (or slightly lower if I must)
Also all of the laptops I've seen seem to have integrated graphics cards :P
say would this laptop support mediumish settings or am i still far off?

Specifications

2.3GHz Intel® Core i5-2410M Processor
640GB Hard Drive
15.6 WXGA High-Def Widescreen
LightScribe Super Multi 8X DVD±RW
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 6770 Graphics
802.11b/g/n WLAN; Integrated 10/100/1000
Microsoft Windows 7 Premium
Beats Audio Quad speakers; Beats Audio Audio playback
Includes Microsoft Wireless Desktop 3000, HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-one Printer, Microsoft Office Home & Student 2010 PKC, CASELOGIC 16" Laptop case, 2 x Fuji XEROX Performer A4 White Paper Reams

*Cos its giving out a few extra stuff eg case etc, i am a bit iffy.

Edited by raphae1, 13 August 2011 - 12:13 AM.
adding something due to a comment


#27 tijo

tijo

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3176 posts
  • Guild Tag:[RISE]
  • Server:Stormbluff Isle

Posted 13 August 2011 - 12:10 AM

Something like this: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16834230089

Or an Asus N53S would do well too.

If you have more budget and don't ming lugging around a large and heavy laptop:

Asus G53SW, G53SX, Sager np8150 if you want to stick to 15"

If you're willing to go 17"
Asus G74SX, Alienware m17x (pricey but good hardware and awesome speakers), sager np8170.

EDIT: The laptop above will play the game just fine. I'm assuming it's an HP dv6?

#28 Blixcoe

Blixcoe

    Sylvari Specialist

  • Members
  • 924 posts

Posted 13 August 2011 - 12:33 AM

I suck at pc specs but I downloaded Speccy to do the work for me.. Speccy might be a little wrong, or you might need to multiply some of the specs there by x (x counting as one formula of the same spec, I don't know xD). But since I'm clueless about this, I want you to judge this summary of my pc:  (But one thing I know the graphic card sucks.)

Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
CPU: AMD Athlon II X3 440. Rana 45nm Technology
RAM: 4.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 666MHz (9-9-9-24) (think you need to multiply MHz with 3 or dunno)
Graphics: SyncMaster @ 1680x1050. ATI Radeon HD 5570
Motherload: FOXCONN 2AA9

Yes? ;D

#29 raphae1

raphae1

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 13 August 2011 - 12:43 AM

So... will this support medium settings?
Toshiba P750/02J:
nVIDIA GT540M 1GB(DDR3) w/Optimus?

Thanks a lot :)

#30 Dawn Quickblade

Dawn Quickblade

    HEAVY FARTING

  • Moderators
  • 619 posts
  • Location:I'M MAJESTIC
  • Guild Tag:[FART]
  • Server:Northern Shiverpeaks

Posted 13 August 2011 - 03:23 AM

Okey-dokey pretty sure I can run it just looking for some slight reassurance. My computer is discontinued but I mean...uh...

http://www.abt.com/p...US-K61ICA2.html




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users