Jump to content

Photo
  • Please log in to reply
7064 replies to this topic

#7051 LoopySnoopy

LoopySnoopy

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 100 posts
  • Location:England
  • Profession:Engineer
  • Guild Tag:[WILD]
  • Server:Far Shiverpeaks

Posted 19 October 2014 - 02:54 PM

The GT-840m graphics should handle GW2 with no trouble - at least medium. You didn't say what the screen rez is, but the GT-840m should be good up to 1920x1080. I can't say what the exact graphics settings could be, and it may depend a bit upon how much the CPU sucks.

Which is the problem - a dual-core mobile CPU (with single channel RAM, to make things worse) is apt to choke whenever there's a lot going on, such as in crowded towns (LA), events and WvW.

The speed of the hard drive only affects load times, not the fps of the game.

Thanks for that Quaker I think I'll go higher on specs as I tend to do a lot of world bosses. I know the Graphics card is different then the other one I posted but t has a better Processor according to Lenovo
Screen Size 17.3 inches Processor Brand Intel Processor Type Core i7 Processor Speed 2.2 GHz RAM Size 8 GB Computer Memory Type DDR3 SDRAM Hard Drive Size 1 TB Graphics Card Description Nvidia GT720M Graphics RAM Type DDR3 SDRAM Graphics Card Ram Size 2 GB Operating System Windows 8.1
  • 0

#7052 Quaker

Quaker

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3519 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Guild Tag:[n/a]

Posted 20 October 2014 - 01:51 PM

That Lenovo is an older model overall. The graphics performance of the 720m is significantly lower than the 840m. While the earlier system only had a dual-core i5, it was significantly faster (2.6 vs 2.2), a newer design, and has hyperthreading. The best bet would be if you could find a model of the first machine with the next step up in CPU.
I wouldn't want to pick one of those over the other without actually trying them with GW2 first. ^_^

Speaking of Lenovo, this would be much better (but I don't know what your budget is)
http://www.pcworld.c...022810-pdt.html

Edited by Quaker, 20 October 2014 - 01:54 PM.

  • 0

#7053 LoopySnoopy

LoopySnoopy

    Asuran Acolyte

  • Members
  • 100 posts
  • Location:England
  • Profession:Engineer
  • Guild Tag:[WILD]
  • Server:Far Shiverpeaks

Posted 20 October 2014 - 04:15 PM

That Lenovo is an older model overall. The graphics performance of the 720m is significantly lower than the 840m. While the earlier system only had a dual-core i5, it was significantly faster (2.6 vs 2.2), a newer design, and has hyperthreading. The best bet would be if you could find a model of the first machine with the next step up in CPU.
I wouldn't want to pick one of those over the other without actually trying them with GW2 first. ^_^

Speaking of Lenovo, this would be much better (but I don't know what your budget is)
http://www.pcworld.c...022810-pdt.html


Cheers again Quaker, my budget is around £700-£800, the one you linked looks bad-ass! For me laptops are another beast as I'm used to my desktops :)
  • 0

#7054 DevProject

DevProject

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • Curse Premium
  • 1 posts
  • Location:Indonesia

Posted 24 November 2014 - 03:28 PM

Operating System: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit (6.3, Build 9600) (9600.winblue_r3.140827-1500)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: ECS
System Model: G41T-M16
Processor: Pentium® Dual-Core CPU E5400 @ 2.70GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 4096MB RAM
Page File: 2873MB used, 3782MB available
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 210
Display Memory: 3020 MB
Dedicated Memory: 972 MB
Shared Memory: 2047 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: ViewSonic VX2450 Series
Monitor Model: VX2450 SERIES

how about my PC ?
can i play GW2 with low setting ?
  • 0
Facebook : DevProject
Email : [email protected]

#7055 typographie

typographie

    Golem Rider

  • Members
  • 2240 posts
  • Guild Tag:[WOLF]

Posted 24 November 2014 - 03:38 PM

can i play GW2 with low setting ?


Both your CPU and video card are below the listed minimum requirements for the game, so I wouldn't expect playable performance most of the time.
  • 0

#7056 Quaker

Quaker

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3519 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Guild Tag:[n/a]

Posted 24 November 2014 - 06:22 PM

You might be able to play parts of PvE at low settings, but WvW, events, and crowded areas/towns will be a slide show. If spending the money to buy GW2 is a problem, then don't.
  • 0

#7057 Angi_x

Angi_x

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 25 November 2014 - 02:18 AM

Hi

Will this laptop Acer V5 11.6 Inch Touchscreen run gw2 ?

Specs-
AMD A Series quad core A6-1450M processor.
500GB HDD
4GB RAM
1.00GHz
AMD Radeon HD 8280 graphics card
Win 8

If somebody could get back to me, would be much appreciated.

Edited by Angi_x, 25 November 2014 - 02:42 AM.

  • 0

#7058 Quaker

Quaker

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3519 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Guild Tag:[n/a]

Posted 25 November 2014 - 02:49 PM

The graphics should be ok at low-mid settings, depending upon the screen resolution, but the CPU should choke in WvW, events, and crowded areas. Much of the game would be virtually unplayable.
For reference, I recently built an HTPC around an A8-7600 which, at 1920x1080, can only just barely handle SWTOR, which is less CPU intensive than GW2. That HTPC and that laptop might be OK for doing minor stuff like crafting, upgrading armor, and other "non-action" things, but not for actually playing the "action".
That laptop should be very nice for surfing the net, taking notes, and playing music and videos, and should do a great job on HD Youtube (and other) content and smaller games like Angry Birds - much better than the equivalent cost Intel based unit - but not for "real" gaming.

Edited by Quaker, 25 November 2014 - 02:55 PM.

  • 0

#7059 Angi_x

Angi_x

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 25 November 2014 - 04:41 PM

Hi

how about this laptop Acer A8 V5-552 15.6 Inch run gw2 ?

Specs-
AMD A8-5557M quad core processor
1000GB hard drive
8GB RAM
2.1GHz
AMD Radeon HD 8550G graphics card
Win 8

This is exactly £100 pounds / $156.99 dollars more, then the last laptop i posted.

Edited by Angi_x, 25 November 2014 - 04:43 PM.

  • 0

#7060 Quaker

Quaker

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3519 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Guild Tag:[n/a]

Posted 25 November 2014 - 06:56 PM

One good thing about that laptop is it's 1366x768 screen (as opposed to a 1920x1080). That, combined with the much newer A8-5557m should mean that GW2 should be "playable" (30 fps or better) even in WvW, events, and crowded areas. In the rest of PvE it should work quite nicely. The GPU portion should be able to handle "mid" graphics settings - certainly low.
But, then again, I could be wrong - you'd have to try WvW. :)

Also, the 1366x768 screen should be easier to read. The text on a small (15") 1920x1080 screen is very hard to read, especially in game.

Edited by Quaker, 25 November 2014 - 06:59 PM.

  • 0

#7061 Angi_x

Angi_x

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 26 November 2014 - 07:42 PM

Hi

will any off theses laptops run gw2..if so which one is better do you reckon,

Specs- Laptop 1
Intel Core I5
320gb hard drive
4GB RAM
2.4GHz
nVIDIA Quadro NVS3100m Dedicated Graphics Card
Win 7

Specs- Laptop 2
AMD Athlon II P340 Dual-Core Processor
320GB HD
2GB RAM
2.20GHz
ATI Mobility RAdeon HD 4200 - 256MB Graphics Card

pls get back to me

Edited by Angi_x, 26 November 2014 - 07:43 PM.

  • 0

#7062 Quaker

Quaker

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3519 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Guild Tag:[n/a]

Posted 26 November 2014 - 08:15 PM

The Quadro GPU in laptop #1 is a low-end professional unit, optimized for business/CAD computing . It's performance in games would be relatively poor. The mobile i5 might be ok, but you didn't specify the model number - mobile i5s are usually only dual-core units, and may or may not have Hyperthreading.
(thumbs down, imho)

Laptop #2 appears to be an older unit which would not be nearly as good as the A8-5557m based unit. (Also thumbs down)

Btw, if you are concerned about the low fps of the A8 in GW2, keep in mind that even a high end desktop i5 such as the i5-3570K in mine, will only give you about 45-50 fps in WvW, etc. You might, within your price range, be able to get better WvW fps with an Intel based laptop, but it would be using Intel's integrated graphic, which would suck.

Edit - I see that the Acer A8 seems to be out of stock everywhere. :(

Edited by Quaker, 26 November 2014 - 08:18 PM.

  • 0

#7063 Angi_x

Angi_x

    Fahrar Cub

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 26 November 2014 - 09:08 PM

here is link for Acer 8. Might have to go for this one !

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item25983f0d85

is this the one you mean?

can you get better for same amount of money??

Edited by Angi_x, 26 November 2014 - 09:57 PM.

  • 0

#7064 Quaker

Quaker

    Technician

  • Technicians
  • 3519 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Guild Tag:[n/a]

Posted 27 November 2014 - 03:42 PM

That particular link is for a refurbished unit, so it's hard to compare it to others at the same amount of money. I think the retail in-box price was £379.
"Factory refurbished" is often a great way to get an essentially new unit at a discount price. (A lot of "refurbs" are sold on Black Friday.) These are generally units that were returned under warranty, had the bad parts replaced, and are re-sold.
  • 0

#7065 Jason_Hero

Jason_Hero

    Pale Tree Seedling

  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 December 2014 - 05:41 AM

Hi. Would it be possible to run the game at a constant 30 fps with lowest settings on this laptop?

Here are my specs, copied and pasted from msinfo.exe

Item Value
OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
Other OS Description Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name C650-LAPTOP
System Manufacturer TOSHIBA
System Model Satellite C650
System Type x64-based PC
Processor Intel® Core™ i3 CPU M 350 @ 2.27GHz, 2266 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date INSYDE 2.10, 09/11/2011
SMBIOS Version 2.6
Windows Directory C:\Windows
System Directory C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale Canada
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.1.7601.17514"
User Name C650-Laptop\Jason
Time Zone Pacific Standard Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 3.80 GB
Available Physical Memory 1.73 GB
Total Virtual Memory 7.60 GB
Available Virtual Memory 5.17 GB
Page File Space 3.80 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys
  • 0





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Can I run GW2 Max settings?, hd7870, fx-4100 3.6ghz, fps 15-30, max settings, cpu usage, gpu usage, laptop guild wars 2

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users